We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very clean and great price”
Review of Macdonald Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Macdonald Hotel
Ranked #44 of 566 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Great location: 5 minutes walk to the underground and the st Pancras train station. If you come from the airport at late night the st Pacras station is perfect.
The room is very small but it has everything you need.
If you need an hairdryer you can ask for it at the reception.
The room is very clean.
But the breakfast is always the same and never changes.
Inglese breakfast with eggs, bacon, beans and sausage or yogurt and Corflakes.
The free wifi in the room works quite well.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riccardo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (759)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

145 - 151 of 759 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

Hotel is fine, great location and the people there are willing to help. Breakfast is nice. They clean your room everyday and I would be happy to be back to this hotel again.Lovely place to stay. This trip I stayed this hotel for 6 days and I do enjoy my stay with Macdonald Hotel.

Room Tip: if you have so many luggage, you can ask to stay lower floor otherwise you have to carry all stuff u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Siriporn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

hotel was fine ,great location,the guy in reception was very friendly and printed some stuff off the computer for us....down side breakfast served between 7 and 9, I called down 3 times but no free tables,,think there was only 4 or 5 tables apart from that it did the trick....

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank skin1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Well situated, near St Pancras Station, very handy.

Showers and WC on the corridor though.

Good service but a little bit noisy at night.

Good typical English breakfast.

Quite cheap. Very clean. I would recommend it for a few nights.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 74Gerard38000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights last October for my 18th birthday. As London is an expensive city the closer you get to the centre, the Macdonald was our first choice. Breakfast was fantastic, beds were comfortable and had a lovely view of Argyle Square from our room. Didn't mind sharing toilet and shower as we were barely in our room, just a place to rest your head at night and keep all your belongings. Wifi was fast, even on the third floor.

Only downside was that since I'm asthmatic, climbing up narrow stairs to get to our floor with suitcases was quite the journey, but didn't mind. Only had to do it once with suitcase and a few times with shopping bags.

The location of this hotel couldn't get any better, literally a minute or so up the street is King's X and a 10 minute walk to Euston. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Georgia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The rooms were tidy but very cramped. All the spaces, room, hallway, dining room, stairs, felt really cramped and narrow. The showers and the toilet were on the corridor, and they weren't in the best state. The staff was very friendly though and the location excellent. The promised Wi-Fi connection was very weak and slow.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walle1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

When I am In London,now already the tenth time My choice of hotel is always at Macdonald Hotel at kings cross ! The hotel is very clean,friendly staff and the owners Saviour and Paul are very helpful owners. The location of the hotel is excellent very near the underground and close to all the best locations in London . For sure I reccomend this hotel ! See You soon Saviour and Paul !

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tal-qasab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#565 of 1,076 in London
932 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#277 of 1,076 in London
2,026 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#284 of 1,076 in London
1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Princess Hotel
Princess Hotel
#31 of 566 in London
232 reviews
Bloomsbury
St. Athans Hotel
St. Athans Hotel
#47 of 566 in London
607 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Meridiana
Hotel Meridiana
#83 of 566 in London
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Hotel

Address: 45-46 Argyle Square | Kings Cross St. Pancras, London WC1H 8AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 566 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: £64 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Macdonald Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 150 metres from King’s Cross St. Pancras, this bed and breakfast is 5 minutes’ walk from St. Pancras International Rail Station, which offers Eurostar services to Europe. Euston Rail Station is within a 15-minute walk. Oxford Circus, with Oxford’s Street’s shops, is a 5-minute tube journey away. Regent’s Park is just over a 10-minute journey from King’s Cross. Buckingham Palace and its gardens are less than 3 miles away. A full English breakfast is served at the Macdonald Hotel. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout. A TV, tea and coffee facilities and a hairdryer are included in each simply decorated room. Some rooms also have a private bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing