We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic Central London Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Ranked #163 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A fantastic Central London Hotel”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Firstly, I was going to rate this 4 out of 5 not 5 because we were allocated a room with another guests suitcase & clothes still in the wardrobe. However, after a call to reception the duty manager quickly appeared with another room key. That was quickly followed by a complimentary plate of apples and a sincere apology!
Anyway, we stayed in a basic double on the fourth floor which was very well appointed, very clean and modern. Very comfortable bed, good shower and large sink plus a decent sized TV and closet space.
The staff were all excellent, simply excellent in every department.
Good location on Buckingham Gate very near to the a Palace, Westminster Square and the London Eye etc.
I can highly recommend this hotel but try to avoid (our first) room 212...very small and the worst view you could imagine!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karlosfandango79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear karlosfandango79,

Thank you for the review for your stay. Whilst the initial arrival experience was not one that I am happy with, I am pleased that this was rectified quickly and professionally by the team. I am pleased you liked your eventual room on the 4th floor which was one of our Executive Double rooms and the safe standard as the initial room that you were checked in to.

Thank you again for the feedback and review, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,821
    971
    300
    101
    48
See reviews for
598
1,404
143
694
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ABERDEEN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

There was good and bad here - Staff were very friendly and although the room was tiny it was clean however it just made a double but really large single. Looked straight into a wall and school playground. Hot water in bathroom far too hot, actually scalding hot reported this and was told previous customer asked for it to be hot. But no offer to turn it down only add cold. It was lucky there was no children in the room as I have grave concerns for safety. Room was very shabby and marks on walls and carpet very old. Mini bar was very empty but locked so not sure why this was the case as only had a few things in it. The noise from the playground was loud and ok if you wanted to get up early but if you are on a lea sure break then not much good. Maybe we were just unlucky however you got the feeling the hotel entrance and foyer were outstanding but the rooms were poor.

Room Tip: Ask to see room first just to be sure, I have stayed in true five stars and I would class the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brogan45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear brogan45,

Thank you for taking the time to share your indifferent stay with us at the hotel. We were disappointed to read of the issues that you have highlighted in your room. You have raised the issue already with us via our own feedback system and the issues with the shower has been escalated and the review fully reviewed. We value feedback as we strive to improve our hotel facilities and service levels and we thank you for sharing this on this forum also.

We hope to welcome you back again in the future and so you can see the improvements that we have undertaken.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Taj never let's you down . Weather it's service or food or quality you get it all at the St James court. We were booked for two nights in June and with two kids we had a family suite.
The beds were two queen size and had a separate living room attached .
The kids loved the goodies they were handed out at the checkin. And also the complimentary hot chocolate and cookies with their names on it , which was sent to the room in the evening .
We ordered room service twice which was prompt and a good selection of Indian as well as international food .
The best part of the hotel besides the excellent service is the courtyard , where you can chill and have a drink or enjoy their scrumptious high teas .
The hotel is walking distance to the Buckingham palace and the St James park. Also close by is the Westminster area and several attractions .
We loved our stay there and would definitely return .

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vbhalla75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear vbhalla75,

Thank you for the review following your recent stay with us with your family. The team and I were delighted that you enjoyed your Taj London experience. I am pleased you were able to enjoy the courtyard and enjoyed the great Afternoon Tea, it is a full meal in itself. We are pleased the kids enjoyed the Kids at Taj programme and all the goodies associated with it.

Thank you again for the feedback and review, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is a beautiful, grand hotel, matched only by it's outstanding service. I traveled alone to London for the weekend, and felt safe and well cared for, at every turn. Breakfast is great (was included in my fare). Breakfast room experienced "rush hour" on Sunday morning. A young gentleman came through the lobby offering fresh orange juice for those of us waiting for a table. This is the kind of service to expect. Only note-your room may or may not have an outlet near a mirror, so perhaps a hand-held mirror in your suitcase would be helpful.
Location is so good. Came on business, returning in October for pleasure. Wouldn't want to stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room, or one with a courtyard view. Very lovely, little noisy at night (overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Mindy W,

Thank you for the review. The team and I were delighted to read that you were happy with your stay and found the service provided by the team to be very much to your liking. We look forward to your return stay in October and so you can see the improvements that we have made between now and then.

Thank you again for the review.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sag Harbor, Ny
Level Contributor
261 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The St James Court Hotel used to be a lower end hotel and was taken over and is being renovated by Taj Hotels. It did not live up to the experience I have had at other Taj Hotels. My room was tiny as was my bathroom. It had very old stained carpet and a small bathroom with a bad toilet seat. It was on a floor that had not been renovated. There was daytime noise from the street and from construction. That being said, I was comfortable enough and the amenities - the very good restaurants and Spa and the helpful concierges bode well for the future of this hotel when the rooms are updated.

Room Tip: Many of the floors have newly renovated rooms - ask for one of them and request a quiet room. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SagHarborAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear SagHarborAlice,

Thank you for the review following your recent stay with us. This was a little bit of a mixed review and whilst we were pleased you enjoyed certain aspects of your stay, we were disappointed that you did not entirely enjoy the experience. I hope to establish where you stayed and so I can review the room thoroughly.

Thank you again for the review, we hope to welcome you back and so you can see the improvements that we are making.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The hotel is beautiful, in perfect location and the staff are very accommodating, however our room on the first floor was in sore need of refurbishing, the decor was very tired and carpets stains and poor plumbing was not expected features. On a plus side it was comfortable and clean, but shabby. Also the breakfast at the weekend struggled to accommodate the numbers so try to arrive early As thepopulate 9-10 in the morning saw queues. However once in the food was excellent.

Room Tip: Try room service for breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Sue G,

Thank you for your review. Whilst the team and I were delighted that you generally enjoyed your stay with us, there are clearly some areas for improvement. I hope to establish when you stayed and the room where you stayed and so I can investigate further in to these issues. The positives were that you found the room comfortable and the food to a high standard.

Thank you for the review, we hope to welcome you back again soon and so you can see the improvements that have been undertaken.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in this wonderful hotel...The quiet location was brilliant! Where else could you walk safely in a few minutes walk to London's main attractions. Staff throughout the hotel were very friendly and helpful . The personal touch by management of the hotel to make sure our stay was perfect really was evident throughout our stay..
After 3 full days shopping we just could not wait to relax in the hotel. The Hampton area was great for drinks ...the mid week piano player whose choice of music was fantastic was a very pleasant surprise . The 2nd longest bar in London in the hotel added yet another change in our too short of stay. The quilon restaurant in the hotel has great food and service....the vegetarian selection and quality of food is the best I have tested in the UK....when I return to London again this will be our hotel of choice

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Patrick5457,

Thank you for completing a terrific review for your recent 2 night stay with us. Having read through your review it is clear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and the staff did all they could to ensure a great experience. We are delighted to be your hotel of choice when in Lindon and look forward to your return stay soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#49 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#30 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#182 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,841 reviews
Westminster
The Rubens at the Palace
The Rubens at the Palace
#80 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel

Property: St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Address: 54 Buckingham Gate, London SW1E 6AF, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza London - St. James)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Spa Hotel in London
#91 Business Hotel in London
#128 Luxury Hotel in London
#129 Family Hotel in London
#139 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a country that values understatement, St. James' Court is an English classic typifying the concealed charm of one of Britain's finest hotels. The custom of St. James’ Court, A Taj Hotel is the distinctive choice for more than service with a smile. With a distinguished pedigree shaped over more than a century, this discreet Victorian masterpiece with its famous Shakespearean Courtyard is perfectly placed between Buckingham Palace and the Houses of Parliament in a historic enclave marking the centre of power. Crisp and elegant, with an easy charm that’s reserved, yet attentive, we strive to make each visit more pleasurable and memorable. Exceeding the expectations of today’s discerning traveller, St. James' Court is a slice of the past served up on a contemporary platter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoftTaj, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London - St. James Hotel London
London Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing