We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Ranked #163 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Wilson
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel, great location”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We spent 8 nights at St James Court, a Taj Hotel in June 2014. The location was great, central to many tourist sites, pubs and restaurants. If you like running was close to parks. Hotel was excellent, delicious buffet breakfast, rooms clean, staff friendly. Gas a good gym area with sauna. We enjoyed our stay very much!

Room Tip: High floor overlooking courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Greg S,

Thank you for your review following your recent 8 night stay with us. We were pleased you enjoyed the facilities and the great hotel location. You have mentioned our gym that has recently been upgraded with new cardio and resistance weight equipment. As we have been enjoying fine weather a run around Hyde Park, Green Park as well as St James' Park is a good option and very close to the hotel.

Thank you again for the review, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,821
    971
    300
    101
    48
See reviews for
598
1,404
143
694
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees
Level Contributor
89 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed for a single night in July when attending a concert in Hyde Park. To be honest, we don't normally stop in hotels of this class in London due to their extreme high cost, but this was a last minute booking and the rate of £119, including breakfast was simply too good to be true. The hotel oozes class and sophistication. Check in was quick, all staff encountered were pleasant and helpful, the food was excellent and the room was terrific. Spotlessly clean and comfortable with a lovely bathroom and quality toiletries. The hotel was very quiet, and is ideally situated a short walk from both Victoria and St. James Park tube stations. The TAJ is easily the best hotel we've stayed at in London and we wouldn't hesitate to use it again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Wendavey,

Thank you for the review. we were delighted that you were able to find a great deal for your stay and I hope that this finished off an enjoyable evening as you attended Hyde Park for the concert (about 15 minute walk away). We are delighted that we have been the best hotel that you have stayed in in London and I hope that we will be your hotel of choice when visiting London again in the future.

Thank you again for the review and feedback.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Located at Buckingham Gate, close to 2 tube stations, one of the pickup points for day tours, this hotel is a good choice when staying in London beyond 3 nights. Its away from the high footfall areas of Picadilly yet close enough. The area is near the Palace so they have a good international vibe in and around the hotel. Rooms are comfortable and cosy & well-set out. The concierge service was excellent, especially Fred who helped us arrange our tours and transfers. He was efficient, professional and had finesse. The hotel went the extra mile to arrange a customised birthday cake for my husband. The cake was beautiful, delivered on time & extremely tasty. It really make the birthday special. Restaurant wise, I was not impressed by any meals. Neither cafe or Quilon, the Michelin Star restaurant is worth recommending. But I will definately return to stay again at the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vid29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Vid29,

Thank your for the review. The team and I were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your experience and found the location, service and facilities very much to your liking. I am pleased your husband enjoyed his birthday celebrations. My only disappointment is regarding the restaurants and I hope to establish what you did not enjoy about them and so we can better ourselves in this department too.

Thank you again for the review, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferndale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel for 6 nights in June. It was her first time visiting London. It could not have been a more perfect location and vibe for our stay. We arrived at 9am from an overnight flight; we asked to get into our room early as we felt a nap would help give us a bit of energy. No problem. We had a bite of breakfast and then our very nice room was ready. The angel at the desk knew we were exhausted. I cannot say enough about how great the location is to almost everything that we wanted to do and see. Buckingham Palace, Westminster Abbey, the Houses of Parliament, to name a few. Victoria Station was about a 12 minute walk, and we were able to walk back to the hotel after seeing Wicked at 11pm and did not feel unsafe. The staff was very accommodating and helpful when needed. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Laurie B,

Thank you for the review following your 6 night stay with us. We are delighted to read that you both enjoyed your stay and found the service provided by the team as well as the hotel's excellent location to be very much to your liking. We hope that on any future trips to London that you will not hesitate to choose a return stay at the St James' Court, A Taj Hotel.

Thank you again for the review.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Work in Westminster so have eaten here several times and made use of the v excellent Bank bar..looking fwd to stay tomorrow. Hopefully room will be a newly refurbished one.booked through LateRooms today.
Anorgro

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Annie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear norgroves,

Thank you for your review prior to your recent stay with us. I sincerely hope that you were happy with this stay and you were satisfied with your room allocation. I hope that this is the first of many stays in the future.

Thank you for the pre-review!

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed at the St. James' Court for several days in May, 2014. I have never before been moved to write a review, but I had to compliment this hotel. The hotel itself is lovely and well-appointed. Our room was comfortable and very quiet. The restaurant was excellent. Location was convenient, near a tube station. But over and above everything else, the staff was exceptional. Everyone from the concierge to the housekeeping staff were friendly, helpful and sincerely dedicated to making our stay pleasant. We Loved It!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Julie A,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay in May. Whilst we were pleased to read that you enjoyed you room and the hotel facilities, I was particularly pleased you enjoyed the service provided by the entire team. I hope that this alone will entice you back again soon.

Thank you again for the review.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2014

From the moment we arrived we found that the staff were magnificent, nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel at home. Assistance with onward travel (flight check in) was made easy by the concierge and we can recommend our stay in the hotel as one of our best.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear David S,

Thank you for the review following your stay in June. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your St James' experience with the service provided by the team to be the stand out quality. We hope to welcome you back on your future travels to London.

Thank you again for the review.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#49 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#30 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#182 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,841 reviews
Westminster
The Rubens at the Palace
The Rubens at the Palace
#80 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel

Property: St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Address: 54 Buckingham Gate, London SW1E 6AF, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza London - St. James)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Spa Hotel in London
#91 Business Hotel in London
#128 Luxury Hotel in London
#129 Family Hotel in London
#139 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a country that values understatement, St. James' Court is an English classic typifying the concealed charm of one of Britain's finest hotels. The custom of St. James’ Court, A Taj Hotel is the distinctive choice for more than service with a smile. With a distinguished pedigree shaped over more than a century, this discreet Victorian masterpiece with its famous Shakespearean Courtyard is perfectly placed between Buckingham Palace and the Houses of Parliament in a historic enclave marking the centre of power. Crisp and elegant, with an easy charm that’s reserved, yet attentive, we strive to make each visit more pleasurable and memorable. Exceeding the expectations of today’s discerning traveller, St. James' Court is a slice of the past served up on a contemporary platter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, DerbySoftTaj, Priceline, Hotelopia, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London - St. James Hotel London
London Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing