We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb hotel but The Bistro let it down!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Ranked #167 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb hotel but The Bistro let it down!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel and staff were fantastic, delighted when we received a complementary upgrade. However The Bistro let it down, no one hosting on a Thursday night so we stood around waiting a lot. The menu wasn't exciting and the food a little bland. Would definitely stay again but perhaps dine out

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Kate C,

Thank you for the review following your recent stay with us. Whilst I was pleased to read that there were several aspects of your stay that you enjoyed, I was disappointed to read of your experience in Bistro 51 during your stay. I hope to reach out to you separately to get further feedback on this experience.

Thank you again for the feedback and review, we do hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back sooner rather than later.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,778
    951
    294
    99
    47
See reviews for
580
1,371
140
681
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

St. James Court Hotel is located at a very convenient location with walking distance to Buckingham palace and is about a mile from London eye. It is a fine hotel as one can expect from Taj group. The staff is very helpful and stay is comfortable. As the building is old the rooms and corridors are small. The restaurants in the property are also very nice. Though I found the morning breakfast buffet limited in choice (as compared to other Taj properties).
But the overall experience was excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaurav G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Gaurav G,

Thank you for the review for your recent stay. We were pleased that all aspects of this stay was positive, but there is still some room for improvement when it comes to the breakfast offering. Our Executive Chef and team are continually looking for ways that we can improve the items that we do offer.

Thank you again for the review, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
169 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

The greeting and the entrance, check in smooth and courteous, rooms are big for the location that the hotel is located, modern well furnished and has all the present day needs, well appointed bath rooms. The central court yard is a pleasure to sit out for afternoon tea and snacks or a cocktails in the evenings. The break fast is well laid out and has most what one would want for a wholesome offerings. I would surely recommend this premium property for the traveller looking for a pleasurable stay in London.

Room Tip: Choose a room over looking the central court yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaytee62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Jaytee62,

Thank you for the review for your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed the experience from your arrival and throughout your stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed the use of the courtyard and we hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back again sometime soon.

Thank you again for the review.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We really enjoyed our first trip to London thanks greatly to the accommodation at St.James Court. We were upgraded on arrival and the lady at reception was very friendly. We had room service on four nights we were there due to the fact we were on the go the whole time and the food was so good, we had to try more. The service for breakfast each morning was also excellent.The hotel was also walking distance to everything you needed to see in London on a first trip. The only issue we found whatsoever was the fact that we could hear people talking in the adjoining room, and you could also hear people walking along the corridor. We would definitely go back again though.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryAnstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear KerryAnstead,

Thank you for the review following your stay as part of your first time in London. The team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found the service and the food very much to your liking. The hotel is ideally located to allow you to explore London easily.

Thank you for your review and we hope that this will not be your last trip to London or the hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
111 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed at the Taj St James Court for 4 nights. Hotel is in a stately building with a pretty courtyard and lobby. We booked when the hotel was still the Crowne Plaza St James. No problems with the new chain honoring the reservation which was nice. The rooms were decent with some features nicely renovated but some touches still seem dated. We had problems with the tub draining very slowly and the tv not working, but the hotel fixed those issues pretty quickly. The location is fantastic, about two blocks from Buckingham Palace and a block from the St James Park tube station. Victoria station is also a short walk away. Hopefully as the Taj finishes the transition, they'll update any remaining features that still need it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nybos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear nybos,

Thank you for your review following your recent 4 night stay with us. The team and I were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel to your liking. We are pleased that despite the change in management following the transition to St James' Court, you found this to a high quality level. I hope to establish the room where you stayed to ensure the 2 problems have been fully resolved.

Thank you again for the review, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Firstly, I was going to rate this 4 out of 5 not 5 because we were allocated a room with another guests suitcase & clothes still in the wardrobe. However, after a call to reception the duty manager quickly appeared with another room key. That was quickly followed by a complimentary plate of apples and a sincere apology!
Anyway, we stayed in a basic double on the fourth floor which was very well appointed, very clean and modern. Very comfortable bed, good shower and large sink plus a decent sized TV and closet space.
The staff were all excellent, simply excellent in every department.
Good location on Buckingham Gate very near to the a Palace, Westminster Square and the London Eye etc.
I can highly recommend this hotel but try to avoid (our first) room 212...very small and the worst view you could imagine!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karlosfandango79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear karlosfandango79,

Thank you for the review for your stay. Whilst the initial arrival experience was not one that I am happy with, I am pleased that this was rectified quickly and professionally by the team. I am pleased you liked your eventual room on the 4th floor which was one of our Executive Double rooms and the safe standard as the initial room that you were checked in to.

Thank you again for the feedback and review, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABERDEEN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

There was good and bad here - Staff were very friendly and although the room was tiny it was clean however it just made a double but really large single. Looked straight into a wall and school playground. Hot water in bathroom far too hot, actually scalding hot reported this and was told previous customer asked for it to be hot. But no offer to turn it down only add cold. It was lucky there was no children in the room as I have grave concerns for safety. Room was very shabby and marks on walls and carpet very old. Mini bar was very empty but locked so not sure why this was the case as only had a few things in it. The noise from the playground was loud and ok if you wanted to get up early but if you are on a lea sure break then not much good. Maybe we were just unlucky however you got the feeling the hotel entrance and foyer were outstanding but the rooms were poor.

Room Tip: Ask to see room first just to be sure, I have stayed in true five stars and I would class the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brogan45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear brogan45,

Thank you for taking the time to share your indifferent stay with us at the hotel. We were disappointed to read of the issues that you have highlighted in your room. You have raised the issue already with us via our own feedback system and the issues with the shower has been escalated and the review fully reviewed. We value feedback as we strive to improve our hotel facilities and service levels and we thank you for sharing this on this forum also.

We hope to welcome you back again in the future and so you can see the improvements that we have undertaken.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#46 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#31 of 1,090 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#184 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,778 reviews
Westminster
The Rubens at the Palace
The Rubens at the Palace
#84 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel

Property: St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Address: 54 Buckingham Gate, London SW1E 6AF, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza London - St. James)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Spa Hotel in London
#91 Business Hotel in London
#129 Family Hotel in London
#130 Luxury Hotel in London
#139 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a country that values understatement, St. James' Court is an English classic typifying the concealed charm of one of Britain's finest hotels. The custom of St. James’ Court, A Taj Hotel is the distinctive choice for more than service with a smile. With a distinguished pedigree shaped over more than a century, this discreet Victorian masterpiece with its famous Shakespearean Courtyard is perfectly placed between Buckingham Palace and the Houses of Parliament in a historic enclave marking the centre of power. Crisp and elegant, with an easy charm that’s reserved, yet attentive, we strive to make each visit more pleasurable and memorable. Exceeding the expectations of today’s discerning traveller, St. James' Court is a slice of the past served up on a contemporary platter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, DerbySoftTaj, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London - St. James Hotel London
London Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing