We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and Average”
Review of Westpoint Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Westpoint Hotel
Ranked #800 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 31 October 2013

My parents and I stayed at Westpoint for 3 nights during our stay in London. For a budget hotel, you get what you paid for.

Location: less than 200 meters away from Paddington station, so it was convenient. The Hotel is surrounded by restaurants and souvenir shops. It's also very close to the stops for Tourist Buses.
It's in a (fairly) quiet neighborhood.

Size/Quality of the room: we stayed on the third floor in a small triple room. For three people it was really cramped. It was , the washroom was the smallest I'd ever seen/been to. Still, it had hot water so that was a plus factor.

Breakfast buffet: AWESOME. Cold breakfasts and hot breakfasts were available and there was a great variety of choice. This meal definitely kept us past the noon hour, and we liked it a lot. A definite plus factor.

Security: the windows in the rooms can be opened, but there was absolutely no mesh/security for young ones that climb, or burglars that steal. Also, the cleaning staff did not announce themselves and walked into our room 3 times in a row. A definite negative factor.

Internet access: sorry, folks. No Internet/wifi here unless you are willing to pay 10 pounds a day. It was such a surprising and definitely the most disappointing thing to learn - especially when all hotels/inns/B&Bs we've ever been to keep up to date with technology and this basic service. Another negative factor.

Cleanliness: well maintained, but dated. The floors need updating. But it's pest-free, so there's a positive factor!

Service: was not the greatest. Because we needed to keep in touch with travel agents, we needed to use the complimentary computer of the hotel. But the staff did not care to help us when it came to logging on and/or fixing their computers when they wouldn't work. They did not seem interested in helping at all - no smiles, no apologies, no exceptional customer service that we had experienced in other London public services. They just shrugged and waved off the matter.

All in all, it was a so-so experience. Would I recommend it to people? Not really. You could probably find better.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phoebe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear guest,
Our Hotel is located just two minutes walk from Paddington station, walk your way down through London Street and we are located on the right hand side. We are proud of our buffet breakfast as we offer a variety of good quality food. All our rooms are varying in sizes and all are fit for purpose, reception staff are happy to help out 24 hours for any changes of rooms or upgrades. We pride ourselves on the service offered by our staff, I am sorry you were unhappy with the experience of customer service you received however if there were problems during your stay if you had informed us we would have been happy to deal with your complaints. We offer complimentary internet access through the hotel computers but guest feedback on the wireless service throughout the building has been very positive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (797)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

237 - 243 of 797 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

2nd trip to the hotel and will be back again. Good budget rooms, close to the station and handy for work trips. First floor rooms usually a good choice, but as I'm travelling for work I don't mind and this is Central London, rooms are generally on the small side. Nice changes to breakfast and for the range of choice I'm happy to pay for breakfast. One of the cheapest choices in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Dear guest, thank you for your review. We are pleased you have enjoyed. We offer a variety of good quality food in our breakfast. Our Hotel is located just two minutes walk from Paddington station. There is easy way to get to Westpoint Hotel. When you leave Paddington Station you need to go all way down through London Street and we are located on the right hand side. What is more there is great inscription on our building which shows clearly the name of our Hotel - Abbey Court and Westpoint Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Was urgently looking for a hotel close to Paddington. Hotel location is very good if you want to travel say to Heathrow. Got a room in the basement no 4. Room was tidy and small. The bed was used and it was better to sleep on one side of it as other was was used. I do not imagine how twopeole can sleep in such a tiny bad (room however is double). There is not light comming through the window which is not the worst thing. The worst is the noise on water heating systems that will not let you sleep.The recepption claimed it stops at 22hrs which is not the case. It stops later and there kicks off again at around 6. Use earplugs or leave the hotel...

On positive side : you can deposit your luggage that is free and works well.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms no 3 and 4 in the basement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank topolnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

My first stay here, great location and friendly staff. Good double room, perfect for me and my partner. Frond desk staff were very helpful. Breakfast was good, great choice on the whole. Will be back soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomJonas145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear guest,
It is our pleasure to take care of all of our guests and make sure they have an enjoyable stay in WestPoint Hotel.
Thank you for sharing a comment
Wishing you a very nice day!

Kind regards,
WestPoint Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Travelling to London for a few days with a friend I choose Westpoint Hotel for its close proximity to Paddington Railway Station . I found the hotel to be just right for our stay . The staff were very helpful . Our room was changed as the first room was somewhat small. The room I settled for was also small but of a better layout . The comfort of the bed, bedding and pillows was very good . The room was quiet and a good nights sleep was had. The hotel , in all areas was very clean . The breakfast room was attractive and the food and service was good . I think that a more realistic arrangement would be to have the breakfast cost included in the room price . It would make a more attractive deal if it offered the one price for b&b .I would stay there again without any hesitation .

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing a review about your stay and we are very happy that you had an enjoyable in Westpoit Hotel.
We are wishing you a very nice day and looking forward to welcoming you again soon!
Best regards,
Westpoint & Abbeycourt Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This hotel is Merveilleux and the location was really really good. I like the decor of the rooms, little bit small but it is ok. Staff were really helpful and have the knowledge of london by heart.
They charge me for breakfast but the quality was good so i cannot complaint. Je recommende l'hotel a tout le monde!

Room Tip: Call the hotel, you might get cheaper rate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for recommending Westpoint hotel and for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay.
We were elated to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you appreciated the level of service provided by our associates as they are an excellent asset to the Hotel. We are also delighted that you liked the Hotel’s Central London location. Once again, thank you for posting your feedback and for choosing to stay with us again. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed in Paddington at the start of our holidays. Another Hotel just across the road. Similar price - London is expensive. This was much better. Reception was friendly. Our room was at the front of the hotel with a window for fresh air. Room was tidy.Bathroom minute but spotlessly clean. Internet was great. Breakfast O.K. by London standards.

Room Tip: We had a front of hotel room - gave us a view and fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenPatric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear guest, thank you very much for writing such a positive comment on tripadvisor.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Our aim is to please our guests and make sure they enjoy their stay with us. We looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.0 mi away
Abbey Court Hotel
Abbey Court Hotel
#828 of 1,077 in London
520 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aspen Suites Hyde Park
Aspen Suites Hyde Park
#735 of 1,077 in London
51 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mitre House Hotel
Mitre House Hotel
#548 of 1,077 in London
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Eagle Hotel
Royal Eagle Hotel
#819 of 1,077 in London
1,114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tudor Court Hotel
Tudor Court Hotel
#821 of 1,077 in London
638 reviews
0.0 mi away
Castleton Hotel
Castleton Hotel
#902 of 1,077 in London
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westpoint Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westpoint Hotel

Address: 168-172 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 1TP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #800 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £67 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Westpoint Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable and convenient Central London Hotel. Location: Our Paddington hotel is situated in the midst of the peaceful tree-lined avenue of Sussex Gardens close to Marble Arch and Kensington Gardens. The budget (do we need to say this at this stage?) hotel is served by the Heathrow Express, with excellent transport links. Paddington underground and Main line stations, Lancaster Gate station and Hyde Park are a 3 minute walk away. We offer 15-minute transit times to Heathrow International Airport by Heathrow Express. Westpoint hotel offers easy access to London’s top tourist attractions and landmarks including the Royal Albert Hall, Buckingham Palace, Kensington Palace, the Houses of Parliament, Madame Tussauds. If you are a shopping fan we offer easy access to Westfield Shopping Centres in West London and Stratford, Oxford Street, Bond Street, boutiques in Carnaby Street and Nottinghill. Enjoy breathtaking skyline views from the London Eye and enjoy the nightlife in Piccadilly and Leicester Square as well London’s west end offering theatre and performance venues. There is always a good time to visit London. With a packed calendar from international concerts, exhibitions, carnivals to sporting events and local attractions including horse riding in Hyde Park. The London Tourist hop-on and hop-off bus is right on our door step offering an excellent opportunity for sight-seeing at your leisure. If you are looking for hotels with easy access to central London, budget hotels in Paddington or hotels near Hyde Park, the Central London Hotel, Westpoint Hotel is your premier choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Westpoint Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westpoint Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing