We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 night stay at St James Court Buckingham Gate London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Ranked #173 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“4 night stay at St James Court Buckingham Gate London”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

From the moment we entered the door the staff were friendly and professional. All staff could not do enough to ensure we had a great stay. Our room was large compared to other London hotels standards. the hotel is ideally situated 2 minutes from Buckingham palace and a walk through the park took us to the main shopping centre. It was also a short walk to the Thames and associated attractions. the hotel bar and restaurant was great and the hotel is also close to supermarkets and cafes such as pretamanager. A big advantage is being in easy walking distance to Green Park station and the Piccadiily Line which goes direct to Heathrow airport. I would stay here again and have already recommended St James to my friends who are travelling to London next year.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reece M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Reece M,

Thank you for the review following your recent 4 night stay with us. The team and I are delighted to read from the review that from the very minute you entered the hotel, you enjoyed the entire experience. We really look forward to welcoming you back again soon as well as your friends in 2015.

Thank you again for the review.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,868
    991
    308
    107
    52
See reviews for
609
1,437
148
718
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Very conveniently located,just behind Buckingham palace. close to the tube, excellent service, restaurants inside and in the courtyard Bistro 51. Rooms very spacious and well decorated. Bathrooms well stocked with all that is necessary.

Room Tip: Upper level, in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Betsy W,

Thank you for the review for your recent stay with us. We were pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay including our restaurant and bars. We hope that we will be your hotel of choice when next returning to London.

Thank you again for the review.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southern england
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Everything about this hotel hit top marks in our view.
Booked direct and got a weekend deal which included breakfast.
Our room was ready when we arrived, booking in took a few minutes and the room itself was enormous , with the most comfortable king bed we have slept in . Breakfast was easily the best we have experienced , the staff were great and so switched on , service was faultless and the food was very good.
In fact , all the staff were exceptional and made our stay so enjoyable , a big thank you to everyone .
Next time we are in London , this will be our choice , the best hotel we have stayed in for many a year.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruinSouthernEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear bruinSouthernEngland,

Thank you for the excellent review following your stay with us. There is not too much more that I can add but to thank you for choosing the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you for the terrific review.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-Upon-Tyne
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My wife and I had a short visit to this hotel, there is no doubt the location of the hotel is excellent. But there are hidden charges that people need to be aware of. For example the breakfast, I paid for two breakfasts in advance, £56, this is too expensive! but the sting in the tail came on the first morning, I requested poached eggs of the menu! this was a fatal mistake, I was charged another£28 because I requested this. BE VERY SURE NOT TO DO THIS,the breakfast is not value for money. We had dinner the first night in the hotel, this was for two fish & chips, two deserts and one vodka single with lemonade and one Gin + Tonic single. This came to £72! the meal was good, the surroundings were good, but this was not value for money.
The AC in the room would not work correctly, and the switch arrangement needs sorting out, but apart from that it was clean + comfortable.

Room Tip: Try and choose from the 5th floor, but make sure you understand how the AC works, if it does work!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 01Swallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear 01Swallow,

Thank you for the review. We were a little disappointed to read that you were not entirely happy with your stay and the cost of the food and beverage throughout the hotel. Following a review of your trip advisor review, we were able to establish when you stayed and we have incorrectly charged you for the breakfast, which has now been corrected. I apologise for this error.

I sincerely hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back and enjoy all other aspects of the hotel. Thank you again for the review.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We usually stay in three start hotels, but when we got the deal on St. James' Court, we couldn't resist. Everything about the hotel exceeded our hopes. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The food (breakfast, lunch, and dinner) was fantastic! Every single person at the hotel went out of his or her way to be courteous, friendly, and helpful. But the location was beyond our wildest dreams. Walking distance to Buckingham Palace, Westminster Abbey, Trafalgar Square, and public transportation. In addition to the fact that I would stay there again, I would recommend this hotel to all my fellow travelers, even those on a budget.

Room Tip: Ask for a Courtyard view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Jennifer L,

Thank you for the review following your recent stay with us. We were delighted that you were able to secure a great deal and that you were not disappointed with your choice of hotel. I am pleased that you found the service as well as food to be fantastic.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back again soon and thank you again for the review.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

The St James Court hotel is one of the best large hotels in London. Possibly the best. It has everything you would normally expect, but it's the stunning courtyard that does it for me. Wonderful hotel, brilliant and helpful staff. Practically next door to Buckingham Palace and a short walk from Victoria. I would stay here every time I was in London if I could.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl_Ward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Karl_Ward,

Thank you for your review following your stay with us. We are thrilled to receive this accolade from you and we hope to be your hotel of choice when returning to London. We are very fortunate to have such a terrific courtyard and in the summer months this area really does come in to its own and is a beautiful area to enjoy and relax in.

We hope to welcome you back again soon and thank you for the review.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We first visited in February of this year and have recently (12th July) visited, and what another wonderful experience. The location of the hotel is ideal for all the tourist sites and we had the added bonus of seeing the Tour de Franc finish on the Mall. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff - from reception on checking in and the pleasant smiling faces of the staff at breakfast!!
We love the atmosphere of the Hamptons and again the staff are so friendly but professional at the same time. We will be back !!

Room Tip: The rooms that we have on both occasions on 5th floor were ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Jenny B,

Thank you for your review following your return stay with us. The team and I were delighted to read that you enjoyed an excellent stay experience and the hotel location and facilities accompanied by great service from the staff made this stay a most enjoyable one. We are pleased to be your hotel of choice when returning to London.

Thank you again for the review.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#51 of 1,067 in London
2,940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#192 of 1,067 in London
3,916 reviews
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#34 of 1,067 in London
775 reviews
Westminster
The Rubens at the Palace
The Rubens at the Palace
#73 of 1,067 in London
4,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel

Property: St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Address: 54 Buckingham Gate, London SW1E 6AF, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza London - St. James)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Spa Hotel in London
#91 Business Hotel in London
#129 Family Hotel in London
#138 Luxury Hotel in London
#139 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a country that values understatement, St. James' Court is an English classic typifying the concealed charm of one of Britain's finest hotels. The custom of St. James’ Court, A Taj Hotel is the distinctive choice for more than service with a smile. With a distinguished pedigree shaped over more than a century, this discreet Victorian masterpiece with its famous Shakespearean Courtyard is perfectly placed between Buckingham Palace and the Houses of Parliament in a historic enclave marking the centre of power. Crisp and elegant, with an easy charm that’s reserved, yet attentive, we strive to make each visit more pleasurable and memorable. Exceeding the expectations of today’s discerning traveller, St. James' Court is a slice of the past served up on a contemporary platter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London - St. James Hotel London
London Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing