We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Ranked #161 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

This was our first stay at the St. James' Court hotel and it certainly won't be our last. Both front of house and housekeeping staff were extremely courteous and polite and nothing was too much trouble. The bar areas and restaurant are extremely pleasant and welcoming.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Jenny B,

Thank you for completing such a great review. The team and I are delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of the stay and in particular the service from all areas of the hotel.

We look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,063 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,723
    917
    282
    94
    47
See reviews for
548
1,334
135
660
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

So very clean staff unbelievably polite and helpful can't do enough for you best hotel we have ever stayed in by far will definitely go back great location great area everything you need rooms brilliant superb breakfasts

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ybgghh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear ybgghh,

Thank you for the brilliant review. There is not too much I can say about this except that we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Thank you again for the review.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

This was the best hotel I ever stayed in. Perfect location, clean, comfortable, great staff. We were 5 minutes from Victoria station... main station from Gatwick. Buckingham palace was at the end of the street. Safe location and we felt comfortable walking late at night. close to Big Ben, Westminster. You should def stay here!!

Room Tip: We stayed on 7th floor, was perfect :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Karen W,

Thank your for the review, we were all thrilled to read that you enjoyed your experience at the hotel and that this was the best hotel that you had stayed in. We hope that we have an opportunity to welcome you back and enjoy our hospitality again soon.

Thank you again for the review.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Having just arrived back refreshed after the weekend staying here thanks to the Manager Edward Riches who made our stay exceptional this time . The room on the first floor more than met our requirements and easily accessible .

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dundeegirl54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear dundeegirl54,

Thank you for the review following your stay with us. The team and I are delighted that you enjoyed this return stay and that we have an opportunity to welcome you back again soon on your next trip to London.

Thank you again for the review.

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights that time still Crowne Plaza but under Indian management.
Endless breakfast queues on the weekend up to 45 minutes are not acceptable. The quality of breakfast and varieties are good. The staff by a complete fully booked hotel not organised very well. Central location, 10 min walking distance to Buckingham palace, Tower and tube are perfect. Due to position upon the tube a high floor is recommendable. Rooms are renovated and good. 4* service needs improvements.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ann-Kathrin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Ann-Kathrin B,

Thank you for the review following your stay with us in April 2013. I appreciate that your stay was some time ago, but we are continually looking at ways to improve the way we deliver great customer service and I am confident to stay that many aspects of the hotel service and product have improved in the past 12 months. I sincerely hope that we can welcome you back and so you are able to see first hand the improvements made.

Thank you again for the review.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

I was treated to a theatre trip recently, this hotel was superb, very grand looking, lovely friendly staff. Very clean and in a good quiet location. Drinks and the food were superb, breakfast was outstanding with a clean environment throughout.
I could not have asked for a better stay, very helpful staff even ordering taxis and helping to organise the smooth running of my trip.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blondie0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Suffolk1995,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and you particularly enjoyed the service provided by the team. We are equally happy to read that you enjoyed the food and drink and the breakfast in particular was good.

We hope to welcome you back sooner rather than later.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night and did not spend a great amount of time at the hotel, however we were made to feel very welcome when checking in and the room was pleasant and clean, it had all the things you would expect to find in a higher end hotel room. The corridors are in need of some tlc but this does not detract from the charm of this hotel. The bar was nice to sit and have a drink at the end of a busy day while listening to the grand piano.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Ashley172,

Thank you for the review for your stay. Despite you not spending too much time in the hotel, the team and I were pleased to read from the review that you had a great time and found the St James' Court experience a positive one. We hope to welcome you back for an extended stay sometime in the not too distant future.

Thank you again for the review.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#41 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#29 of 1,087 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Westminster
The Rubens at the Palace
The Rubens at the Palace
#89 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,975 reviews
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#181 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel

Property: St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Address: 54 Buckingham Gate, London SW1E 6AF, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza London - St. James)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Spa Hotel in London
#91 Business Hotel in London
#127 Luxury Hotel in London
#129 Family Hotel in London
#139 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a country that values understatement, St. James' Court is an English classic typifying the concealed charm of one of Britain's finest hotels. The custom of St. James’ Court, A Taj Hotel is the distinctive choice for more than service with a smile. With a distinguished pedigree shaped over more than a century, this discreet Victorian masterpiece with its famous Shakespearean Courtyard is perfectly placed between Buckingham Palace and the Houses of Parliament in a historic enclave marking the centre of power. Crisp and elegant, with an easy charm that’s reserved, yet attentive, we strive to make each visit more pleasurable and memorable. Exceeding the expectations of today’s discerning traveller, St. James' Court is a slice of the past served up on a contemporary platter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Hotelopia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London - St. James Hotel London
London Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing