We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Hotel”
Review of Westpoint Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westpoint Hotel
Ranked #833 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed at the Westpoint Hotel because, the location was good. We were a party of 6, 4 adults & 2 kids, 2 rooms of 3. We were complaining to our friends about how small our room was & they complained to us too that their room was small so, we didn't think anything of it. The morning of check out our friends came to our room & saw Exactly how SMALL the room was, we then went to their room. Their room was a suite compared to our room.
We were unable to stand next to each other in our room. The only way we could stand in our room with the luggage open was to put the luggage on the bed. The bathroom was the SMALLEST I've ever seen. The sink was up to the level of a 3 year old. You couldn't move in the shower.
When we checked in the registration said 1 adult. The lady at the reception told me that, that's just the registration form & it doesn't mean anything. Well, I believe & so does the other family with us that the room is really a SINGLE room that they made into a TRIPLE.
We complained at the reception on check out & she asked if we had breakfast. We told her yes & she said the only thing she could have done was give us breakfast. Well, how about taking the amount of what breakfast would cost & remove it from our bill.
They are NOT helpful. Our friends asked if they could do something & they said they aren't allowed to do what they were asking for. Customer Service is horrible along with the rooms.

Room Tip: I don't believe there is a good room in this hotel. Our friends room was pretty small too.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (783)
There are newer reviews for Westpoint Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

198 - 204 of 783 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

We have visited this hotel 4 times over the years. The rooms are small but the location perfect and the price was affordable "before". Not anymore. Something went wrong this time. We reserved a room a long time ago but when we arrived we were advised a room "down under" not what we had expected. We heard the hotel was heavily booked!!!!!
Next morning at breakfast the lady of the staff dismissed us and wouldn't believe that we had payed. This happened twice and we had to show proof of the payment. At the same time she was not at all service minded. Seemed angry and not friendly at all. People were waiting a long time to be served and the room was too small consider the amount of people having breakfast.
We will definitely not choose this hotel next time we visit London but check this site first and then decide.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Annette N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

very clean room; excellent location, 100m from paddington train and tube station, 10min metro ride to oxford street. Nice restaurants and bars in the area.
poor breakfast, they didn't even have toast or ham/meat, just boiled eggs and sausages, cereals and croissants. shower and sink in the bathroom were tiny, couldn't even wash your face properly, no space for toiletries, but it was ok for 1 night stay

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viktorija J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The Location was perfect, within Easy travelling distance of all London's main Attractions, definitely worth it for what we paid. The staff were always happy to help and we definitely plan on going back later in the year!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear guest,
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you wrote a review. We appreciate it.
Wishing you a very nice day and looking forward to welcoming you again in a near future.

Kind regards,
Abbeycourt &Westpoint Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This hotel is ideally suited for exploring London. The rooms and facilities are basic but for the price we paid, it met expectations. The breakfast was reasonable for what we paid. However, the biggest flaw for this hotel is their staff who are completely unhelpful and exceptionally rude. The receptionists and the restaurant staff treated us like we were a complete nuisance to them and we did not ask for anything extra. Overall a decent hotel, cheap and good location but don't expect service with a smile.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cmc4287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to write a review. We are proud of our customer service. If you were unhappy with any aspect of your stay we would have preferred it if you had taken the time to speak to our Manager.
We appreciate your opinion and we are always trying to provide best service we can.
Hope to welcome you in our Hotel again.

Best regards,
Westpoint Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Since my first review last August, I have stayed at the Westpoint twice on business visits to London, and will stay there twice again in May. Other reviews on booking problems have been noted.
My overall impression, and rating, of the hotel hasn't changed since August, but I have warmed to it more. The location next to Paddington is perfect. Staff are friendly and helpful for what I need. For the amount of time I spend in the room, it was comfortable and clean enough though cramped. On balance not bad for £75 - bed only. Anymore, then I would consider other options.
During my last visit I asked whether the hotel could store some chilled food items for me which I intended to take home the next day as a gift. I was told, which might be H&S legislation, that the hotel couldn't do it. Fortunately the baggage room was cool enough.
Not bad value for money for Central London.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mahmoud A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear guest,

We appreciate your review and are happy to having you back repeatedly. Feel free to book our apartments with us as they are fully kitchenette equipped, thank you for your feedback
Kind regards,
Westpoint Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I stayed here a few days ago, I booked my hotel one month in advance and when I got there they were overbooked... so they decide to sent me to another hotel around the area. This was my first experience with Westpoint Hotel and for sure the last. Overbooked? This means they not controlling at all the reservations and money is the only thing they have in mind. I must say, the staff was great. Thanks to the portuguese lady and other guy (I think portuguese as well. with glasses) I was capable to understand what went wrong with my booking and the lady took me to the hotel nearby. I appreciate the staff, but I would love to speak with the manager if he was available for guests. In fact never saw him...

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a comment. During that period due to a system error with the booking agency we work with we were unfortunately overbooked and we worked very hard to ensure we honoured bookings they had made on our behalf. On these rare occasions we always make sure to reallocate our guests to the same standard Hotels in the area. We are very proud of our receptionists as they are always here to help out in any type of situations. Our manager is always available for guests and we strangle encourage guests to provide feedback to us directly.

Wishing you a nice day
Kind regards,
Westpoint Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.0 mi away
Abbey Court Hotel
Abbey Court Hotel
#829 of 1,072 in London
502 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aspen Suites Hyde Park
Aspen Suites Hyde Park
#751 of 1,072 in London
49 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tudor Court Hotel
Tudor Court Hotel
#814 of 1,072 in London
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mitre House Hotel
Mitre House Hotel
#543 of 1,072 in London
627 reviews
0.0 mi away
Castleton Hotel
Castleton Hotel
#905 of 1,072 in London
565 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Eagle Hotel
Royal Eagle Hotel
#820 of 1,072 in London
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westpoint Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westpoint Hotel

Address: 168-172 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 1TP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #833 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: £72 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Westpoint Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable and convenient Central London Hotel. Location: Our Paddington hotel is situated in the midst of the peaceful tree-lined avenue of Sussex Gardens close to Marble Arch and Kensington Gardens. The budget (do we need to say this at this stage?) hotel is served by the Heathrow Express, with excellent transport links. Paddington underground and Main line stations, Lancaster Gate station and Hyde Park are a 3 minute walk away. We offer 15-minute transit times to Heathrow International Airport by Heathrow Express. Westpoint hotel offers easy access to London’s top tourist attractions and landmarks including the Royal Albert Hall, Buckingham Palace, Kensington Palace, the Houses of Parliament, Madame Tussauds. If you are a shopping fan we offer easy access to Westfield Shopping Centres in West London and Stratford, Oxford Street, Bond Street, boutiques in Carnaby Street and Nottinghill. Enjoy breathtaking skyline views from the London Eye and enjoy the nightlife in Piccadilly and Leicester Square as well London’s west end offering theatre and performance venues. There is always a good time to visit London. With a packed calendar from international concerts, exhibitions, carnivals to sporting events and local attractions including horse riding in Hyde Park. The London Tourist hop-on and hop-off bus is right on our door step offering an excellent opportunity for sight-seeing at your leisure. If you are looking for hotels with easy access to central London, budget hotels in Paddington or hotels near Hyde Park, the Central London Hotel, Westpoint Hotel is your premier choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Westpoint Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westpoint Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing