We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very basic”
Review of Crestfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crestfield Hotel
Ranked #554 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very basic”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Even though this was a budget hotel for London I thought it could have been better. Our room was extremely small and very hot. It was also not very clean. I would expect more for paying £89 pound a night. The breakfast was the best thing about it. The fact that there is no lift I also found to be unacceptable especially when you have heavy cases. If you are going to have a hotel near to the train station then surely shouldn't this be a priority?!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo-killick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    400
    266
    65
    52
See reviews for
168
283
109
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
DeLand, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The hotel is located in the St. Pancreas-King's Cross-Euston Stations area.
Staff was pleasant and helpful at all times.
The continental breakfast was a good selection of cold cereals, cheeses, breads, fruit, yogurt, juices, coffee and tea.
The double rooms are very small with no place to put a suitcase except on the floor. The bathroom is tiny. This would be okay for a 1-2 night stay.
The 2-twin bed rooms are much larger than the doubles and the bathroom is a more normal size. I recommend this for longer stays.

Room Tip: Book a twin bed room for 2 rather than a double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Only good part about this hotel; close to Kings Cross Station.
Everything else was horrible! Rude staff, extremely tiny rooms that are sooooo hard to manoeuvre around in and are hot and stuffy! Stairs are vast and extremely squashed! No elevators at all and for 5 levels, that's such a downfall! Stairs barely fit a standard suitcase! We asked for another room and were moved to room 1. Sooooooo much better! Roomy, cleaner, cooler and close to the main entrance.
Expect nothing when you stay here!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KR88IS_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Price was OK for the night... I wouldn't say I got value for money, we were on the top floor of the hotel with heavy suitcases as we were headed to Paris the next day, so that was fun! The hotel did not have lifts which was not helpful at all. The stairs were narrow and somewhat rickety. The room was small and wonky, the bathroom not especially clean though surprisingly powerful shower though not great with draining. It was very warm in the room, no A/C. The breakfast was OK, just bread/cereals/ham/cheese, though again where we ate was small.

I have two good points about the hotel, the staff were very helpful and the location is amazing if you want to be close to King's Cross/St. Pancras. Otherwise, not great value for money, and very small.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank propapanda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarxien, Malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My son and I stayed at this hotel for nearly a week. The position of the hotel is very convenient to Kings Cross and St Pancras train stations, only a few minutes walk. The room was very airy and clean, with crisp white bedding, which was changed every 3 days. We were provided with fresh towels every day. The free WI FI was very good which made my son very happy. Breakfast continental and plentiful. There is no lift, so not too good for those who cannot go up stairs and one thing I missed was the land line in the room. Otherwise we were very comfortable.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor and it looked on to the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

There is very little positive about this place. The personell is friendly but unprofessional and the location is convenient. Apart from these the hotel is dreadful. The beds are short and narrow, the room is only superficially cleaned every second day, the internet is free bzt unstable and exremely slow. They messed up my receipt did not react to my request for a vegan breakfast. The shower is dirty and the sink at the height of your knees.

Helpful?
Thank grumpycrum
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We had a family room for the four of us. It was small but acceptable, The price was right and the location was great just a block from St. Pancras/King's Cross. The breakfast was OK - cereal, toast, hard boiled eggs, plain yogurt, ham and cheese and juice. The staff was friendly. Free wi-fi worked fine for us.

Now for the cons. We were fortunate we only had carry-on size luggage as there is no elevator and the stairs are very narrow (We were on the third level). The bathroom was very small with a floor drain in the middle. After taking a shower the floor of the bathroom was all wet. We asked for a couple of extra towels so we could mop up the floor so the floor was dry after showers were done. Also no A/C or fan in the room. We never felt like the room got cooled down sufficiently at night (we were there in late June and the highs were in the 70s - would have thought it would be more comfortable). Overall it was OK, but we were at the hotel only for sleeping.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DDowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#248 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
Bloomsbury
The California
The California
#369 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,743 reviews
Bloomsbury
Wardonia Hotel
Wardonia Hotel
#533 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kings Cross Inn Hotel
#862 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#241 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,723 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Melville
Hotel Melville
#789 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crestfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crestfield Hotel

Property: Crestfield Hotel
Address: 3-4 Crestfield Street, London WC1H 8AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #554 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Crestfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Crestfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crestfield Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing