We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of ME by Melia London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ME by Melia London
Ranked #70 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I would not rate this as a 5 star On par with other 4star hotels public areas very impressive bedrooms not so much very dark with not a lot natural light no sockets for hair dryers etc near to mirrors so impossible for us girls to tend to our hair no tea making facilities (not everyone is a coffee drinker) and as breakfast was inclusive in the rate limited menu on offer .ME take note of London Cavendish Hilton Tower Bridge both 4stars and far better breakfast and no restrictions on menu.Having said all that an enjoyable weekend

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tilly0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME by Melia London, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Tilly0711 ,

First of all thank you for taking some time to give us your feedback.

We are truly sorry that your experience with us was not up to our usual high standard.

I understand the disappointment of not having a plug in the bathroom next to the big mirror , it will be very functional however the UK laws forbid that.

Majority of rooms come with a desk on which you will find a selection of international plugs and a mirror behind but our rooms vary in design.

Please feel free to contact the Aura team prior to your next stay by sending an e-mail to melondon.aura@melia.com and we will be very happy to tailor your stay to your needs.

I am sorry to hear also that the breakfast options did not meet your expectations.

I will pass the feedback to the restaurant manager, It is essential for us to know where to improve and certainly implementing new breakfast options in the menu is already part of our standards.

We hope to welcome you back at ME London !

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,800)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,647 - 1,653 of 2,800 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed for one night it was simply amazing the staff were fantastic anything we requested was done in an instant! We stayed in room 903 on the 9th floor under the radio bar we couldn't here a single thing from our room! these people who complain about the noise need to assess the situation and remind your selfs your in london! The ME London is such a diffrent hotel and we really didn't want to leave! I would recommend this to anyone. Thanks again guys we will be back very soon!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frenchy1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME by Melia London, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Frenchy 1988 ,

Thank you for your time and for the lovely review.

We are very glad to hear that you had an amazing and memorable stay at ME London.
Seeing our Guests back again and again it’s pure satisfaction .
.
We are all looking forward to see you back soon !

Warmest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

This is certainly a fabulous location. Opposite Somerset house (Tom's kitchen was great), 5 mins walk to covent garden. A very trendy hotel, with very cool decor throughout and into the rooms. Note that whilst the rooms are very trendy and modern, they aren't that big and there is limited natural light by way of a small window. The roof top bar is certainly a wow factor but bear in mind it will be incredibly busy with seating all pretty much reserved well in advance so standing room only.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank sax34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME by Melia London, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Sax34 ,

Thank you for your time and for your review .
We highly appreciate your comment and it really help us to improve our services.

We hope to see you back at ME London and if you do , please feel free to contact us at melondon.aura@melia.com so we can tailor your stay in order to meet your needs and we can certainly advise on availability for bigger room categories with a floor to ceiling windows that will certainly will make your experience more pleasant.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Prime central location yet silently relaxed & modern inside. High tech & spacious bedrooms with a gorgeous modern feel. Comfort all around.

Staff were welcoming & a delight.

Restaurant staff at breakfast seemed a bit ditsy at times, forgetting simple orders & so on. Bar this everything was spot on.

Attended a company conference that was well organised & set up within one of the hotels meeting rooms. Lunch provided was lovely, perhaps needed a bit more substance to it though.

Over all excellent hotel and experience.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank erinxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME by Melia London, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear erinxs,

Traveling for business and attending conferences can be a chore, so we always try to help our business guests relax after a long day! We were so happy to hear that you enjoyed your ME London experience and look forward to seeing you again next time you’re in the heart of the capital!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

If staying in a beautiful hotel (all new contemporary design) and excellent service is important to you, ME London may be worth the price tag. The hotel and roofdeck, Radio, was beautiful and warm and cozy. We were there furring the week, there were plenty of lounge seats at Radio and the view was stunning.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank Kara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME by Melia London, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Hi Kara H,

Here at ME London we take great pride in connecting with our guests so we are overjoyed to hear you had such a fab experience with us.

The Radio Rooftop Bar is always glamorous and fun, with the added bonus of stunning views across the city. Do pop in to see us again soon to enjoy even more modern luxury.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The ME London is stylish and modernistic in an understated way. Just off the Strand and close to Covent Garden and a 5 minute walk to Piccadilly Circus. The design goes from being spectacular with the cone shaped dome of the lobby (on the 1st floor) to stylish, spacious rooms with mood lightning. Service from all staff was impeccable, from check in to concierge service. The roof top bar is great during warmer days and the ambiance overall is on of understated, modern luxury.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SteingrimurS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME by Melia London, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Hi Mr SteingrimurS,

Thank you for such a great review. You are quite right, we like to modernise luxury. We were so happy that you enjoyed the hotel, and that you had the chance to experience our Roof top bar and the beautiful sights it has to offer. When you return, be sure to catch our 8 minute light show on the walls of the lobby so as to relax and enjoy a chilled glass of Prosecco.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

In the heart of the action in London's theater district. Very busy area but the hotel is like an oasis. Incredible design and loaded with high tech features. We had a lovely balcony, small but useful. Can't beat the location if you want all the theater and Covent Gardens activity.
Clean, lovely beds and sheets. This hotel is new, new, new!

Room Tip: The ninth floor can be a bit noisy, the radio lounge bar is above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brigsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME by Melia London, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Brigsky ,

thank you very much for your super review .

We are delighted to read how amazing was your stay with us and that you loved both design and location.

We are looking forward to your next stay!

all the best,

Aura team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
One Aldwych
One Aldwych
#41 of 1,076 in London
2,182 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#38 of 1,076 in London
4,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Waldorf Hilton London
The Waldorf Hilton London
#332 of 1,076 in London
4,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ME by Melia London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ME by Melia London

Address: 336 - 337 Strand, London WC2R 1HA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £220 - £499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — ME by Melia London 5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the action and near the city’s main theatres, exclusive boutiques, fashionable hot spots and trendy night clubs, ME London is one of the leading hotels in the centre of London. It is contemporary and cutting edge in style and located in one of the most important tourist destinations in the world. Designed by the world famous architects Foster + Partners, amongst its fantastic services and facilities, ME London provides 157 exquisitely designed, modern guestrooms including 16 suites, New York restaurant STK London, Radio Rooftop Bar with outdoor terrace and spectacular panoramic views of London (London Eye, Trafalgar Square, Tower Bridge, Covent Garden) and Marconi Lounge, 7 meeting rooms measuring 500 m2 with capacity for up to 300 people and a separate reception area; a modern, fully equipped gym, open 24 hours a day and complimentary high speed WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your ME by Melia London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing