We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Family Weekend Location”
Review of The California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The California
Ranked #403 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed with my daughter and elderly aunt for the weekend. Some hotels don't allow 3 adults to share a room, so this was ideal. I asked for a ground floor room, as my aunt struggles with stairs and there is no lift, which they gave us. Room was spotless and had everything we needed. Location is excellent for Euston station and Kings Cross. There is a subway close by, so you don't have to cross the very busy Euston Road to the station. The bar and breakfast room are well decorated and comfortable. Breakfast was good, buffet style. The staff on reception were very helpful and friendly. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline1973_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,025)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,409 - 1,415 of 2,025 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

I stayed here while on an internship in London. I had a fantastic single room which was very small but had everything I needed. The location was excellent as I could go out of the hotel and basically be at kings cross for the tube to anywhere within a matter of minutes. I thought it was great value for money for the location and the room was very clean and had a kettle with coffee/tea in it! The only reason why I wouldn't give my stay 5/5 was because the walls were very thin and I could hear pretty much everything from my bed and so found it difficult to sleep when people were coming in late at night. However, breakfast was fantastic, the reception was available 24/7 and the little bar area was very handy after I had checked out as well with plug sockets for laptops. Overall it made my journey to London very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ge0graphicTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the California Hotel for two weeks with a group of young people on a dance residency. The hotel staff could not have been more helpful, catering to our every need. They were there to assist is for any problems and ensured they resolved them with a smile and friendly air. Nothing was any trouble. The rooms are modern, basic, and clean; perfect for an economical stay in London and the location is ideal. I would highly recommend a stay with Alex and his lovely team.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank My_Lamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a girly trip to London to see a West End show. The staff were brilliant, the room and bathroom were clean and breakfast was good. Being so close to the train and tube stations made this a perfect location. Would definitely stay at this hotel again for a short trip.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shutterbug80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The highlight of this hotel - location. If you need to catch a train early in the morning like I need to - look no further. This hotel is situated directly opposite King Cross/St Pancras station. The room size is a bit small but for that price - it is ok. The bathroom size is quite generous, very clean and the water pressure is alright. Overall a very basic room with breakfast - I personally think it is quite a good value considering the fact that the location is just opposite St Pancras. I agree that the sound proofing could be better. The other minor complaint - you will need to carry your bags up a very narrow staircase by yourself. So if you have problem with that then I would suggest you look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sxght
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Competitive price, very clean, good location, quiet with helpful staff.
Nicely decorated hotel.
I took a triple room and didn't take breakfast as we caught the first Eurostar train from St Pancras station just a short walk away.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fourcarrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The worst hotel we have ever experienced is the California Hotel in London. It's not due to tiny rooms or no storage for luggage, or no phone or fan & not the tiny bathrooms. It's because of the paper thin walls and ceilings & loud, yelling and stomping guests up until 4 AM every night, despite repeated complaints by us and other guests. The management is useless, doesn't care and prevented us from getting any sleep during our vacation. Worst hotel in the world - California in London.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JonandGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#276 of 1,076 in London
2,025 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#285 of 1,076 in London
1,767 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#139 of 1,076 in London
2,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#571 of 1,076 in London
932 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Euro Hotel
The Euro Hotel
#455 of 1,076 in London
731 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The California

Address: 4-8 Belgrove Street, London WC1H 8AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#353 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £92 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The California 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The California is a charming, modern bed and breakfast, less than a minute's walk away from King's Cross and St. Pancras stations. Our 60 stylishly refurbished rooms, each one cosy and comfortable, are spread over four Georgian townhouses, and we've retained as much of the original architecture as possible; our windows, corridors and staircases are all original. This means that we don't have a lift, but we do keep our reception open 24 hours a day, include breakfast and high speed WiFi in all our rates and have just opened our new bar, lounge and private terrace for our guests to enjoy. Welcome to The California London. Visit anytime, explore every time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing