We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for the middle of London England”
Review of Monopole Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Monopole Hotel
Ranked #141 of 563 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 October 2010

The hotel met and exceeded my expectations. Wireless internet performed flawlessly, beds were clean and comfortable, bathroom was clean, towels were big and water was hot. Staff was very friendly. The bathroom is a little odd with no shower curtain, but it is completely tiled. We asked for an extra towel to put on the floor after our shower and it solved any "problem" that may be perceived from a little water on the floor.

The breakfast was adequate; we are not used to the type of oil they fry the eggs in, and be sure to ask for how you want them done (runny, soft, hard). The coffee is made with instant, but all in all we have no complaints considering the price we paid for this Paddington location.

It takes about 20 minutes on the tube to get to Victoria and central London, less on the Bakerloo line to Leicester square and tons of theatres. The hotel is less than a 10 minutes walk pulling your bags from the Paddington station. No problems leaving our luggage, computer etc. in safe keeping after checking out on the day of departure.

If you need something, politely ask the staff members, who are very friendly and helpful.

This family run operation is excellent value for the money. Typical North American style hotels around the corner go for nearly double this amount and more.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank donethisbefore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
There are newer reviews for Monopole Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2009

This is our "family"hotel- we stayed here every year during the last 10 years. We tried different hotels but always were returning to this one.This is not the cheapest hotel in the area but the rooms are always clean and the breakfast is made by the style we like.The owner and his assistant are always friendly, are always willing to provide us with the information and are always paying attention to our needs.Compare to other hotels in this area I would like to say that the beddings are always snow-clean and ironed properly,they are changed every three-four days, the shower room is cleaned every day, the carpets are hoovered every three-four days.We did not need to worry about our belongings- everything was safe here.We did not experience any problems with payments as well.It just like your own home-relaxing and friendly environment.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnjefUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2006

If you are looking for a inexpensive place to have a roof over your head, then the Monopole Hotel in England is your place. Located just a few minutes walking distance from a main railroad station, it's easy to get to but hard to forget. After arriving at the hotel we noticed our room had a very strong odor. The odor was coming from a urine stained shower curtain. We also noticed many hairs on the bed sheets. We ask if we could change our sheets (we were willing to do the work). We were told, "We change the sheets once per week and it's not time yet." If you are the lucky person to come on bed sheet changing day you are in luck. If not, well, get ready to share the dirt, etc. of previous travelers. Overall, it was a nightmare for anyone who prefers cleanliness.

2  Thank romaniatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
txdrvr, Owner at Monopole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2008

Hello, while we respect people's views, there are a few lies about this one. We change the sheets after every departure . The rooms are also cleaned every day. If you want to ask any questions about the hotel feel free to to contact us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2006

I stayed here July 2006 after the reviews I read here and I wasn't disappointed. This is a very inexpensive hotel with great value. 60 pounds for myself and two kids. We had three beds, shower, etc. The breakfast was not the best, but decent considering the price. I had to stay at another hotel 4 or 5 doors away as I arrived a day earlier than planned. I stayed at the Royal Sussex and while it had basically the same features as the Monopole, it was another 40 pounds per night! As well, the staff at the Mononpole are VERY nice. The hotel is in a safe, clean area. We walked down to the Thames area most days, but bus stops and the underground are very close by (Paddington). The taxi trip back to the airport (Heathrow) from the Monopole cost 26 pounds plus per bag charges. .
One note...I did have to pay by cash at this hotel which managed to help put me over my weekly bank withdrawal limit for a couple of days. That was a pain.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BillMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Aalborg, Denmark
11
Reviewed 25 May 2006

My family, firends and I have stayed at The Monopole several times. The location is perfect and the owner and staff are very friendly and helpfull. The rooms are small and the bathrooms are small, but everything is functioning perfect. And - important to me - You don't spent all Your money on sleeping!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2005

We stayed at the Monopole Hotel in March. The rooms are extremely small. The bathroom is even smaller. The beds could use replacing as they are "well used". The manager is nice and very helpful. The breakfast was good - bacon, eggs and toast. Overall, for 45 pound per night it was worth it. The location was perfect, close to everything. Lots of pubs right around the corner. If you don't mind an older hotel, then this is perfect for you.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jessie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2003

I've stayed at Monopole few years ago with my sister and we've really loved it!The owner is friendly and nice,the Hotel,not fancy,is very very clean.Breakfast is good.I will come back

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank cooltweety3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Kingsway Park Hotel
#864 of 1,072 in London
292 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#737 of 1,072 in London
395 reviews
Albro House Hotel
#661 of 1,072 in London
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Athena Hotel
#684 of 1,072 in London
237 reviews
The Norfolk Towers Hotel
#637 of 1,072 in London
98 reviews
The Omega Hotel
#655 of 1,072 in London
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monopole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monopole Hotel

Address: 98 Sussex Gardens | Paddington, London W2 1UH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 563 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: £40 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your visit to London as a tourist will be both an enjoyable and exhausting affair and our family run hotel is the ideal place to recharge. Monopole Hotel is centrally located but distant enough to provide tranquil nights in the 24 hour city. The hotel is within five minutes walk of Paddington Station, which not only gives you access to ‘the tube’ (aka the London Underground) but to the National rail as well which allows you to take day trips outside London to Oxford and Windsor. This station also provides a direct link to Heathrow Airport and for those who prefer to take to London on foot, we are ten minutes walk away from Marble Arch, Oxford Street (which is the main shopping promenade), Hyde Park, and Madame Tussauds. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing