We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Ranked #176 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Arrived at the hotel around noon. We were able to check in ready for our room when it became available at 2pm. I found the check-in staff to be slow, surly and unhelpful.
The hotel was in a great location, within walking distance of Victoria station and underground.
Our room was relaxing and clean. The bed was very comfortable, bathroom spotless with a good selection of toiletries etc. Everything at hand in the room e.g. tea, coffee etc.
Upon leaving we had a fast and easy check-out which was far better.
Highly recommend this hotel for the location alone.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TSE27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear trevor E,

Thank you for taking the time to place a review on Trip Advisor for you recent stay with us. We were pleased to read that you overall had a great stay with us, with the exception of the arrival experience. I hope to establish who it was that dealt with you on your arrival to the hotel as this is not acceptable. I am delighted to read that the departure experience was a reverse on the arrival experience and I will ensure that the receptionist is recognised for offerring a great experience, despite this being on your departure from the hotel.

Thank you again for the review and I sincerely hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back again soon and so you can see the improvements that have been made.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,921
    1,016
    318
    114
    55
See reviews for
645
1,472
152
731
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Excellent, safe location within walking distance to Buckingham Palace, St James tube station, the Big Ben, Westminster Abbey, The Eye etc. Lovely room with free wifi! A great English pub up the road plus a handy convenience store a couple of doors down.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmilyLily82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear EmilyLily82,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us from back in the summer of 2013. We are pleased to read from the review that you enjoyed your stay with us and the facilities that we have to offer in the hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed the hotel's fabulous location and this allowed you to explore London easily.

Thank you again for the review, we hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We booked this hotel as it was within walking distance of the theatre so the location was excellent - also well placed for other attractions such as Houses of Parliament, Buckingham Palace, Westminster Abbey etc.

All the staff are very friendly and helpful and we like the car parking valet arrangment.

The reception area is lovely but unfortunately as soon as we got out of the lift for our floor, it struck us as very shabby and badly in need of redecoratiing etc. We had booked a king room but the bed was just a normal double. The windows were very old and grubby and in need of a few coats of paint - no double glazing - so as we overlooked a building site - it was very noisy - but the work did stop about 7pm. The good thing about the old sash window was that we could open it during the night as the ac was not very efficient!

The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet - just that compared with other hotels in this class - it was disappointing. Also, the breakfast was not included which incurred another £40 to our bill.

But having said all that - the hotel is in an excellent location and the staff from the reception to the ladies changing the rooms are all first class.

Room Tip: Ask for one which is not overlooking the building site
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Rosie D,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor for your recent stay with us. Whilst we were pleased to read that you enjoyed some aspects of your stay, we were disappointed to read that you were not entirely happy with the entire experience.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the slight disappointment. I will be ensuring that we review the room that you stayed in and ensuring that the room is presented to the very highest condition and the air conditioning is working correctly. I am sorry that you were disturbed slightly from the construction works taking place at the rear of the hotel, unfortunately this is beyond our direct control and the working times are now being followed. The hotel does offer both Room Only and Breakfast inclusive rates and I hope that on a future stay you are able to choose a rate that includes breakfast and so you can enjoy this experience again.

Thank you again for the review for your stay with us, I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed this hotel a lot, the staff was gentle and helpful, luxurious atmosphere, many facilities : fitness centre, Bistro 51 (breakfast buffet was awesome), the Bank restaurant is great.. We loved the Hamptons bar, high class design in the hotel hall..we will definitely visit it again :)

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Luisalully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Luisalully,

Thank you for your review for your recent stay with us. The team and I are pleased to read from your review that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. We hope to be you hotel of choice when returning to London based from this stay experience.

Thank you again for taking the time to review your stay with us.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#53 of 1,069 in London
3,023 reviews
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#189 of 1,069 in London
3,994 reviews
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#32 of 1,069 in London
834 reviews
Westminster
The Rubens at the Palace
The Rubens at the Palace
#73 of 1,069 in London
4,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel

Property: St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Address: 54 Buckingham Gate, London SW1E 6AF, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza London - St. James)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Spa Hotel in London
#91 Business Hotel in London
#129 Family Hotel in London
#139 Romantic Hotel in London
#139 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a country that values understatement, St. James' Court is an English classic typifying the concealed charm of one of Britain's finest hotels. The custom of St. James’ Court, A Taj Hotel is the distinctive choice for more than service with a smile. With a distinguished pedigree shaped over more than a century, this discreet Victorian masterpiece with its famous Shakespearean Courtyard is perfectly placed between Buckingham Palace and the Houses of Parliament in a historic enclave marking the centre of power. Crisp and elegant, with an easy charm that’s reserved, yet attentive, we strive to make each visit more pleasurable and memorable. Exceeding the expectations of today’s discerning traveller, St. James' Court is a slice of the past served up on a contemporary platter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London - St. James Hotel London
London Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing