We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid booking this hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Westpoint Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westpoint Hotel
Ranked #807 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Avoid booking this hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Booked a prepaid rate at the beginning of March, when I phoned hotel to inquire why payment hadn't been taken the receptionist was very rude and said the price was incorrect and I would have to cancel and rebook, so I spoke to booking.com who said they would sort it out. It's taken 4 weeks for them to tell me that I would indeed have to rebook at 3 times the price of what my confirmation said and that I would have to accept this offer immediately or the booking would be cancelled. Unprofessional hotel and staff, this all would be understandable if the hotel would have contacted me immediately.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear guest,

We apologise for the inconvenience you experienced. At the time of your booking we were upgrading our systems and there was a problem with booking.com who had released rooms with an incorrect price. Although this was in NO WAY our fault we did indeed email all guests to alert them to the problem and we made a gesture of offering rooms at a heavily discounted rate through booking.com. We are sorry on this occasion you haven’t been able to book with us.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    239
    230
    104
    108
See reviews for
219
205
37
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

my boyfriend and I stayed here one night. quick check in. very kind receptionist. the room was really nice, cleaned and tidy.
no free wifi!!! cannot understand wifi... we are in London! every single hotel has free wifi!! ( £5 for 1hour - £10 for 24h).
check out until 10.30 am but at 8.30am the housekeeper opened our room while we were sleeping!!!!!!!!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Claudia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear guest,

Internet in the Hotel is provided by independent supplier separate from Hotel what is why Wi-Fi is available for additional payment of £5 per hour, £10 per day or £30 per week. Also we do have stationary computers in Hotel premises which guests can use any time free of charge.
Thank you for staying with us!

Kind regards,
WestPoint Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

London is all connected. At least you have The Clound wifi in a very simple pub or restaurant... Having a hotel like that without a safe in the room and without Internet included is something almost impossible to believe. Pay 10 pounds a day for Internet??? Increadible.
For exact price we can find simpler but nicer hotels around that includes Internet and also breakfast.
Also, any hotel should not have a safe inside each room. Where do we leave our money?? This hotel reminds you that its not safe leave valuable things inside the room, and do not have a safe there, you have to leave your stuff in reception. Warranties? I don´t think so.
Nobody had stolen my money in reception, just to clarify. And this is something I need to enphatize: very good attendance there. Pedro is really the good reference from this hotel. Always smiling and ready to help, very kind and speaks a very good Portuguese either.
I don´t know why is it asking for gym and pool grades, because hotel does not have it.
Overall? You have better options around Sussex Gardens.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biancatrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review.
We are sorry to hear you have not been satisfied with your stay.
As you mentioned, to keep guests valuables we have safe in reception which is free of charge and absolutely safe. Reception which is working 24 hours make safe accessible any time you need.
Internet in the Hotel is provided by independent supplier separate from Hotel what is why Wi-Fi is available for additional payment of £5 per hour, £10 per day or £30 per week. Also we do have stationary computers in Hotel premises which guests can use any time free of charge.
We do appreciate each of our guests and try to serve in the best way we can.
Regards,
Westpoint Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Stayed here on business for 3 nights. It's a strange place. Once the reception was finished being messed with , I think they ran out of money. Our room for a double room was a disgrace. Lumpy bed. Uneven floorboards. The smallest most impractical bathroom we have ever seen. Really....how can hotels attempt to offer this standard of accommodation when for the same pricing levels a local premier inn would have been a far better option.
Breakfast,,,bit of a scam at £7.50..cheap sausages, no toast ( I know ???), bacon as chewy as leather. Horrible, just horrible. Greasy spoon round the corner does a better breakfast at half the price. Won't be staying here again. So be clever,,,and don't bother,,and I wasn't paying !!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to write a review.
We are sorry to hear about your unpleasant experience, we strongly encourage our guests to let us know if they are unhappy during their stay in order for us to rectify the situation there and then.
Please be aware that there is possibility of room upgrade if for some reason guest is not happy with the room.
Buffet breakfast at £7.50 offers wide range of hot and cold dishes including eggs, croissants, rolls, yoghurts, cheese and cereals.
Regards,
Westpoint Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Room 54, 17 - 19 jan.
Me and my friend stayed in west point hotel for weekend. Apon arrival was quick from paddingtion stn as stated.
At night the lights outside were beautiful to see and sets the expectation before we entered.
Quick check in, which was lovely, when we entered the room everything was clean, tidy, and well presented.
As a joke we checked for mould and dust and found none.
So the morning breakfast, buffet style breakfast. Loved it as I could go up seconds if needed. Upon arrival to the breakfast area we were greeted with a good morning from friendly team which makes a diffrence.
After demolishing breakfast we did our thing, sight seeing and other fun stuff.
So we headed back to hotel and to our suprise the room was clean and tidy and smelling lovely.
With all the good news spoken about there was only ONE thing.
The bathroom we had was very... narrow. Im kind of a built guy and the space was lets say constricting for the toilet activities.
As it was our first time here I didnt really think we should complain.
But that did not interrupt our amazing weekend at your hotel.
So thank you for your service and will be recommending you to friends.
From a happy customer glyn.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank gp20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind review.
We are proud of our service and very happy to hear that you enjoyed stay in our Hotel.
For your next stay we suggest to put a request for bigger bathroom. Our staff would be pleased to help you as we have different size rooms to offer.
Hope to welcome you and your friends in near future.
Best regards,
Westpoint Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Not too much to say about this hotel. Only good points - friendly staff & good location. Bad points - very very small rooms, single glaze windows so a little noisy, hard bed, no aircon so stuffy rooms, kinda clean not spotless.
This is just a general, low end budget, not quite worth the money, but for one night on a budget-you may just be able to deal with it.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rumplestilskins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review.
Next time you stay with us, do not hesitate to enquire staff about back facing rooms which are more quiet. We do provide fans upon request.
Thank you for staying with us.
Best wishes,
Westpoint Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

I stayed here for 6 days in a single room. Room was very small but didn't spend much time in hotel anyway so it was fine because I really just needed a bed to sleep in. This hotel is situated very close to Paddington station so it was very convenient when I needed to take the Heathrow Express. Staff were very friendly but I was disappointed by their lack of communication prior to my stay. I sent a number of emails and I didn't receive any reply. Bed was comfortable and room was very clean. Breakfast was very nice but unfortunately cost 8 pounds.The shower was average and I thought overall the hotel was overpriced for what I got but I paid for location mainly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for review.
Hotel is located in a Victorian building which has different size rooms. Our staff members are always ready to offer you alternative options or upgrade depending on availability.
Buffet breakfast is served daily with charge of £7.50 per person per day.
Please accept our apologies for delayed response to your emails.
Hope to welcome you in our Hotel again.
Best regards,
Westpoint Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.0 mi away
Abbey Court Hotel
Abbey Court Hotel
#763 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aspen Suites Hyde Park
Aspen Suites Hyde Park
#796 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tudor Court Hotel
Tudor Court Hotel
#779 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rhodes Hotel
Rhodes Hotel
#306 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
0.1 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#659 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queensway Hotel
Queensway Hotel
#844 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westpoint Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westpoint Hotel

Property: Westpoint Hotel
Address: 168-172 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 1TP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #807 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Westpoint Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable and convenient Central London Hotel. Location: Our Paddington hotel is situated in the midst of the peaceful tree-lined avenue of Sussex Gardens close to Marble Arch and Kensington Gardens. The budget (do we need to say this at this stage?) hotel is served by the Heathrow Express, with excellent transport links. Paddington underground and Main line stations, Lancaster Gate station and Hyde Park are a 3 minute walk away. We offer 15-minute transit times to Heathrow International Airport by Heathrow Express. Westpoint hotel offers easy access to London’s top tourist attractions and landmarks including the Royal Albert Hall, Buckingham Palace, Kensington Palace, the Houses of Parliament, Madame Tussauds. If you are a shopping fan we offer easy access to Westfield Shopping Centres in West London and Stratford, Oxford Street, Bond Street, boutiques in Carnaby Street and Nottinghill. Enjoy breathtaking skyline views from the London Eye and enjoy the nightlife in Piccadilly and Leicester Square as well London’s west end offering theatre and performance venues. There is always a good time to visit London. With a packed calendar from international concerts, exhibitions, carnivals to sporting events and local attractions including horse riding in Hyde Park. The London Tourist hop-on and hop-off bus is right on our door step offering an excellent opportunity for sight-seeing at your leisure. If you are looking for hotels with easy access to central London, budget hotels in Paddington or hotels near Hyde Park, the Central London Hotel, Westpoint Hotel is your premier choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westpoint Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westpoint Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing