We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Westpoint Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westpoint Hotel
Ranked #813 of 1,067 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The Location was perfect, within Easy travelling distance of all London's main Attractions, definitely worth it for what we paid. The staff were always happy to help and we definitely plan on going back later in the year!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear guest,
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you wrote a review. We appreciate it.
Wishing you a very nice day and looking forward to welcoming you again in a near future.

Kind regards,
Abbeycourt &Westpoint Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    241
    233
    105
    109
See reviews for
222
205
38
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This hotel is ideally suited for exploring London. The rooms and facilities are basic but for the price we paid, it met expectations. The breakfast was reasonable for what we paid. However, the biggest flaw for this hotel is their staff who are completely unhelpful and exceptionally rude. The receptionists and the restaurant staff treated us like we were a complete nuisance to them and we did not ask for anything extra. Overall a decent hotel, cheap and good location but don't expect service with a smile.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cmc4287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to write a review. We are proud of our customer service. If you were unhappy with any aspect of your stay we would have preferred it if you had taken the time to speak to our Manager.
We appreciate your opinion and we are always trying to provide best service we can.
Hope to welcome you in our Hotel again.

Best regards,
Westpoint Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Since my first review last August, I have stayed at the Westpoint twice on business visits to London, and will stay there twice again in May. Other reviews on booking problems have been noted.
My overall impression, and rating, of the hotel hasn't changed since August, but I have warmed to it more. The location next to Paddington is perfect. Staff are friendly and helpful for what I need. For the amount of time I spend in the room, it was comfortable and clean enough though cramped. On balance not bad for £75 - bed only. Anymore, then I would consider other options.
During my last visit I asked whether the hotel could store some chilled food items for me which I intended to take home the next day as a gift. I was told, which might be H&S legislation, that the hotel couldn't do it. Fortunately the baggage room was cool enough.
Not bad value for money for Central London.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mahmoud A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear guest,

We appreciate your review and are happy to having you back repeatedly. Feel free to book our apartments with us as they are fully kitchenette equipped, thank you for your feedback
Kind regards,
Westpoint Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I stayed here a few days ago, I booked my hotel one month in advance and when I got there they were overbooked... so they decide to sent me to another hotel around the area. This was my first experience with Westpoint Hotel and for sure the last. Overbooked? This means they not controlling at all the reservations and money is the only thing they have in mind. I must say, the staff was great. Thanks to the portuguese lady and other guy (I think portuguese as well. with glasses) I was capable to understand what went wrong with my booking and the lady took me to the hotel nearby. I appreciate the staff, but I would love to speak with the manager if he was available for guests. In fact never saw him...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a comment. During that period due to a system error with the booking agency we work with we were unfortunately overbooked and we worked very hard to ensure we honoured bookings they had made on our behalf. On these rare occasions we always make sure to reallocate our guests to the same standard Hotels in the area. We are very proud of our receptionists as they are always here to help out in any type of situations. Our manager is always available for guests and we strangle encourage guests to provide feedback to us directly.

Wishing you a nice day
Kind regards,
Westpoint Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I tried to book this hotel, I got an e-mail back saying the card details needed updating. I did this and 3 days later booking.com sent a cancellation email so I had no booking. Checked the bank statement the following week and the hotel took the money out without me knowing. Then all the fun started..... NO ONE at the hotel wanted to help, I had to make all the calls. One person said I needed the general manager and he would be in the next day, I rang the next day to be told he was on holiday for a week. I asked if they would get him to call me and the response was NO!!! After 3 and a half weeks and alot of my time and money I finally got my money back. I have a man called pedro to thank for that. The rest of the staff were rude and customer service did not exsist.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ptclose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We do apologise for this inconvenience. The terms and conditions of bookings on booking.com require guests to pay when they pay –and you had agreed to do when making the booking.
The hotel has just gone through a system upgrade and we have had a few glitches in the system. Your booking was not sent through by booking.com and this meant we could not process your reservation. Booking.com then cancelled your booking. We were investigating this situation together with booking.com and when we had everything sorted out we refunded the amount straight away, please note that refunds normally take five days to process. All our staff are trained to deal with guests queries at times when the Manager is not available.

Thank you for sharing a comment,
Kind regards
WestPoint Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Not a huge amount of positive I can say about this hotel other than its location and it was clean.

However, I wanted to highlight the rude, arrogant and downright abhorrent lady on reception - possibly Spanish(?), with dark hair cut just above the shoulder.

She has no comprehension of customer service and will certainly be the only reason I would not stay here again.

If she were working in my hotel, she'd be fired on the spot!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smith742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you taking notes about the cleanness as we have been rewarded for the Hotel to being spotless.

Our staff is demanded 24/7 changing shifts and we are dealing with 300 people per day. All our staff are trained to provide good customer service at any time.
This issue was an error with our booking system, due to a fault with one of our booking channel partners and the room was not prepared for an additional guest in the room. The receptionist in question came upstairs and made the bed for you and helped to prepare the room to your needs. We are very sorry if you felt unappreciated by any of our staff and would like to make it up for you at any time. At the time of check out our staff asked you about your stay and you were stated you were happy with your visit, if you had expressed complaints at the time we could have addressed your concerns.

Kind regards,
WestPoint Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Cheap hotel in central london. Good only if you need to stay the night.
Really tiny rooms.
Heating wasn't on so we were made to carry an extra heater. Although that worked out fine.
Really basic room with a bed and TV and bathroom.
Cleaning was average.
Reception a little rude when we first arrived but helpful if we needed anything.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ish24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking time to write a review.
The Hotel is located in Central London near Hyde Park, perfect location for sightseeing and attractions. We are a three star hotel with facilities to suit our guests a number of whom come back again due to our great location, service and facilities.
This time of year weather varies from hot to cold and we do our best accommodate fluctuations but we we are well equipped with extra heaters and blankets for guests best comfort.

Regards,
WestPoint Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.0 mi away
Abbey Court Hotel
Abbey Court Hotel
#812 of 1,067 in London
473 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aspen Suites Hyde Park
Aspen Suites Hyde Park
#776 of 1,067 in London
48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#670 of 1,067 in London
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tudor Court Hotel
Tudor Court Hotel
#789 of 1,067 in London
614 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mitre House Hotel
Mitre House Hotel
#560 of 1,067 in London
594 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rhodes Hotel
Rhodes Hotel
#314 of 1,067 in London
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westpoint Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westpoint Hotel

Property: Westpoint Hotel
Address: 168-172 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 1TP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #813 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Westpoint Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable and convenient Central London Hotel. Location: Our Paddington hotel is situated in the midst of the peaceful tree-lined avenue of Sussex Gardens close to Marble Arch and Kensington Gardens. The budget (do we need to say this at this stage?) hotel is served by the Heathrow Express, with excellent transport links. Paddington underground and Main line stations, Lancaster Gate station and Hyde Park are a 3 minute walk away. We offer 15-minute transit times to Heathrow International Airport by Heathrow Express. Westpoint hotel offers easy access to London’s top tourist attractions and landmarks including the Royal Albert Hall, Buckingham Palace, Kensington Palace, the Houses of Parliament, Madame Tussauds. If you are a shopping fan we offer easy access to Westfield Shopping Centres in West London and Stratford, Oxford Street, Bond Street, boutiques in Carnaby Street and Nottinghill. Enjoy breathtaking skyline views from the London Eye and enjoy the nightlife in Piccadilly and Leicester Square as well London’s west end offering theatre and performance venues. There is always a good time to visit London. With a packed calendar from international concerts, exhibitions, carnivals to sporting events and local attractions including horse riding in Hyde Park. The London Tourist hop-on and hop-off bus is right on our door step offering an excellent opportunity for sight-seeing at your leisure. If you are looking for hotels with easy access to central London, budget hotels in Paddington or hotels near Hyde Park, the Central London Hotel, Westpoint Hotel is your premier choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelsClick so you can book your Westpoint Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westpoint Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing