We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulously convenient Hotel”
Review of Westpoint Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westpoint Hotel
Ranked #832 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We spent two nights at the Westpoint and found the hotel to be clean and quiet and very conveniently situated near to Paddington Train Station.
It was quiet and we had two good nights sleep.
The bathroom was small but the shower was good, lacked shelves to put your toiletries on.
There are plenty of places to eat within less than a five minute walk and the hotel is situated in a leaf lined avenue close to Hyde Park.
Breakfast is served downstairs in the restaurant and was a self service buffet style of hot and cold food. The coffee was much better than the instant in our bedroom and were were disappointed when the waitress stopped us from taking our second mug of coffee up to our room!
The only real negative was our room was on the small side (but more than adequate for a two night city break) The windows are small and we overlooked a back small courtyard which made the room feel rather dark. It was cool and cloudy when we visited but we imagine if it was really warm weather it would feel airless and very warm in the bedroom.
However the staff were charming and helpful and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room with a brighter outlook with bigger windows ... however we don't kno...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindaTruroCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing thoughts about your stay. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and are looking forward to many more visits from you. For your next visit please write request for a spacious room and we will make sure that you get satisfied.

Kind regards,
Westpoint Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (782)
There are newer reviews for Westpoint Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

195 - 201 of 782 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

NO customer service AT ALL!!! We made a honest mistake and needed to change our booking dates.. they would not even let us do that even though we called immediately after we made the booking!!!!!
Then they charged us the full amount with no consideration at all. It is peak season in July, It wouldn't be long before our cancellation was filled again!
We travel a lot, know a lot of people in the travel industry and would NEVER EVER recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: NONE, don't stay at all.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Boredgoabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

We have been cooperating with you by offering you the flexibility to change arrival day even though you have chosen to make a non-refundable booking. We are sold out on these specific days in July you wish to modify to! Please refer to terms and condition, it is clearly stated that money will be taken from the credit card on the time of booking and is non-refundable and the money was already taken before booking.com contacted us.

Regards,
Westpoint Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed at the Westpoint Hotel because, the location was good. We were a party of 6, 4 adults & 2 kids, 2 rooms of 3. We were complaining to our friends about how small our room was & they complained to us too that their room was small so, we didn't think anything of it. The morning of check out our friends came to our room & saw Exactly how SMALL the room was, we then went to their room. Their room was a suite compared to our room.
We were unable to stand next to each other in our room. The only way we could stand in our room with the luggage open was to put the luggage on the bed. The bathroom was the SMALLEST I've ever seen. The sink was up to the level of a 3 year old. You couldn't move in the shower.
When we checked in the registration said 1 adult. The lady at the reception told me that, that's just the registration form & it doesn't mean anything. Well, I believe & so does the other family with us that the room is really a SINGLE room that they made into a TRIPLE.
We complained at the reception on check out & she asked if we had breakfast. We told her yes & she said the only thing she could have done was give us breakfast. Well, how about taking the amount of what breakfast would cost & remove it from our bill.
They are NOT helpful. Our friends asked if they could do something & they said they aren't allowed to do what they were asking for. Customer Service is horrible along with the rooms.

Room Tip: I don't believe there is a good room in this hotel. Our friends room was pretty small too.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

We have visited this hotel 4 times over the years. The rooms are small but the location perfect and the price was affordable "before". Not anymore. Something went wrong this time. We reserved a room a long time ago but when we arrived we were advised a room "down under" not what we had expected. We heard the hotel was heavily booked!!!!!
Next morning at breakfast the lady of the staff dismissed us and wouldn't believe that we had payed. This happened twice and we had to show proof of the payment. At the same time she was not at all service minded. Seemed angry and not friendly at all. People were waiting a long time to be served and the room was too small consider the amount of people having breakfast.
We will definitely not choose this hotel next time we visit London but check this site first and then decide.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Annette N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

very clean room; excellent location, 100m from paddington train and tube station, 10min metro ride to oxford street. Nice restaurants and bars in the area.
poor breakfast, they didn't even have toast or ham/meat, just boiled eggs and sausages, cereals and croissants. shower and sink in the bathroom were tiny, couldn't even wash your face properly, no space for toiletries, but it was ok for 1 night stay

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viktorija J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The Location was perfect, within Easy travelling distance of all London's main Attractions, definitely worth it for what we paid. The staff were always happy to help and we definitely plan on going back later in the year!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear guest,
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you wrote a review. We appreciate it.
Wishing you a very nice day and looking forward to welcoming you again in a near future.

Kind regards,
Abbeycourt &Westpoint Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This hotel is ideally suited for exploring London. The rooms and facilities are basic but for the price we paid, it met expectations. The breakfast was reasonable for what we paid. However, the biggest flaw for this hotel is their staff who are completely unhelpful and exceptionally rude. The receptionists and the restaurant staff treated us like we were a complete nuisance to them and we did not ask for anything extra. Overall a decent hotel, cheap and good location but don't expect service with a smile.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cmc4287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to write a review. We are proud of our customer service. If you were unhappy with any aspect of your stay we would have preferred it if you had taken the time to speak to our Manager.
We appreciate your opinion and we are always trying to provide best service we can.
Hope to welcome you in our Hotel again.

Best regards,
Westpoint Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.0 mi away
Abbey Court Hotel
Abbey Court Hotel
#829 of 1,072 in London
501 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aspen Suites Hyde Park
Aspen Suites Hyde Park
#750 of 1,072 in London
49 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tudor Court Hotel
Tudor Court Hotel
#813 of 1,072 in London
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mitre House Hotel
Mitre House Hotel
#551 of 1,072 in London
627 reviews
0.0 mi away
Castleton Hotel
Castleton Hotel
#904 of 1,072 in London
564 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rhodes Hotel
Rhodes Hotel
#331 of 1,072 in London
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westpoint Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westpoint Hotel

Address: 168-172 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 1TP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #832 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: £72 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Westpoint Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable and convenient Central London Hotel. Location: Our Paddington hotel is situated in the midst of the peaceful tree-lined avenue of Sussex Gardens close to Marble Arch and Kensington Gardens. The budget (do we need to say this at this stage?) hotel is served by the Heathrow Express, with excellent transport links. Paddington underground and Main line stations, Lancaster Gate station and Hyde Park are a 3 minute walk away. We offer 15-minute transit times to Heathrow International Airport by Heathrow Express. Westpoint hotel offers easy access to London’s top tourist attractions and landmarks including the Royal Albert Hall, Buckingham Palace, Kensington Palace, the Houses of Parliament, Madame Tussauds. If you are a shopping fan we offer easy access to Westfield Shopping Centres in West London and Stratford, Oxford Street, Bond Street, boutiques in Carnaby Street and Nottinghill. Enjoy breathtaking skyline views from the London Eye and enjoy the nightlife in Piccadilly and Leicester Square as well London’s west end offering theatre and performance venues. There is always a good time to visit London. With a packed calendar from international concerts, exhibitions, carnivals to sporting events and local attractions including horse riding in Hyde Park. The London Tourist hop-on and hop-off bus is right on our door step offering an excellent opportunity for sight-seeing at your leisure. If you are looking for hotels with easy access to central London, budget hotels in Paddington or hotels near Hyde Park, the Central London Hotel, Westpoint Hotel is your premier choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Westpoint Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westpoint Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing