We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good goes awry”
Review of ME by Melia London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ME by Melia London
Ranked #72 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I'm mad so it's a bit long. No bad words and its not a rant because i'll start with the good.

Team is friendly and professional - they know how to make a gen-y vp feel right at home.
Design & Room are contemporary - bath*room is fab, flat screen is big, bed/pillows are fluffed
Hotel amenities are high standard - roof has great view of london & the croud. Gym is modern.

Issue is they failed to deliver on the basic part of the offer - a good night's sleep.

A tech issue made it impossible to turn off my rooms lights when I decided to go to bed. To understand how i felt, let me explain the context. I flew in at 11pm after a 4 hour trip. I was tired but had to work so ended up finally ready to go to bed at 1:30am worried about the next day as I had an early meeting at my global HQ.

I tried to turn off the lights with their LED touchscreen control pad attached to the wall. It had all the options: more red, more green, more yellow all the way to more mellow with "SEXY" lighting. All options working except "ALL OFF" keeping the light on in the furniture around the tv.

I got out of bed, tried every switch in the room, tried to see if there was a trap door in this big tv furniture but nothing worked. So at 1:40am I called reception. "it works with a motion detector" she told me. I put a pillow around my head and tried to lay as still as possible. I awoke from under the pillow with the light on at 2 am.

I called back to the manager, they had to come to my room, I had to get out of bed AGAIN (to put on my pj's ;-) and I'm exhausted. The manager came, tried the touchscreen, it didn't work, he had to call his manager, 5 minutes later finally the light went off, 5 minutes later they knocked on my door to see if it was off. "yes" I yawned back.

Next morning I woke up too late to use the breakfast i had pre-paid so I went straight to check out and explained, in my most tired voice, the story. "Sorry about that sir" the receptionist answered with slight empathy. He went on to print my bill with my minibar popcorn, my in-room dinning and my missed breakfast. "would you like an envelope with that" he added.

..I had two options:

- make a scene
- share my tale on TripAdvisor

Room Tip: One with a light that works!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DadySchep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME by Melia London, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear DadySchep,

I am very dissapointed to read your comment...I would first of all like to thank you for having chosen our ME London Hotel to stay in the Capital. Also, it's great that you liked the Hotel design and the staff attitude.

Regarding your experience in the room, I would like to apologise for the inconveniences caused by the maintenace issue with the lights...

After investigating what could have caused this problem, we have sorted it out and we will be on top of it, making sure that this does not happen again in any other room.

Thank you very much again for making us aware of your experience and I would love to be in touch with you directly.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,796)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,717 - 1,723 of 2,796 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is a very nice hotel with a great location. I found the staff extremely helpful, knowledgeable and friendly. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and clean. The rooftop bar is also excellent and def worth a visit. I have little to fault about this hotel and there are only a few things negative things I could say. The corridors were a little dark and could do with more lighting, I would prefer a kettle over a coffee maker and some of the fittings have quite sharp corners so please be careful esp if you have jet lag. But this hotel really stands out as a top place to stay.The hotel doesn’t have a pool and if you would like to swim I really recommend a trip to the Olympic pool in Strafford, which can be reached very easily and is worth a visit. You can check the opening time online.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME by Melia London, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Yorkiee,

I am very pleased you enjoyed your experience in ME London!

Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts with the world.
It's been a real pleasure to have you staying with us and I really hope to see you soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The hotel is new therefore the room was nice without any damages etc but I am not sure it will stay this way.
The service is NOT 5*, the room is NOT 5* and the hotel is NOT 5*…

Explanations:
- my room was on the before top floor with a balcony. The nice thing is the view but the horrible thing is the noise from the rooftop bar which you get till about 1 or 2 am in the morning EVERY single night! You can hear/feel the vibrations in the room.
- some essential things were missing in the room which you expect to find in a 5* hotel such as earbuds, toothbrush, make up remover pads etc..
- no bathtub only a shower
- the room is small compared to what you see on the pictures - optical illusions I guess, or a very good photographer
- the rooms are made up for hours! and they are not clean - found someones hair pin near my bed …

The atmosphere in the hotel is weird … The corridors are very VERY dark (so you can't see the dirt?) and the lifts take hours!

I didn't eat in the hotel so no idea about the restaurants but the rooftop bar is very nice. Anyways you have to have a reservation even if you're at the hotel so you can stay in a nicer hotel elsewhere and book to come to the rooftop bar here.
For this price you can be in a nicer hotel in London and get a better sleep at night!

Also, there are many girls around the hotel who look like call girls (and cheap ones)… very strange that this is so openly advertised!

I wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank L4M4RM0773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME by Melia London, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear AmericanArtDealer,

Thank you for having chosen our ME London Hotel and for taking some of your valuable time to share your thoughts with the world.

I am absolutely disapointed to read that you left the Hotel so let down by the service provided during your saty.

We are at the moment following up on every point that you mentioned and I would very much like to be in touch with you. That's why I sent you a personal message with my contact details.

Thank you very much again and I look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I have walked past the new white brick imposing ME hotel of over a year now, unlike other hotels on this bit of London turf it seems from the outside at least a bit hostile to visitors keen to explore the interior of this historic London building.

I confess early on to being blown away by this hotel, only a brief one night stay, but it is something special. The reception area alone worth some of the cost of a nights stay here. A huge internal pyramid laced with polished black stone creates an interior space that must go down as one of the most unique spaces in London- the sky funnels down from the Marconi aerial to smart reception staff helpfully providing a nice glass of prosecco on arrival.

My room on the eighth floor had a balcony with a great view out over the rooftops of London, and whilst the public areas are black and dark the rooms are light and white and clean. Foster the architects have left their stamp over the whole place with a real eye on the details, thus the whole room can all but disappear in the swish of glass doors closing off the bathroom area and cupboard spaces.

The nespresso machine worked well and for once was well stocked and free to use, a TV hub that connects to your laptop and some lovely toiletries makes you feel as if you are staying somewhere a little special. The lighting in the room can also be controlled meaning you can change the feel and 'Aura' (one of the hotels buzz words) at the touch of an LCD screen.

The rooftop bar is almost the best bar in London, yet the insistence even at day time of heavy beats and 'party' atmosphere in my opinion takes away from what is a stunning, stunning view now rivalled only by the Shard which stands clearly in the distance.

I used the gym after midnight- it was empty, socked with fruit, towels and water along with state of the art equipment. Everything just is as it should be.

My room rate included breakfast- yet on ordering room service found at check out that room service breakfast is not included which was not stipulated and led to an additional £35 being added, this was the only bum note in the 24 hours I spent in the hotel.

In short, for location, design, service and experience I can think of few hotels to rival this one- I loved it and will i hope return.

Room Tip: 808 has a lovely view…but no bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alastairwhatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME by Melia London, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear alastairwhatley,

WOW!Honestly I am absolutely blown away by your review and I really appreciate you wanted to share it with us and with the Worls.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your experience with us and I hope to see you back soon at ME London :)

Take care and best wishes from ME London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

A beautiful and stunning looking hotel, which certainly lives up to its 5 stars.
The good points to mention are:
Its location. It sites right on The Strand, in the centre of the West End and next door to Covent Garden.
The Concierge. A helpful crew of guys, there to direct you to reception, take your bags and for generally guidance. Always very polite and helpful.
Receiption. It really is as stunning as earlier posts have mentioned. Try and go down at night, when the light show is on. Very impressive area. Friendly reception staff.
The Lifts. We had no real problems with the lifts. The third one is for the Radio Bar, but was available to guests in the mornings, before the bar opened again at 11am. We never waited more that 30-60 seconds for one to arrive, and we were on the 9th floor.
The Rooms. High class bathroom fittings. Lovely shower. Lots of towels! Wonderfully comfortable bed and linen/pillows. Guides for the technology are a bit vague. But we worked out the safe, lighting and air con in the end. TV never did work properly.

The only reason I've not given 5 stars here is due to the noise from the Radio Bar. We were on the 9th floor, so directly below it. You'd expect to get some 'people' noise, but what I don't think is acceptable in a 5 Start hotel is hearing the base of the beat music pumping out at an unacceptable level into the wee small hours.
When we arrived at our room after checking in at 9pm on Friday, it was pretty loud, and we almost went back to ask for a change of room. But that would mean a lower level, and missing the great views of the skyline. We decided to see what it was like after we'd eaten.
On returning at midnight, it was certainly quieter than before, so we decided to go with it.
On the Saturday, the bar was closed for a private function until 7.30pm. Returning to our room at 4pm after a day out, the music was even louder than at 9pm the evening before. It was the thump, thump of the base that you couldn't ignore. Thankfully, after the private party had ended, and it had reopened to the public, by late evening it had again been turned down somewhat.
We mentioned this intrusive beat to reception on leaving, and they said that if we'd complained, they would have turned it down. I don't think this is really acceptable. They need to decide whether they are providing a night club for paying guests on the roof, or high quality hotel rooms on the 9th floor. I don't think they can achieve both, unless they CLEARLY state when booking that this floor will have such noise. (The club is open until 3am on Fridays, and Saturdays; 1am on Mondays to Thursdays.)
It is a shame, as all other aspects of this hotel were excellent. It just seems ironic that if you pay for a better room, with a balcony and that view, you'll get more noise than if you are on a lower level. Depends if you intend to try and get up to the Bar, and stay there all night I suppose!!!

Room Tip: Avoid the 9th floor if you want to sleep properly before 3am on a Friday or Saturday, or 1am during...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holidays06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME by Melia London, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Holidays06,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. All the positive comments you mentioned are truly fantastic the, location, our helpful and warm staff members, the stunning Atrium of the hotel, the well equipped rooms with high class bathroom fittings and amenities.

We really appreciate your feedback in regards of the music coming from Radio rooftop bar. We are actually in the process of isolating the 9th floor even better, we’ve just finish with the isolation of the 8th floor, also Energy level that has fantastic views of London and a beautiful furnished
balcony.

Let the Aura department know when are you back with us and we will make sure we beat your last experience creating an even better one!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Great day at the ME, started with team lunch at Radio bar, good tapas and bubbles. Really awesome views over London. Then upgraded to Passion Suite, (whilst sipping the complimentary Prosecco), one of the best rooms ever stayed in, it was massive, fab views on 6th floor, lovely touches in terms of the turn down and lighting candles. Stunning meal at the STK restaurant, it just had to be steak and night time drinks back up at the Radio bar, glad we'd paid to reserve a table as gets v busy. Great level of staff service and awesome sophisticated experience, will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The Passion Suite, says it all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ZoeLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME by Melia London, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear ZoeLewis,
Thank you so much for such an amazing review! It is lovely to see that you enjoyed one of our Passion Suites, as you mention there are a few suites in London that can compete with the beauty of this fantastic rooms.
We are delighted you like our “Sundown” experience and that you had a fabulous time in STK, for sure the coolest steak house in London, next time you should try as well Cucina Asellina, our Italian restaurant. Radio rooftop bar, another awesome and sophisticated experience as you said.
Please make sure you get in touch with the Aura department next time you book with us. We will make sure that your experience goes beyond mere accommodation.
Thanks for such an amazing review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

I only stayed one night, but what beautifully chilled place. The staff are young and very helpful and professional.
Very well designed rooms (love the window). Massive comfortable bed.

The only downside if there was one was when we went for a drink on the roof bar, there were no tables... All reserved but with no one sitting at them. I guess that's just poor planning by myself though.

Seriously one (if not the) nicest hotels I've stayed in London. Best location!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME by Melia London, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Jason S,

Thank you so much for such a lovely review, it makes us so happy to hear that our guests enjoy their stay. The windows and the views that they offer are some of the best in London (a unique design by Foster & Partners.) Radio bar is very popular with both guests and Londoners alike, we were sorry to hear that all the table were booked but hope you still enjoyed the magnificent sights!

We can’t wait to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
One Aldwych
One Aldwych
#42 of 1,075 in London
2,173 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#38 of 1,075 in London
4,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Waldorf Hilton London
The Waldorf Hilton London
#329 of 1,075 in London
4,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ME by Melia London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ME by Melia London

Address: 336 - 337 Strand, London WC2R 1HA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Price Range: £185 - £529 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — ME by Melia London 5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the action and near the city’s main theatres, exclusive boutiques, fashionable hot spots and trendy night clubs, ME London is one of the leading hotels in the centre of London. It is contemporary and cutting edge in style and located in one of the most important tourist destinations in the world. Designed by the world famous architects Foster + Partners, amongst its fantastic services and facilities, ME London provides 157 exquisitely designed, modern guestrooms including 16 suites, New York restaurant STK London, Radio Rooftop Bar with outdoor terrace and spectacular panoramic views of London (London Eye, Trafalgar Square, Tower Bridge, Covent Garden) and Marconi Lounge, 7 meeting rooms measuring 500 m2 with capacity for up to 300 people and a separate reception area; a modern, fully equipped gym, open 24 hours a day and complimentary high speed WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your ME by Melia London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing