We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for London Sightseeing”
Review of MK Hotel London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
MK Hotel London
Ranked #94 of 563 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I have no reservations when it comes to recommending this hotel for London sight seeing. It is a very clean place it could be seen as one enter. It has automated entry and the people manning the reception were extremely friendly.

The top floor room we were staying had slanting windows which I did not like. But when we shifted to the second floor it was a normal room of medium size with a very clean bathroom and rest of the infrastructure.

My only complaint about the room is that watching TV is bit cumbersome and uncomfortable. One can sit on the bed and watch but the panel behind you head is bothersome.

The location of the hotel is excellent for the London traveller. All relevant buses e.g No 14 with a night service is only 50 M away. and the bus halt in on the Putney Bridge!!.
This service serve London theatre circuit too. It is the NO 22 I think leads you to the Museums parks and London shopping.

The underground is about 1 KM away and the surface train is about 1/2 Km. There are some good restaurants and two large parks by the river as well. An evening stroll in the summer is invigorating.

if you are not happy with the cold breakfast at the hotel there are plenty places which offer full English breakfast for 5/7 pounds and with a full river view.
If one needs a quite place convenient relatively low cost place to do London sight seeing this is it.

Room Tip: Second floor but unfortunately not on the river side as these are noisy. But if you can tolerate lit...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wsefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
There are newer reviews for MK Hotel London
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

This was a rather strange but not unpleasant experience. The MK Hotel is situated in an office block and the rooms have a cold corporate feeling to them: industrial-quality carpets, spartan fixtures, etc. Office workers share the same building. There is an automated check-in device on the exterior, which I would imagine will confuse a lot of people and is not exactly safe late at night. I was very disappointed with my initial room. It was on the second floor and looked out directly onto Putney Bridge Road, which is a very busy thoroughfare. The windows were only single glazed and the traffic sounds were very loud. The other problem was that I had specifically asked for a double room when I booked and instead I was given two singles. The two singles are in one frame with a gap in the centre and thus cannot be pushed together and used like a double. I don't understand this configuration as it would suit no one. When I complained, the receptionist was initially hesitant and then gave me a room at the rear of the building. It was a vast improvement: quiet, double bed, more comfortable. I am not sure why the MK Hotel had ignored my original request for a quiet double room but since I had booked through an agency perhaps they have a policy of giving guests who reserve through their own website better rooms. Apart from that everything was fine about my stay. The hotel is clean and well maintained. Breakfast was good and was on a more European model. WiFi was free, although bizarrely it was routed through Germany so that I was unable to stream Netflix which is unavailable in that country. There are lots of shops and restaurants in Putney and central London is only about 20 minutes by tube, but be prepared for crowded carriages at rush hour.

Room Tip: Insist on a room on the other side of the building from Putney Bridge Road; there is no double-glazi...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnL63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Central London is getting ridiculously expensive, so I am finding I need to stay further out to find somewhere that's good quality, but still within our expenses budget...and this place fits the bill. Also it is direct on the District Line in to London; Blackfriars, Temple, Cannon St are all on the same line. There are also ample buses round Putney to take you to tube stations and in to London. I actually walked from Putney Bridge tube, over the footbridge (follow signs for the Thames Path), down the steps, then a right - left - right and the hotel is just across the road, about 5-10 minutes depending on how many bags you're carrying! Staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was really quite pleasant; cereals, yoghurts, pastries, meats and cheeses, breads and jam/peanut butter/nutella, fruit juice and hot drinks. There are shops within a 5 minute walk; M+S and Waitrose are handy for bits of food. There is also a Brazilian and an Italian restaurant within a 2 minute walk. All the shops and restaurant are out the door - left - then left at the T junction. The restaurants are on the corner on the left and the shops a bit further along. Free WiFi was also welcome. I have booked to stay here again in October, which means the bed was definitely comfortable and I got a decent nights sleep!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Really disappointed. .the photos showed very contemporary clean. Rooms .we were staying to attend n evening function . Staff were rude and the room was very basic and disappointing . Bed sloped towards the head board and was uncomfortable . Breakfast ok but that was the only saving grace .sorry don't often give bad reviews but felt this deserves it !

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dmcc_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

Excellent location, smart functional fuss free rooms. Good size, good shower, very clean. Didn't use the outside check in, the guy on the desk waved us in, so can't comment there. There is road noise as windows are thin. Could do with curtains or thicker blinds, as room is light very early. Breakfast is good, just enough of everything.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

in Putney great for Wimbledon and visit London well worth staying for a short stay staff very friendly and helpful breakfast continental but very good plenty of toast cereal and eggs fruit juice rooms basic but very clean very noisy in front as main road is in the front free wi fi about 10 min walk to the tube good shops in Putney high street and witherspoons and the boat house 5mins walk

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tidgypud_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I liked the hotel room, the breakfast and the same were really nice when around. What let it down was the outside check in, I felt really unsafe putting my card details in and it didn't work so I had to bang on the door for someone to let me in - which was really frustrating after a long drive. I also didnt like the electronic door opening and closing at night time - there was plenty of time for someone to sneak in behind you which was very unsafe. My other gripe was the room temperature - it was either really really hot, or became really really cold when you put the air conditonning on - which we couldnt do on our first night as there was no staff around so we had to sleep in a boiling on room. However, my gripes aside - the room was really nice and the breakfast is excellent!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vaughanio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
The Lodge Hotel, Putney
The Lodge Hotel, Putney
#307 of 1,072 in London
1,329 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
Crowne Plaza London - Battersea
Clapham / Battersea 
Brewers Inn
Brewers Inn
#511 of 1,072 in London
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MK Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MK Hotel London

Address: 317 Putney Bridge Road, London SW15 2PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 563 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: £76 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MK Hotel London 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
London, the capital city of the United Kingdom, attracts many visitors. It is a city with history, art and culture as well as the city of fashion, design and nonstop entertainment.Our hotel is located in London Putney a busy little district in the southwest of the city. Numerous pubs and stores are just around the corner as well as the bank of the Thames. The tube station Putney bridge is only a few walking minutes away. From there the district line takes you in only 15 minutes to the heart of London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your MK Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing