We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It Got Better.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Ranked #173 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We arrived at the Taj and our room was not ready so we availed ourselves of the spa services...great. When our room was ready it was totally filthy...carpet stained, coffee on the door of the minibar, walls marked and dirty...the linens and towels were clean. We went down to reception and explained our concerns and were told we could upgrade the next day at our own expense, which we did. The first day in the new room while my husband is in the shower the maintenance man arrives and says there is a leak in the room below and asks if we are letting water run onto the floor while we shower. My husband quickly finishes his shower and the maintenance man joins him in the shower and removes the drain to discover that there was no seal and tells us that we may be moved again as he may not have the part (and I'm thinking I will probably have to eat that cost too). We did not have to move again but by that time it felt like Murphy's Law had taken over our vacation. After that things were relatively okay but I will ever book
a Taj hotel again (it was the Crowne Plaza when we
booked).

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catNewBrunswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear catNewBrunswick,

Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us. I was naturally disappointed to read of your stay experience and I have sent you a private message to reach out to you regarding your stay. Once I have establish where and when you stayed, I can follow through on the issues that you encountered during your stay. It is our priority to address the issue not only with you but to ensure all future guests do not encounter such issues.

Thank you again for the review and feedback.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,712)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,771 - 2,777 of 3,712 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

The lobby was beautifully decorated and the dining room was stunning for breakfast but the room was very dated and looked like it was decorate a long time ago. The light in the bathroom was temperamental and would randomly go off though when I complained they did come and fix it. Over all a nice stay but just wish the rooms had the same quality as the rest of the hotel. Fab staff and very comfy bed! We stayed one night and it was just a little disappointing.

Room Tip: Though there is wifi it isn't great so it may be better to pay the extra for better wifi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Sarah C,

Thank you for the review following your recent 1 night stay with us. Whilst I was pleased to read that you generally enjoyed your stay, I was a little disappointed that you did not like the room allocation and that you had an issue with the lights in the bathroom. We will conduct a review of this room and ensure that areas that are deficient are dealt with as a priority.

We hope to welcome you back sometime soon and so you can see the improvements that have been made. Thank you again for the review and feedback.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My wife and I spent a week at the St James and had a wonderful king size room with air conditioning. When we arrived the room was not quite ready, so they provided tea and soft drinks while we waited. The room was well appointed and spacious with two wing back chairs and a love seat. The bath had a large soaker tub with heated towel rack, bathrobes and slippers. The room had a mini bar, safe and trouser press. The only downside was our room was located on the backside of hotel and you had to navigate through several hallways between the elevator and the room. Bed was extremely comfortable. Hotel has an excellent afternoon tea. Located a short five minute walk south of Buckingham Palace.

Room Tip: Classic king rooms are large and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobertN78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear RobertN78,

Thank you for the review for your recent 7 night stay with us. The team and I are delighted to read from the review that you both had a great stay with us, and despite the distance from the reception to your room, you found the facilities and the room itself very much to your liking.

We sincerely hope that we will continue to be your hotel of choice when returning to London again in the future. Thank you again for the review and feedback.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I have recently come back from a mini break with a friend at St James Court where we celebrating our 60th birthdays. The accommodation was booked along side a booking at The Victoria theatre to see the show Billy Elliott. From arriving to leaving the hotel the experience was fantastic. We were upgraded to a suite and also got an invite to the managers cocktail party which made us feel very special. The room was beautiful, very clean and lots of extra's like slippers gowns toiletries and very soft towels. All the staff were very friendly. Breakfast was very good everything you needed to set you up for the day. The hotel is very plush and also has a beautiful court yard where you can have a drink or just relax in the sunshine. The theatre was just a short walk away which we managed quite easily. We also visited Buckingham Palace which is about 5 mins walk in the opposite direction and St James tube station is just across the road. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and will definitely book again when l next visit London

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MissTSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear MissTSB,

Thank you for the review of your stay with us to celebrate your 60th Birthday. We are pleased that you enjoyed this stay and it was a pleasure to meet with you during this stay. I am pleased you enjoyed Billy Elliott and the hotel made this in to a complete positive experience.

Thank you again for the review of your stay, we hope to be your preferred choice for any future visit to London.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My wife and I have just stayed 3 nights at this hotel. We were upgraded and offered other extra,s free of any further expense. I would say we enjoyed our stay, due to the room, which while quite small, was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Yes as others have said, the bathroom was small, but had all we needed and again was spotless. The air con wasn't as good as we would have liked, but I was quite easily able to sleep and also able to open the windows, air con in the best 5 star hotels can often be worse. Service at breakfast was excellent as was the food choice. Location is great for Buckingham Palace and nearby attractions. The cost for 3 nights was very reasonable for a Central London Hotel, (Well done The Taj) Overall a very nice experience, which I would definitely use again. Thank you for everything.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BEEMA45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear BEEMA45,

Thank you for the review and feedback for your recent 3 night stay with us. I was delighted to read that you had a great stay and despite the air conditioning not working as efficiently as you would have liked, I am pleased that this did not detract from what was clearly a great stay experience.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back sooner rather than later to enjoy our Taj Hospitality. Thank you again for the review.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Went up to London for the weekend and had problems finding a nice hotel at a sensible price we found the St James and booked a king executive room on the 7th floor. The room was big enough very clean and tidy. The bathroom was not large by any means but for a weekend it was fine. although one thing let it down and that was the shower modern equipment but very little water pressure you had to walk around to get wet that was a bit of a disappointment. but that was the only fault if you can call it that. The King size bed was so comfortable. its bigger than the normal king size i slept in before sleep quality was just right for us. The check in was smooth and very friendly all the staff were very helpful and wanted to take a few seconds for a chat. I drove up and with the road works all around i thought i would have trouble parking. The concierge was really helpful cot a couple of cars moved a bit and we parked right outside on the single yellow line all weekend. That was really helpful.
Breakfast was brilliant as much as you wanted. Eggs done to your liking, Fresh toast not from the usual stand and wait for half an hour machine. Ordered and in quick time on the table straight from the kitchen in a toast rack. No rush no fuss just nice well cooked food and served very quickly. Full marks for breakfast.
overall this was a really nice place to stay for the weekend. That wont break the bank. the hotel is very quite with none of the usual background noise. A great weekend and we will stay here again next time we go up to London.
This is a large hotel well worth a visit.

Room Tip: order a room with a king bed its huge not what we were expecting
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dti-daveb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear dti-daveb,

Thank you for the review following your recent weekend stay with us. I am delighted to read from the review that you had a great stay and found the room comfortable, the breakfast to a high standard and most importantly the service provided by the team to be excellent. I am sorry for the shower issue that you have highlighted. We are addressing this as I write this response as we are trialing a new pump system that will enhance this experience.

Thank you again for the review and feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel would have received a top rating, however room allocation let it down. We specifically booked this hotel since it has a lovely courtyard (rare outdoor space I'm London), and requested a room overlooking it. Since we had booked some time in advance we were disappointed on arrival to find no rooms available overlooking the courtyard. The hotel did give us a complementary upgrade and the room was newly refurbished to a high quality. However, if you are going to compensate your guests, please don't put them in small rooms next to linen cupboards facing nothing more than other rooms and looking down on a flat roof.

Despite this disappointment this is a very good hotel with friendly staff. The lobby is a lovely well decorated area which gives a real luxury feel. The courtyard is a relaxing space where you can enjoy food and drink.

The hotel is ideally placed for Buckingham Palace (5 minutes walk), the Houses of Parliament, Big Ben, Westminster Abby, Scotland Yard and ST James's Park tube station (2 minutes walk). There are plenty of local restaurants, a shopping area and a couple of theatres close by. So really an ideal base for exploring London.

Breakfast was fairly average, and food and drink are the usual high hotel prices. However, despite a few drawbacks would recommend a stay, and we will be visiting again soon.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Puss100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Puss100,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We were also disappointed to read of your slight disappointment for this stay as we were unable to allocate a room with a courtyard view and whilst we were able to upgrade you, the room allocated could have been located better. I hope to establish where you stayed and try to ensure a "room with a view" for your next stay with us.

Thank you again for the review and feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#51 of 1,078 in London
3,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
The Rubens at the Palace
The Rubens at the Palace
#74 of 1,078 in London
4,336 reviews
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#207 of 1,078 in London
4,296 reviews
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel

Address: 54 Buckingham Gate, London SW1E 6AF, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza London - St. James)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Spa Hotel in London
#88 Family Hotel in London
#91 Business Hotel in London
#138 Luxury Hotel in London
#139 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £130 - £311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a country that values understatement, St. James' Court is an English classic typifying the concealed charm of one of Britain's finest hotels. The custom of St. James’ Court, A Taj Hotel is the distinctive choice for more than service with a smile. With a distinguished pedigree shaped over more than a century, this discreet Victorian masterpiece with its famous Shakespearean Courtyard is perfectly placed between Buckingham Palace and the Houses of Parliament in a historic enclave marking the centre of power. Crisp and elegant, with an easy charm that’s reserved, yet attentive, we strive to make each visit more pleasurable and memorable. Exceeding the expectations of today’s discerning traveller, St. James' Court is a slice of the past served up on a contemporary platter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London - St. James Hotel London
London Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing