We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Appaling service..”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The California
Ranked #367 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Appaling service..”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Stayed to nights in this hotel which has a great location, but the breakfast personnel lacks the most basic skills as to hospitality. Came 30 minutes before breakfast was over but personnel was more interested in breakfasting themselves than helping the custumers... Buffet was almost empty and we asked for more, but were told we could have come earlier. We replied that we were actually well inside their breakfast hours, but nothing helped. "It is not because you are the customer that you are right" was the reply.... Never experienced anything like that in the UK.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Birgit F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    735
    337
    107
    68
See reviews for
392
558
162
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed here while working away from home. Very friendly staff, excellent location right opposite St Pancras/Kings Cross stations. Room was comfortable and good wifi access. Breakfast was okay and served very efficiently.

Room Tip: Some of rooms seem to be basement rooms with velux windows. Private but not much natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

A very clean hotel with staff that are very keen to please. The room was was fine but on a hot day, as it was, there was a desperate need for air conditioning.
We had a great english breakfast, buffet style. Not an extensive choice but something for everyone.
They don't have a lift so be ready for a big climb on narrow stairs if, as we had, a room on the 3rd floor. They made a big effort to find a room on a lower floor but we ended up with 2nd floor. Better but still difficult and exhausting with bags. They don't offer assistance.
We will happily stay there again ( with guarantee of ground floor room) as it is so very close to
St Pancras station.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room which will be easier and cooler
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Planetfoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We booked this hotel because it is very close (walking distance ) to St Pancreas Station.
Our room was on the third floor with no lift. Lots of awkward steps and narrow passages .Not good for big suitcases. Room was big enough for an overnight stay and was clean and reasonably well equipped . Not the comfiest bed I have ever slept on
However our room was once obviously the attic with the window in the sloping roof. The window was a Velux type that opened wide and if you were not careful it would easy to fall out. Perhaps that is a bit extreme but I find it hard to believe that there are no safety measures in place
Breakfast was included and enough.
Staff were helpful and efficient

Room Tip: Ask for lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Booked a triple room when we travelled to London for the weekend. Excellent location right next to kings cross station & great for tube stations. The whole hotel was gorgeous & the breakfast was really super cooked breakfast, cereals,toast the whole works. The beds were lovely & comfy & the room had a massive TV on the wall. When we arrived we put our bags in the luggage room as we couldn't check in till 3pm but that didn't matter. We also did this on the Sunday until it was time to collect our luggage & get on the train back home. I would truly recommend this hotel to anyone & I will certainly be returning if & when I travel to London again. Thankyou for a lovely weekend xx

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cassclio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Great accommodation, I did opt to book a family room even though there was only two of us so we got more space. The bathroom was great, room was contemporary and very clean. Even better was the service, very helpful. We did have some trouble getting our large luggage up and down the stairs but that was the only issue. Wished we were staying more then one night.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Booked this hotel to be close to St Pancras for the Euro Star in the morning. It's a 2 minute walk, perfect. The hotel is small, clean, quirky. We had a small room but perfect for a one night stay; tea coffee facilities in the room. Quiet location, great sleep and an excellent cooked breakfast, what more could we ask for? Would use this hotel again for similar trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#249 of 1,090 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#114 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,260 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#235 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#550 of 1,090 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Kings Cross Inn Hotel
#877 of 1,090 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The California

Property: The California
Address: 4 - 8 Belgrove Street, London E1 0NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#353 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The California 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The California is a charming, modern bed and breakfast, less than a minute's walk away from King's Cross and St. Pancras stations. Our 60 stylishly refurbished rooms, each one cosy and comfortable, are spread over four Georgian townhouses, and we've retained as much of the original architecture as possible; our windows, corridors and staircases are all original. This means that we don't have a lift, but we do keep our reception open 24 hours a day, include breakfast and high speed WiFi in all our rates and have just opened our new bar, lounge and private terrace for our guests to enjoy. Welcome to The California London. Visit anytime, explore every time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing