We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location, perfect hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Ranked #162 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect Location, perfect hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

This was a very nice hotel. The room was nice, not too big and not too small. Nice bathroom with perfect water pressure, a big deal to me! There was no view from our window but I wasn't in London to look out my hotel window. The hotel is walking distance from the majority of things to see and do. From Buckingham Palace just down the street to Big Ben and the London Eye we walked everywhere. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdmmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear mdmmom,

Thank you for the review of your stay from September 2013. The team and I were delighted to read from the review that we had a great stay in the hotel and with the exception of the view from the window, you had an enjoyable stay with us. We hope that we will be your hotel of choice on your next trip to London.

Thank you again for the review of your stay.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,071 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,728
    919
    283
    94
    47
See reviews for
550
1,337
135
663
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

The hotel is set in a magnificent Victorian/Edwardian cluster of buildings and equipped with staff that mirror a bygone age of service. The room we had may have been at the top of the shop but was large, comfortable, clean, well appointed and with air conditioning that worked (I have lost count of the rooms I have been in where it doesnt1).
The bar made magnificent cocktails so I am informed by my wife. If there was one deficiency it was that I booked a double room and got twin beds. A problem if you are planning a romantic break (which this hotel would be great for in terms of location and luxury) but for old fogies like ourselves less of an issue.

Room Tip: There are bargain deals to be had if you book well in advance - this makes this very good value for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrIanT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear DrianT,

Thank you for the review for your stay with us. Despite the issue with the bed configuration, that I hope to establish why this happened, we are delighted that you found all aspects of your stay to be positive. I am pleased your wife enjoyed her cocktail or 2!

Thank you again for the review, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Enjoyed a lovely 3 day break in London with my daughter staying at this hotel.,presented with a glass of ice water on arrival
Superb location, walking distance to restaurants,bars, shops,underground station, buses, key attractions
The hotel is lovely, pretty plants and courtyard although rooms & bathrooms a little dated. Very clean with great customer service

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sais444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Sais444,

Thank you for the review for your stay with us. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your experience and found the hotel very much to your liking. I hope to establish in what room you stayed and so I can review the condition of the room. Despite this, I am pleased that it was clean and the service provided to the very highest levels.

Thank you again for the review.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We booked a classic room, but at check in we got upgraded to an executive room. The room was very spacious and nicely decorated. The bathroom was spacious as well.

Our room was above the entrance to the hotel on the street side. Although there isn't much traffic during the night, having the window open is not an option. However, the room has air-conditioning. Usually we don't like having the aircon on during the night, but in this case it was no problem. It kept the room at a nice temperature.

The breakfast buffet was plentiful and a bit different to what you would expect. If you wanted something different from the scrambled egg on the buffet, it had to be ordered. The range of things to order was good. Coffee and tea were poured at the table. The breakfast room is divided into different sections which is nice, although sometimes it could get quite hot.

The only unfortunate thing was that we left our adaptor plug behind. I contacted the hotel through their contact form on the St James' Court website twice, but never got a response. Taking into account the high service we experienced while staying we were disappointed not to get any response to our enquiry.

Other then that, you can't fault this hotel which is a 5 minute walk from St James' Park Tube station, a 10 minute walk from Buckingham Palace and has a good restaurant (Royal Quarter) for both breakfast and lunch opposite.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side might be a bit noisy if you'd like to sleep with the window open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank norwichgirl30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear norwichgirl30,

Thank you for the review of your stay with us. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and the accommodation provided to you. I apologise for the issue with the lost property enquiry, we hope to get this resolved for you as soon as possible.

Thank you again for the review, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

From the moment we entered the door the staff were friendly and professional. All staff could not do enough to ensure we had a great stay. Our room was large compared to other London hotels standards. the hotel is ideally situated 2 minutes from Buckingham palace and a walk through the park took us to the main shopping centre. It was also a short walk to the Thames and associated attractions. the hotel bar and restaurant was great and the hotel is also close to supermarkets and cafes such as pretamanager. A big advantage is being in easy walking distance to Green Park station and the Piccadiily Line which goes direct to Heathrow airport. I would stay here again and have already recommended St James to my friends who are travelling to London next year.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reece M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Reece M,

Thank you for the review following your recent 4 night stay with us. The team and I are delighted to read from the review that from the very minute you entered the hotel, you enjoyed the entire experience. We really look forward to welcoming you back again soon as well as your friends in 2015.

Thank you again for the review.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Very conveniently located,just behind Buckingham palace. close to the tube, excellent service, restaurants inside and in the courtyard Bistro 51. Rooms very spacious and well decorated. Bathrooms well stocked with all that is necessary.

Room Tip: Upper level, in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Betsy W,

Thank you for the review for your recent stay with us. We were pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay including our restaurant and bars. We hope that we will be your hotel of choice when next returning to London.

Thank you again for the review.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southern england
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Everything about this hotel hit top marks in our view.
Booked direct and got a weekend deal which included breakfast.
Our room was ready when we arrived, booking in took a few minutes and the room itself was enormous , with the most comfortable king bed we have slept in . Breakfast was easily the best we have experienced , the staff were great and so switched on , service was faultless and the food was very good.
In fact , all the staff were exceptional and made our stay so enjoyable , a big thank you to everyone .
Next time we are in London , this will be our choice , the best hotel we have stayed in for many a year.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bruinSouthernEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear bruinSouthernEngland,

Thank you for the excellent review following your stay with us. There is not too much more that I can add but to thank you for choosing the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you for the terrific review.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#40 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#27 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Westminster
The Rubens at the Palace
The Rubens at the Palace
#89 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,978 reviews
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#179 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel

Property: St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Address: 54 Buckingham Gate, London SW1E 6AF, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza London - St. James)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Spa Hotel in London
#91 Business Hotel in London
#128 Luxury Hotel in London
#129 Family Hotel in London
#139 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a country that values understatement, St. James' Court is an English classic typifying the concealed charm of one of Britain's finest hotels. The custom of St. James’ Court, A Taj Hotel is the distinctive choice for more than service with a smile. With a distinguished pedigree shaped over more than a century, this discreet Victorian masterpiece with its famous Shakespearean Courtyard is perfectly placed between Buckingham Palace and the Houses of Parliament in a historic enclave marking the centre of power. Crisp and elegant, with an easy charm that’s reserved, yet attentive, we strive to make each visit more pleasurable and memorable. Exceeding the expectations of today’s discerning traveller, St. James' Court is a slice of the past served up on a contemporary platter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Hotelopia and Odigeo so you can book your St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London - St. James Hotel London
London Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing