We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's budget...”
Review of Sara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sara Hotel
Ranked #678 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 22 March 2011

Okay, I've stayed in great budget hotels and not so great budget hotels. This is somewhere in the middle. Positives: a free breakfast, yes it was just cereal, toast, fruit, yogurt, coffee and juice, but hey that's quite a bit. I didn't mind. Great location with a 5 min walk to the Earl's Court Tube station. A few minutes in either direction to other restaurants and a Marks and Spencer. Quiet street. The "concierge" was nice, the housekeeper was a little odd. She asked me if there were any states for "white people only!" The room was tiny but it had it's own shower. TV worked. Bed was okay and made up every day by the odd housekeeper. Free WiFi in rooms.
Only Negatives: the general noise from other guests: slamming doors late at night, noise through the walls, etc. But I guess that's expected from these B&B's in London. Ear plugs blocked most of it.
The place could use a general refurbishment but again, it wasn't too bad and I was in LONDON!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank azdemocrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

97 - 103 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2011

Ideally situated close to 2 tube stations, theatres all within 15 min tube and walk. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was small {basement} but clean and airy, ensuite shower good. Room perfect as only used as a base, the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was good. Will use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2011

Great Location just across west brompton Tube station. Nice neghbourhood and fast free wifi. decent sized room. However it could do wtih a refurbishment. Staff were polite and kind, although once the housekeeper forgot to change the towels and do the beds. This was soon rectified. The overall experience is adequate for the price paid. If i had to go to london at the lowest possible price, i would not hesitate to go again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wannabinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

For 50 pounds a night you get what you pay for. Hotel was clean, safe and generally good. The rooms were tiny, but clean. The breakfast isn't great, but again for 50 pounds I was surprised they even had free breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahjeaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

I stay in a lot of budget priced hotels (around £50 per night) in London and this was the worst value and most depressing ever.

At half the price it may have been acceptable, but believe me there are much better deals available for the prices quoted.

Also be aware that on its website it says (and still does) "Each room has it own private shower & toilet" but actually when I got there, I was told this was not the case because my room was booked through an online agency - very misleading. Bathroom and toilet was up two sets of stairs.

Lock on the cupboard-sized room had been modified so you could not lock it from the inside when you were asleep (see pics). Bait box for mice/rats found under the bed (see pic)

Breakfast poor but seeing as it was seemingly only prepared from a cupboard in the hallway, that's of no real surprise.

I was only there to sleep for one night but felt sorry for any tourists staying longer, who were needlessly paying over the odds for apathetic service and a spartan breakfast.

In big letters behind the reception desk it says "No refunds"... You don't need to be a genius to work out why they have chosen to say that. To so openly say, whatever level of service or quality of room you get, we never give any refunds, should be enough to make you look elsewhere.

By the way, I post lots of reviews and give feedback to hotels - this is the first where I've said things are anywhere this bad.

Yes this isn't promoted as a top notch hotel, but for what you pay, you can reasonably expect more than this. It would be reasonable value at half the price

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Balanced_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

We are a large 7 member family and we enjoy our holidays in London staying for 6 nights in Sara hotel. Its a small, friendly, clean hotel with two nearby tube stations.We would like to thank especially Mohammed who was very helpful and friendly.
Vasos and Yerasimos from Cyprus.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mravdimou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2010

I spent two nights here while attending a conference at Earl's Court. I was pleassantly surprised by the Sara Hotel.
Location: fantastic! It's on a quiet residential street (hence quiet at night) but is only a short walk from two Tube stations, and close to a lively shopping street with plenty of places to eat (at affordable prices). It's also just round the corner from the exhibition centre.
Staff: I had only limited interaction with the staff, but they seemed friendly and helpful.
Facilities: My single room had its own ensuite facilities (small area but perfectly functional). Also tea/coffee making facilities, and a hairdrier, plus a TV. There was even free Wifi! (ask for the password). It's true the furnishings were rather worn and shabby, but everything worked OK, and it seemed clean enough.
Breakfast: no cooked breakfast, just a selection of cold options (and not in huge quantities). But if you have a large appetite you can always find a nearby cafe.
In brief: very good indeed for this price point. If you don't plan to spend lots of time in your hotel, then this is perfectly adequate, and the price is hard to beat.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PinkWellies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#720 of 1,077 in London
432 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Jim Hotel
Lord Jim Hotel
#664 of 1,077 in London
334 reviews
Earls Court
Boka Hotel
Boka Hotel
#763 of 1,077 in London
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tudor Court Hotel
#823 of 1,077 in London
638 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
Travelodge London Fulham
Travelodge London Fulham
#495 of 1,077 in London
477 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
Ibis London Earls Court
Ibis London Earls Court
#469 of 1,077 in London
4,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sara Hotel

Address: 15 Eardley Crescent | Earl's Court, London SW5 9JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #678 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £53 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sara Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sara Hotel is Offering free Wi-Fi and continental breakfasts, Sara Hotel is just 300 metres from Earl's Court Exhibition Centre. Earl's Court Underground Station is a 10-minute walk away. The traditional bedrooms at Sara Hotel each have a private shower room. Rooms also feature a hairdryer and TV, and ironing facilities are also available. Continental breakfasts are served daily in the spacious dining room, including fresh coffee, fruit juices and cereals. There is a great range of international restaurants just a short walk away. Situated just a 10-minute walk from the famous Cromwell Road, The Sara Hotel is 15 minutes' walk from the lively Kensington High Street. Hyde Park is only 1.5 Miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sara Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing