We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night in town without the children”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Ranked #170 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Night in town without the children”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Spent a Saturday night in this central hotel. Booked a classic king-size room and were upgraded on arrival free to a superior room. Not sure what made it superior, decor good but not large and overlooked aircon units and a roof! Used the bars in the evening before and after eating elsewhere. Not cheap but service and quality great. Breakfast was busy but excellent food, one of of the best I have had with a great choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a street or courtyard view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Andy T,

Thank you for the review following your weekend night away from the family. The team and I were pleased to read that you generally enjoyed the stay and despite the fact that the view was not fantastic from the room, you found the décor good and the room comfortable.

We sincerely hope that we can ensure a repeat stay again in the future and even brining the kids on a future stay. Thank you again for the review.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,878
    994
    310
    108
    53
See reviews for
613
1,443
149
720
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Booked afternoon tea for a catch up with a couple of good friends after visiting the wedding dress exhibit at the V&A. Lovely shady courtyard setting was the perfect respite from a hot day with the breeze occasionally blowing a cooling spray from the fountain. Tea was laid up with crisp white tablecloths and napkins. We shared a delicious bottle of prosecco before being presented with tall silver stands full of sandwiches, scones with jam and clotted cream, champagne jellies and 4 cakes. My only gripe and it,s a small one, I would,ve liked a pastry, choux bun or meringue in place of one of the cakes as they were mostly a variety of sponge! Lots of teas to choose from but mine was accompanied by good old builders. It was busy and the staff were mainly attentive although we had to send the bill back. They,d charged us the price of (27.50) rather than the deal we had booked (20.50), but soon sorted. Very pleasant way to spend an afternoon - prosecco, gossip with good friends and cake - what more could you ask for!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarogUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear CarogUK,

Thank you for the review following your visit to our Courtyard to take Afternoon Tea with your friends. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the experience, service and surroundings and felt that it was a great all round experience. Your feedback on the pastries will be shared with both the Pastry Chef as well as the Executive Chef. We have just launched our Royal Afternoon tea and so I would highly recommend that too.

Thank you for the review, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

This was the second time I'd stayed at the hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful. The reception area is nice but the rooms could do with updating.

It's a great location with Buckingham Palace, Westminster Abbey and Houses of Parliament only a few minutes walk away.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ljc1538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear ljc1538,

Thank you for the review following your second stay with us. We are pleased to read that you were generally happy with the stay experience, but I am disappointed that you felt the rooms were not quite to the highest standard. I hope to establish the rooms where you stayed and so I can review the condition of them both.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back and enjoy our hospitality again soon. Thank you again for the review.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

If you have been to London before, this is a fabulous choice. You can get to most sights like Trafallgar in abou 20-30 minutes walking. Lovely service. Great courtyard. Close to inexpensive breakfasts restaurants. Hotel is costly and not good.
Belgravia fine restaurants like Santini very close. Rooms a bit tired but good value.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronmarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Ronmarc,

Thank you for the review for your stay with us. The feedback has been shared with the team and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay experience. We are a little disappointed that you did not rate the hotel restaurant for dinner / lunch and found it both expensive and of poor quality, the feedback that we get from the restaurant for dinner and lunch is generally very good, especially the quality of the food served.

Thank you again for the feedback, we hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed here after a recommendation from friends and we were not dissapointed, the hotel is excellent along with the extremely pleasant staff. The location for any visitor is perfect only a few minutes walk to the St James tube station and only a 5 minute walk to the front of Buckingham Palace.
The price we paid for this hotel compared to other hotels we have stayed in of a similar standard was excellent, our room was very large and had everything you could require.
The hotel seems to be going through a large refurbishment project at present but this did not effect us in any way.
For thise of you who do not wish to pay the excessive charges for Breakfast which all hotels seem to charge there are Cafe/Restaurants open from the early hours immediately accross the road serving breakfast for £5.
Overall an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stoke_sbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear stoke_sbm,

Thank you for the review and taking the terrific advise of your friends and choosing to stay with ourselves on your trip to London. We are delighted to read that you were not disappointed with your stay and found the room and service very much to your liking. We are doing very minimal work at present and have just completed the decoration of a lift lobby which we had to re-route people staying on the floor to another left, we certainly did not want people walking through this area as work was being completed.

Thank you again for the review and we hope to welcome you as well as your friends back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed five nights at St James Court. The neighbourhood was quiet and seemed safe. The location was good with Buckingham palace and tube stops a short walk away. There was also a Pret-a-manger near by which was great for a quick, cheap and healthy breakfast.

The hotel rooms were clean and a good size and the hotel concierges were helpful with giving directions etc.

The only negatives were you could here the tube which ran from around 6am-midnight and aside from the hotel restaurants there was no where within walking distance to get dinner apart from local pubs which I would not recommend.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AucklandGirl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear AucklandGirl8,

Thank you for the review following your recent 5 night stay with us. We were pleased to read that you were generally happy with your stay experience and found the room and service, particularly from the concierge to be to your liking.

I was sorry to read that you were impacted negatively by the underground trains during your stay, this does impact a small area of the hotel and we are working with the London Underground to remove / reduce the noise that is being emitted.

Thank you again for the review and feedback, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed in the hotel for 4 days. It is located at such a central location that you get aquatinted within short time with surroundings.

Rooms are very well done. Internal courtyard is such a fantastic place you can spend your time very comfortably.

Overall entrance lobby is very small. Due to hotel occupancy it was always crowded and by chance the Indian cricket team was also staying during this period.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saurabhgaurav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear saurabhgaurav,

Thank you for the review following your recent 4 night stay with us. We are pleased that you generally enjoyed your stay and in particular the comfort of the rooms as well as the courtyard. We hope that we will continue to welcome you back when you are travelling to London.

Thank you for the review.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#51 of 1,067 in London
2,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#196 of 1,067 in London
3,929 reviews
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#35 of 1,067 in London
783 reviews
Westminster
The Rubens at the Palace
The Rubens at the Palace
#73 of 1,067 in London
4,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel

Property: St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Address: 54 Buckingham Gate, London SW1E 6AF, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza London - St. James)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Spa Hotel in London
#91 Business Hotel in London
#129 Family Hotel in London
#134 Luxury Hotel in London
#139 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a country that values understatement, St. James' Court is an English classic typifying the concealed charm of one of Britain's finest hotels. The custom of St. James’ Court, A Taj Hotel is the distinctive choice for more than service with a smile. With a distinguished pedigree shaped over more than a century, this discreet Victorian masterpiece with its famous Shakespearean Courtyard is perfectly placed between Buckingham Palace and the Houses of Parliament in a historic enclave marking the centre of power. Crisp and elegant, with an easy charm that’s reserved, yet attentive, we strive to make each visit more pleasurable and memorable. Exceeding the expectations of today’s discerning traveller, St. James' Court is a slice of the past served up on a contemporary platter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Hotelopia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London - St. James Hotel London
London Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing