We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”
Review of Crestfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crestfield Hotel
Ranked #562 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Booked this hotel as was travlling to France the next morning , the staff are fantastic and friendly the room was not a fantastic room but what u are paying cab you complain , the breakfast was ok . Not hot but didn't matter . The only fault I have was the people above our from was a family of elephants that kept us up most of the night . Would def stay again x

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirstie09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (932)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 932 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2012

If you are looking for a central, reasonably priced (for London standards), simple hotel in London, and do not plan to spend much time in your room (and why would you as you are in London?) this is a good place to stay. I was here for 3 nights and found it a pleasant enough place, very near St Pancrass/ Kings Cross station, ie well connected by tube to Heathrow (about 1 hr 15 mins) and great for the Eurostar train too (4 minute walk). Admittedly, although I'd booked a single room, I got a double in the annex at the back, small but pretty quiet. Free wifi worked fine on the third floor and breakfast was ok (think toast and cornflakes).

From the tube/metro station follow the signs for the exit "Euston Road". The hotel is located on the opposite side of Euston, in a street with a McDonalds on the corner (be careful, there's another McDonalds on the other side of Kings Cross).

I would stay there again if I was in London.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissMloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Location was very convenient to tube and Eurostar station. Direct tube lines to Heathrow and central London locations. Stayed in the 4 person room which consisted of 4 single beds. Room size was adequate for 2-3 people. Very limited desk space (one bed was in front of desk/outlet station. Free wi-fi was a definite plus. The wc - toilet, sink and shower combination, was small and entire floor would be covered with water after showering. The room was moderately clean - corners behind bed were not vacuumed, mold along bottom edge of shower and shower curtain. Bedding and linens were freshened each day. 1 towel provided for each bed. Extra blankets were available though we found we didn't need them (though the low was around freezing at night - room was quite toasty, even with window open. The price was a bit steep for size of accommodations, 110-130 GBD per night. The breakfast adequate: cold cereals, hard boiled eggs, cheese and ham slices, toast, juices and coffee/tea. Breakfast was available from 07:15 until 09:00. We stayed on the first floor - narrow halls and door so would be inconvenient to carry large luggage up several flights. On other hand, can hear every footstep from the room above us. Staff was accommodating to the few requests we made. Beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cheryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Really good location just across from Kings Cross station, but this is more of a b & b than a hotel. The room is small but it does included a wet room also.Good customer service and the bed was comfy If you want a bed for the night while your in london to visit places of interest then this is good for you. If you want luxury then this is not for you.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tessabellej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Fantastically located right by St Pamcras (ideal for the early morning Eurostar) the room was nevertheless substandard for what I was expecting considering the price. Free wifi was a good touch. Friendly service - would return but only if I were guaranteed a nicer room.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blue_monkey_dip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

So speaking to other Americans, think of a place that is more like a B&B than an American style hotel. The room was small, but clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly. The location was pretty good as the Kings Cross and St. Pancreas train stations are 3 blocks away. You can even walk about 4 blocks to access the Canal and from there it's a very pleasant 30 minute walk to Camden Market, a place not to miss. Not much to do in the area of the hotel itself. There is a good cafe a few blocks away on Northdown street named The Blue River Cafe. We choose this hotel due to it's proximity to the Eurostar train we would be taking to Paris and back. But with Kings Cross being so nearby it turned out to be a good choice for all our destinations in London. My only negative comment, and the reason they didn't get an excellent rating, is that the breakfast room isn't even close to big enough to accommodating the number of people they can book into the hotel. I can't comment on the quality of the food because i gave up trying to get any. I was happy with my stay here, but just know to plan on eating breakfast elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you stay in one of the down stairs rooms in the back building the stairs are very narrow and stee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mjrdzine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

This hotel is seriously over priced for what you get. Our room was so tiny, hardly room to walk around the bed, and just enough room to open the door properly. The staircase up to the rooms was very narrow and steep, not good if you have large suitcases, and there is no lift. Cleanliness is not great, everything was dusty! Bathroom had not been cleaned properly which was obvious. Staff were unfriendly and unwelcoming, particularly breakfast staff who were very abrupt so we didn't bother going for breakfast after the 1st day. The location is great, but I'm sure there are plenty other hotels in this area where you will get value for money, a clean room and comfy bed.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 78Saz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#272 of 1,076 in London
2,027 reviews
Bloomsbury
Wardonia Hotel
Wardonia Hotel
#569 of 1,076 in London
992 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#284 of 1,076 in London
1,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The California
The California
#403 of 1,076 in London
2,027 reviews
Bloomsbury
Kings Cross Inn Hotel
Kings Cross Inn Hotel
#853 of 1,076 in London
772 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Melville
Hotel Melville
#838 of 1,076 in London
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crestfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crestfield Hotel

Address: 3-4 Crestfield Street, London WC1H 8AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #562 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £76 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crestfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Crestfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crestfield Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing