We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Directly opposite St Pancras Station - a gem”
Review of The California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The California
Ranked #403 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Just off Euston Road on the left handsideof Belgrove Road the California is recognisable by two illiminated black and glitter orbs atop the gateposts. The welcome is friendly and the reception is made up of quirkily placed old suitcases. The common parts are very clean and this follows throughout the hotel and in the bedrooms. I was delighted to find through quite a narrow entrance way that the bathroom was quite spacious and not ony had a bath but also a rainhead shower as well as a straight spray shower. The water was hot pressure good and made for a warm and comfortable rest in a slightly hard bed, again with very clean and fresh linen. Tv and plenty of tea and coffee on a tray in the wardrobe. A decent Bodum kettle. A good hairdrier on the wall. Everything for a pleasant over night stay in London for busines sor shopping. No dinner or fancy seating areas, but there are comfy sofas and a pleasant outside seating space for more clement weather. Breakfast is served in the lower floor room offering juices, continental breakfast as well as well cooked and plentiful sausages, bacon, tomatoes and sadly hard poached eggs. I do enjoy a soft yolk! Toast etc. Sufficient to send you on your way to enjoy what the City has to offer. Very reasonable cost for the amenity and would recommend California for shopping and a city break as well as a quick overnight on business

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NickyCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,018)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,417 - 1,423 of 2,018 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2014

I stayed one night after a late flight into London & and before an early train from King's Cross. This would have been a 4 star review if it hadn't been for the many flights of stairs - I had a large suitcase. Room was fine & staff were friendly but I won't stay again unless I have a very small bag!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rebshep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed here valentines for one night, not for a romantic night away, but for the central location. Found the front desk / reception staff rather rude on arrival, with no welcome when we walked through the door. (Firm believer in first impressions count...) Our room was clean, comfortable & cosy. Bathroom was tiny, but not an issue for me being only 5"2. Would recommend a stay to anyone who needs a room for location convenience rather than a relaxing night away in the big smoke.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lulabelle27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Nice clean basic room. Everything we needed. Breakfast was good and location to train station was faultless. Straightforward check in and out and was able to check in and leave bags between train at 12 and getting to room at 11pm. Would definately stay again if visiting London.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Poshbirdclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Decided to stay at The California last minute as a Valentines Day treat! Hotel is very stylish and in a fantastic location opposite Kings Cross (down a side street, so not on the main road). It has fantastic decor, loved the reception desk (very different!) and the Art Deco furniture. Our room was quite small but well thought-out, making the best use of the space, with a wet-room shower and well-placed shelving and mirror for getting ready! Bed was comfortable and had s good nights sleep. Breakfast was included, did not think the breakfast room was quite in keeping with the rest of the hotel, but it was clean and there was a buffet style breakfast with hot & cold options available. Would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We arrived at the hotel very late because of transport difficulties. The staff were very kind on the phone and on arrival assuring us this wasn't a problem. The room itself was cramped with a very small toilet area. Sadly we realised during the night there was a problem with the heating and we were cold! However as soon as we pointed this out to the staff they sorted it immediately.
Breakfast was a little disappointing -tinned fruit, tepid sausages, and cold toast . The staff were friendly and very welcoming though.
We chose the hotel because of its convenience to st pancras and if you are looking for somewhere not too expensive and central, it could still suit!!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank OxfordJulieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

The hotel is lovely, room was small but nice and with really tiny bathroom! Breakfast was okay but I would love to see a bit more selection. Staff was also very friendly. Location is also quite good as it is right across the Street of King's Cross station. Recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SasaNemanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex-GM-CAL, General Manager at The California, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Many thanks for reviewing our hotel.
I'm happy to hear your enjoyed your stay and we were able to make it a memorable one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#267 of 1,075 in London
2,023 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#279 of 1,075 in London
1,765 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#137 of 1,075 in London
2,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#550 of 1,075 in London
930 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Euro Hotel
The Euro Hotel
#469 of 1,075 in London
731 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The California

Address: 4-8 Belgrove Street, London WC1H 8AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#353 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £92 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The California 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The California is a charming, modern bed and breakfast, less than a minute's walk away from King's Cross and St. Pancras stations. Our 60 stylishly refurbished rooms, each one cosy and comfortable, are spread over four Georgian townhouses, and we've retained as much of the original architecture as possible; our windows, corridors and staircases are all original. This means that we don't have a lift, but we do keep our reception open 24 hours a day, include breakfast and high speed WiFi in all our rates and have just opened our new bar, lounge and private terrace for our guests to enjoy. Welcome to The California London. Visit anytime, explore every time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing