We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“verry nice!”
Review of The California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The California
Ranked #400 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2013

It has small rooms but if your a solo person you ask for a double you get a bigger room that`s just right.in size. A lot of the hard working friendly staff seem to be eastern European or some sort of Russian, though there are some Brits. The beds are comfortable and the breakfast is very good. the rooms are modern and simple. there is a small closet for luggage if you need to flex your room usage. (say you arrive before your rooms ready.) One bit of inconvenience to warn about, there are lots of steep stairs, and the hallways between rooms upstairs can be narrow. but compared to a similar property in London I have reviewed, it is much better. ( i wont say other than the other property goes by initials PP, and is worse, but ill leave it there.) Like a lot of the smaller microtells in the king's cross area it was built in an old subdivided block mini-masion like the sort you see as exterior on upstairs downstairs, and so i 'm sure fitting a hotel in is a trick and a half, but i think thev`e managed alright and ive no serious complaints.

Room Tip: ask for one more person s bed than your party has to make sure you get the right sized room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,563 - 1,569 of 2,134 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013

Staid in this hotel for two nights 13th - 14th aug 2013, great little hotel, after minner check in prob was sorted out, were in a room on top floor well kepted clean, nice bathroom not much water pressure to shower but managed. Breakfast was good hotel going through little bit renovation beside reception, also nice small outside space at back of hotel with chairs and table. I felt aircon would also help, also there is no lift could be a problem to some with heavy cases, would i stay again yes

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hendoDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I made this booking on the fly while stranded in London due to the snow. My only criteria was for it to be close to Kings Cross.

The California Hotel seemed OK in the pictures, but the reality was somewhat different.

The man who greeted us in the middle of the night wasn't terribly friendly. He kept reminding us that we had got a good deal and that rooms should have been £200+ per night... Seriously, if I paid that much I might have really taken issue with the state of the place.

No hot water, shower didn't work properly and the towels didn't smell that clean.

There might be a lift, but our greeter did not point it out. There was no help upstairs with our luggage. The room was small & a bit smelly. The only refreshments were from a badly stocked vending machine.

OK if you are stuck, but do not attempt to stay here any longer than a single night for the ease of the location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oknijbub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Travelled with 2 children and booked a family room which was lovely and spacious. The hotel is in a perfect location 2 minutes from kings cross station on a lovely quiet Victorian street. The hotel is very clean and staff are polite and helpful. Breakfast was beautiful, buffet style with plenty of choice. Highly recommended and fantastic price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pickets123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Very handy location for mainline and underground stations. Although we were aware that breakfast was advertised as 7 - 9, when we said that we had to be at the Eurostar for 7, we were told that we could have a cooked breakfast at 6.30, very helpful.
No lift - we were on the 4th floor, with narrow stairwells this could be a problem for some. We were however offered a ground floor room but as we were there on a very hot night we preferred to be able to have the windows wide open as there was no air conditioning or fans. The room was small but typical for this class of London hotel, bathroom was smartly decorated and both were very clean. Would use again if travelling through Kings Cross / St Pancras.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I booked a accommodation for one night in this hotel near King's Cross in London as I was arriving into town late and unable to get home to east sussex - it is clean, and surprisingly quiet. I had a small single room with a wetroom shower and had an extremely restful night. Breakfast is basic, but cooked and quick. The main downside is the warren of corridors along which I had to manoeuvre a heavy case. Extremely good value at £60.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mhairilawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

This hotel has a great location, close to St Pancras and King´s Cross station but that is the only thing it has. There is no elevator, and a very narrow staircase, so if your a carrying luggage it is very uncomfortable.
My room had no air conditioning, so it was hot (I travelled in July).There was no Wifi in my room and part of the hotel was suffering a renovation so I had to check my e mail in standing up in the reception! On the same trip I stayed at a nearby hotel with much better amenities for a similar price.
On the bright side, the room and the bathroom were clean but the mattress was not comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Celia Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#270 of 1,081 in London
2,078 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#300 of 1,081 in London
1,788 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#143 of 1,081 in London
2,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#557 of 1,081 in London
954 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Euro Hotel
The Euro Hotel
#453 of 1,081 in London
747 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The California

Address: 4-8 Belgrove Street, London WC1H 8AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #400 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Price Range: £77 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The California 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The California is a charming, modern and quirky bed and breakfast, less than a minute's walk away from King's Cross and St. Pancras stations. Our 60 stylishly refurbished rooms, each one cosy and comfortable, are spread over four Georgian townhouses, and we've retained as much of the original architecture as possible; our windows, corridors and staircases are all original. This means that we don't have a lift, but we do keep our reception open 24 hours a day. We have high speed WiFi is throughout the hotel and have a fantastic little bar, lounge and private terrace for our guests to enjoy. We serve a great breakfast, and this is complimentary when you book directly with us, on our website or over the phone. Welcome to The California London. Visit anytime, explore every time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing