We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty, clean & close to the tube” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westpoint Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Westpoint Hotel
Ranked #766 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Pflugerville, Texas
Level Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Pretty, clean & close to the tube”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We reserved a family room and upon arrival were upgraded to a suite in the adjoining Abbey Apartments(?). The flat included a kitchen which appeared to have been updated recently. It was stocked with a hot pot, teas and coffees, and dishes to accommodate 4 guests. Also included were a stove, dishwasher and refrigerator. The living room included a futon, small table, 2 chairs, and a TV; the bedroom was furnished with a comfortable double bed and a chifferobe. The en suite bathroom was clean and very brightly lit but it would have been beneficial to install some shelves where we could place our toiletries. There was only one hook nearest the shower to hold your towel and whatever clothing you didn't want to stack upon the toilet.

The laminate flooring in all of the remaining rooms was a bit warped and should be replaced, in my opinion, because it felt cheap, compared to the very nice tile flooring in the kitchen.

The futon had a broken leg but maintenance staff promptly arrived and repaired it.

The location is just a couple of blocks from the Paddington Station. The neighborhood is beautiful and generally quiet all things considered (our flat was at street level) but using a pair of ear plugs at night was a good idea.

The wifi is free for about 30 minutes, per device. Thus, I was able to review emails on my iPhone until my time expired and then I was able to do the same with my iPad. There is free wifi at the Paddington Station if you don't mind walking the 2 blocks for that benefit.

There is a large variety of restaurants in the neighborhood and we visited Mimo's Cafe in the mornings for delicious coffee and fresh pastries. Dinner was in the adjoining Brazilian restaurant, Desejo Do Brazil, which was good fare but expensive.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraMOAustin_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to write a review.
We are glad to know you enjoyed stay with us.

Hope to welcome you next time.

Regards,
Westpoin Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    238
    228
    102
    106
See reviews for
216
203
36
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Atherton, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

WestPoint Hotel
The Pros:
For London, the WestPoint is reasonably priced. Its in the beautiful neighborhood of Sussex Gardens and a two minute walk to the Tube and Hyde Park. Contrary to other reviews, the front staff was wonderful. Virginia and pedro were great and gave me the room I requested: second floor w/nice view.Lots of fun Bars/Brasseries and little markets around the corner on London Street.

The Cons:
No A/C!! London in June w/o A/C is not fun. Also, there in no food or bar there and no ice either. the restaurant connected to hotel is the only food/drink service and its expensive!! Also, it really ticks me when hotels charge for WiFi and it ain’t cheap at the WPH. I think its 15 pounds a day…$30 American..per person! They have a business center but none of the equipment was working.The room was on the smallish side but manageable.

This is a great hotel for young people or anyone on a budget who can hang in a smallish room. I think I paid $120 English a night which is a bargain for London. I wouldn’t go back because I’m a snob and like nicer accommodations, but my daughter and her crew would like it because its close to the Tube, Hyde Park and affordable.

Room Tip: Top floor over looking Sussex Garden Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denis_morrissey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our website clearly states the facilities we offer. The restaurant offers a bar and meal services. We provide PCs for guests and WiFi access in the reception area, as with many hotels in the area we have to charge for WiFI in the bedrooms.
Thank you for taking the time for leaving a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

short stay for London visit, hotel far better than expected after reading other reviews. room spotless & very comfortable, staff extremely helpful as we arrived earlier than we should to check & was still shown to our room, good hot powerful shower & plenty of soft clean towels.
room was a little on the smaller side but all other positives out way this. definitely recommend this hotel to others well worth the money

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review. Feedback is greatly valued.
Westpoint Hotel is glad you and your family enjoyed your stay.
We hope to welcome you to Westpoint Hotel again in the future.
Kind regards,
Westpoint Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Loved the stay, loved the service. Reception: all great people (specially Catarina, Pedro and Virginia). They all friendly and ready to help. Rooms are nice for a short stay, and breakfast is good as well. Thank you everyone for making our holidays better. Will come back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Micaela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear guest, We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you wrote a review. We appreciate it. Wishing you a very nice day and looking forward to welcoming you again in a near future. Kind regards, Abbeycourt &Westpoint Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights with a couple of friends. We had a triple room with a double bed and a single bed, which were comfy and clean. Rooms are small but ok for a few nights. Bathroom is also small but again, manageable and wasn't really a problem for us.

Receptionists were friendly and helpful, not quite sure what some of the reviews mean by the receptionists being rude!

Hotel is very clean and in a fairly good location, around a 5 minute walk from Paddington tube station where you can easily get all over the city.

I would say it's very good value for money for a London hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abby107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking your time to review your stay at Westpoint Hotel.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your short stay at our hotel and positively benefited from our facilities.
Westpoint Hotel hopes to welcome you and your friends on many of your future visits to London.

Kind regards,
Westpoint Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Small but very clean room. excellent location..close to paddington train and tube station. Staff were charming and friendly..The only real negative was a breakfast not much choice and No Toast!!!.good for one night..

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Eweli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review. We welcome all feedback in order to provide the best for our guests.
Westpoint Hotel is glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to welcome you and your friends on many future visits of yours.

Kind regards,
Westpoint Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro Cornwall
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We spent two nights at the Westpoint and found the hotel to be clean and quiet and very conveniently situated near to Paddington Train Station.
It was quiet and we had two good nights sleep.
The bathroom was small but the shower was good, lacked shelves to put your toiletries on.
There are plenty of places to eat within less than a five minute walk and the hotel is situated in a leaf lined avenue close to Hyde Park.
Breakfast is served downstairs in the restaurant and was a self service buffet style of hot and cold food. The coffee was much better than the instant in our bedroom and were were disappointed when the waitress stopped us from taking our second mug of coffee up to our room!
The only real negative was our room was on the small side (but more than adequate for a two night city break) The windows are small and we overlooked a back small courtyard which made the room feel rather dark. It was cool and cloudy when we visited but we imagine if it was really warm weather it would feel airless and very warm in the bedroom.
However the staff were charming and helpful and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room with a brighter outlook with bigger windows ... however we don't kno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaTruroCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing thoughts about your stay. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and are looking forward to many more visits from you. For your next visit please write request for a spacious room and we will make sure that you get satisfied.

Kind regards,
Westpoint Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.0 mi away
Abbey Court Hotel
Abbey Court Hotel
#775 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aspen Suites Hyde Park
Aspen Suites Hyde Park
#796 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rhodes Hotel
Rhodes Hotel
#303 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tudor Court Hotel
Tudor Court Hotel
#781 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#481 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stylotel
Stylotel
#543 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westpoint Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westpoint Hotel

Property: Westpoint Hotel
Address: 168-172 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 1TP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #766 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Westpoint Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable and convenient Central London Hotel. Location: Our Paddington hotel is situated in the midst of the peaceful tree-lined avenue of Sussex Gardens close to Marble Arch and Kensington Gardens. The budget (do we need to say this at this stage?) hotel is served by the Heathrow Express, with excellent transport links. Paddington underground and Main line stations, Lancaster Gate station and Hyde Park are a 3 minute walk away. We offer 15-minute transit times to Heathrow International Airport by Heathrow Express. Westpoint hotel offers easy access to London’s top tourist attractions and landmarks including the Royal Albert Hall, Buckingham Palace, Kensington Palace, the Houses of Parliament, Madame Tussauds. If you are a shopping fan we offer easy access to Westfield Shopping Centres in West London and Stratford, Oxford Street, Bond Street, boutiques in Carnaby Street and Nottinghill. Enjoy breathtaking skyline views from the London Eye and enjoy the nightlife in Piccadilly and Leicester Square as well London’s west end offering theatre and performance venues. There is always a good time to visit London. With a packed calendar from international concerts, exhibitions, carnivals to sporting events and local attractions including horse riding in Hyde Park. The London Tourist hop-on and hop-off bus is right on our door step offering an excellent opportunity for sight-seeing at your leisure. If you are looking for hotels with easy access to central London, budget hotels in Paddington or hotels near Hyde Park, the Central London Hotel, Westpoint Hotel is your premier choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Westpoint Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westpoint Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing