We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel in very central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Ranked #177 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gorgeous hotel in very central location”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My boyfriend and I spent two nights in this beautiful hotel in July. We were surprised and delighted to find that we had been upgraded to a room with a Courtyard view, which was very nice. The room itself was big, and although the bathroom was small, it served its purpose well (and the shower was great). The bed was huge and very comfortable. We did not have breakfast at the hotel but there are plenty of options to eat within a 2 minute walk of the hotel (we favoured a Pret just around the corner). The hotel is so close to Buckingham Palace that you could say you were staying next door to the Queen, and we did not use public transport the entire time we were there because we were so close to everything. The staff are lovely and I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Helene M,

Thank you for the review following your weekend break with us. The team and I were delighted to read from your review that you had a great stay and found the hotel very much to your liking. Our only disappointment is that you did not dine with us, but we hope to entice you in to one of our restaurants on a future stay.

Thank you again for the review.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,921
    1,016
    318
    114
    55
See reviews for
645
1,472
152
731
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We booked a total of 5 rooms and we were all very happy with the hotel. Firstly the hotel itself is lovely and charming. Clean and renovated with beautiful bathrooms. We even had towel warmers in our bathrooms. But its the people that make it special. Everyone we met bent over back wards to try and get us everything we needed. One of our suitcases broke and the concierge ran around to find us duct tape. When the breakfast dinning area was full they opened a new space for us to eat in and made sure we had everything we needed. A great hotel close to Buckingham Palace.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annthereistood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Renew227,

Thank you for the review following your 5 night stay with us. Whilst we are pleased you enjoyed the hotel facilities, we are particularly pleased you enjoyed the service provided by the hotel staff. I was delighted to read that they went out of their way to make you feel special and that many future travellers feel the same.

Thank you again for the review, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed at the Taj as part of a weekend city break. The concierge was very accommodating, and reception looked after us as well. The location is great and the courtyard is fantastic.
The room was comfortable and well appointed.
My only gripe is the £20 charge to use the TV system - at the rates charged here I was surprised this was not complimentary.

Room Tip: Call and ask for courtyard view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Praetorian85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Praetorian85,

Thank you for the review following your weekend stay with us. Whilst I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay, I am sorry that there was confusion regarding the TV. The charge of £20 is for unlimited use of the Pay TV (movies) in the room whereas all the other channels, 42 of them, are free to be viewed. We are in the final process of arranging an upgrade to our TV system and so this should eliminate such confusion.

Thank you again for the review, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I booked a classic king bed room . The hotel's website give the description of Classic Rooms as having "a quintessential English character overlooking Westminster or the St. James’ Courtyard, the luxurious King Rooms are a spacious 35 sq mtrs. My room neither overlooked Westminster or the courtyard but some side alley and it was smaller than the descriptive size. Quintessential English it was not, I would describe it as dated and in need of TLC It was obvious walking down the shabby corridor that these rooms were of a lower quality than the rest of the hotel. I was assigned Room 164 which is over the top of the district line underground, so that every 5 minutes or so you could hear the trains, and the vibration through the furniture was enough to rattle glasses on the table. .I complained politely about the room and the hotel staff were very helpful and offered to move me to a room on the 7th floor at the same tariff. However, this room could not be accessed so I paid an extra £25 and got an executive room. The difference was dramatic. Nicely furnished and large bathroom, larger bedroom and very quiet. The staff are good but I would not describe the hotel as luxurious especially if you book a classic room. The location is great though.

Room Tip: Do not book a classic room. If you want luxury pay the difference and get a better room. Avoid room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Pamela F,

Thank you for the review for your stay. I was disappointed to read that you were not entirely happy with the initial part of your stay and found the room not to your liking. We will review the décor and the quality of the room. I am pleased you enjoyed the alternative room and found this much more to your liking.

We hope to welcome you back and so you can see the continuing improvements that we are making to the hotel. Thank you again for your review.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I'm being facetious - the hotel is very nice, indeed. We had a large, deluxe King room. However, don't stay on floors 6 and 7 - the ceilings slope. The shower/tub combo was very cramped. Housekeeping needs to have everything spelled out for them, like when we needed extra tissues and kept leaving notes until finally we did get an extra box. Some day used cups were replaced, some days they were not. But: breakfast (which was included) was sufficient and made to order, the fountain plaza in the courtyard is one of the best spots in this part of London, with good food and polished service, and the Bank restaurant on the premises is wonderful. We did not dine there this time, but also on the premises (or at least right next door) is Quilon, a Michelin-starred Indian restaurant. Can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: We arrived early in the morning after an overnight flight. Lots of people were checking out, and so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MommyG60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear MommyG60,

Thank you for the review following your stay. We are delighted to read that you had a great stay and enjoyed many aspects of your stay with us. There is clearly room for improvement and I will be addressing the housekeeping issues with the Head Housekeeper.

Thank you for the review, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madikeri, India
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

lovely hotel with a great vibe. the Bisro hamptons bar and the courtyard are all excellent. large rooms courteous staff. we had booked two rooms but the downside is we could hear the metro from one of them .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ista660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear ista660,

Thank you for the review following your stay with us. The team and I were delighted that you had a great stay and enjoyed the various facilities that we have available. The only disappointment being the noise from the underground. I hope to establish the rooms where you stayed and update your personal profile to avoid rooms allocated in this area.

Thank you again for the review, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groveport, Ohio, United States
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We thought we were at the wrong hotel -- with a doorman and a fantastic lobby, we questioned our online booking rate.

Our first room was fantastic; clean, luxurious, nicely furnished.

Staff were very helpful in understanding that we had misbooked and needed two beds. They were able to move us to a different room -- smoking and that worked well for us. The new room was just as nice with thermostat that adjusted below 19...quite a difference from other hotels. Fully accessorized with iron, ironing board, shower robes, coffee/tea service, etc. Plenty of electrical plugs, so that was helpful.

The room was clean, large, modern. Great!

St. James underground was just a short walk away; Westminster Abbey was about a 10 minute walk from the hotel.

Great room at our booking price of 130 pounds (plus a 35 pound room upgrade charge for the twin-bedded room.)

Room Tip: As of July '14, they had smoking rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Charlie J,

Thank you for the review following your recent stay. We were pleased you enjoyed the experience and despite the slight issue on arrival with your bed type, this was quickly resolved for you. Following this, you were pleased with the allocated room and the service provided by the team.

Thank you again for the review, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#53 of 1,068 in London
3,023 reviews
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#189 of 1,068 in London
3,994 reviews
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#33 of 1,068 in London
835 reviews
Westminster
The Rubens at the Palace
The Rubens at the Palace
#72 of 1,068 in London
4,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel

Property: St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Address: 54 Buckingham Gate, London SW1E 6AF, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza London - St. James)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Spa Hotel in London
#91 Business Hotel in London
#129 Family Hotel in London
#139 Romantic Hotel in London
#140 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a country that values understatement, St. James' Court is an English classic typifying the concealed charm of one of Britain's finest hotels. The custom of St. James’ Court, A Taj Hotel is the distinctive choice for more than service with a smile. With a distinguished pedigree shaped over more than a century, this discreet Victorian masterpiece with its famous Shakespearean Courtyard is perfectly placed between Buckingham Palace and the Houses of Parliament in a historic enclave marking the centre of power. Crisp and elegant, with an easy charm that’s reserved, yet attentive, we strive to make each visit more pleasurable and memorable. Exceeding the expectations of today’s discerning traveller, St. James' Court is a slice of the past served up on a contemporary platter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London - St. James Hotel London
London Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing