We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for location and work in London”
Review of The California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The California
Ranked #404 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I stayed here while on an internship in London. I had a fantastic single room which was very small but had everything I needed. The location was excellent as I could go out of the hotel and basically be at kings cross for the tube to anywhere within a matter of minutes. I thought it was great value for money for the location and the room was very clean and had a kettle with coffee/tea in it! The only reason why I wouldn't give my stay 5/5 was because the walls were very thin and I could hear pretty much everything from my bed and so found it difficult to sleep when people were coming in late at night. However, breakfast was fantastic, the reception was available 24/7 and the little bar area was very handy after I had checked out as well with plug sockets for laptops. Overall it made my journey to London very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ge0graphicTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,489 - 1,495 of 2,116 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the California Hotel for two weeks with a group of young people on a dance residency. The hotel staff could not have been more helpful, catering to our every need. They were there to assist is for any problems and ensured they resolved them with a smile and friendly air. Nothing was any trouble. The rooms are modern, basic, and clean; perfect for an economical stay in London and the location is ideal. I would highly recommend a stay with Alex and his lovely team.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank My_Lamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a girly trip to London to see a West End show. The staff were brilliant, the room and bathroom were clean and breakfast was good. Being so close to the train and tube stations made this a perfect location. Would definitely stay at this hotel again for a short trip.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shutterbug80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The highlight of this hotel - location. If you need to catch a train early in the morning like I need to - look no further. This hotel is situated directly opposite King Cross/St Pancras station. The room size is a bit small but for that price - it is ok. The bathroom size is quite generous, very clean and the water pressure is alright. Overall a very basic room with breakfast - I personally think it is quite a good value considering the fact that the location is just opposite St Pancras. I agree that the sound proofing could be better. The other minor complaint - you will need to carry your bags up a very narrow staircase by yourself. So if you have problem with that then I would suggest you look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sxght
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Competitive price, very clean, good location, quiet with helpful staff.
Nicely decorated hotel.
I took a triple room and didn't take breakfast as we caught the first Eurostar train from St Pancras station just a short walk away.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fourcarrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The worst hotel we have ever experienced is the California Hotel in London. It's not due to tiny rooms or no storage for luggage, or no phone or fan & not the tiny bathrooms. It's because of the paper thin walls and ceilings & loud, yelling and stomping guests up until 4 AM every night, despite repeated complaints by us and other guests. The management is useless, doesn't care and prevented us from getting any sleep during our vacation. Worst hotel in the world - California in London.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JonandGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

From the moment I entered the hotel to the moment I left, I have to say I found it a very pleasant experience staying here. The staff were all very nice, the hotel clean and I absolutely loved the art deco lounge.

Room Tip: Double bed in room 107 is fixed against a wall so could prove inconvenient for one person to have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#267 of 1,076 in London
2,062 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#308 of 1,076 in London
1,781 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#140 of 1,076 in London
2,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#550 of 1,076 in London
947 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The California

Address: 4-8 Belgrove Street, London WC1H 8AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #404 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £83 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The California 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The California is a charming, modern and quirky bed and breakfast, less than a minute's walk away from King's Cross and St. Pancras stations. Our 60 stylishly refurbished rooms, each one cosy and comfortable, are spread over four Georgian townhouses, and we've retained as much of the original architecture as possible; our windows, corridors and staircases are all original. This means that we don't have a lift, but we do keep our reception open 24 hours a day. We have high speed WiFi is throughout the hotel and have a fantastic little bar, lounge and private terrace for our guests to enjoy. We serve a great breakfast, and this is complimentary when you book directly with us, on our website or over the phone. Welcome to The California London. Visit anytime, explore every time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing