We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”
Review of Arriva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arriva Hotel
Ranked #885 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Stayed there recently for one night on a short stop in London.

There is nothing amazing about the hotel and if you expect to be treated like royalty I would certainly stay out. However if you are just looking for a well located relatively clean hotel this is the place to be. The rooms are small but sufficient, the bathroom extremely small however very clean and nice. It's just a 2 minute walk from King's Cross and Pancreas which get's you everywhere so I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a cheap well located hotel for a short stop.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valencia2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (737)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 737 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2013

The hotel room we were allocated was tiny, unclean, damp, mouldy, tatty and stuffy. I could put up with it for one night if on a budget but we paid £91 to stay here. I have stayed in much nicer hotels at the weekend in London for less money. The one good point is that the staff are quite nice..but then they would be happy for making that much money for such little effort on their part! I won't be going back,

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Loubear4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Booked because of it's proximity to Kings Cross & more importantly it would take bikes. Very helpful, friendly staff, but roooms pretty much what I should have known a two star Kings Cross hotel to be like. As other reviewers noted, smaal rooms, smelt of damp, don't look under bed!
I think that pretty much says it all.

Room Tip: Good Luck !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilliamRose2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

I had booked the Arriva hotel in London through Booking.com who had advertised it as a very good value for money. I paid up 170 £ per night for a twin bedroom for two persons. What a disappointment: I was assigned a tiny, gloomy, nightmarish, utterly unattractive bedroom in the basement of the hotel. The level of comfort was inferior to what you would expect in a poor hotel in a less-developed country.
I immediately asked to be reimbursed because I just could not stand the idea of spending a short holiday there. I was not, not even for the second night forward, even though the hotel policy was to reimburse if cancellation was done two days in advance. A customer who stepped in the ugly reception was ready to reimburse me and getting the bedroom instead, but the receptionist asked him to wait until I was gone and then "he would have given him a better rate"
Just awful, I definitely would tell anybody to stay away from this hotel.on the other hand I moved to the Nottingham place hotel, at 37 Nottingham place, which was charming, cheaper and so comfortable.
Best regards
Vittoria Alliata from Brussels
Best regards

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Vittoria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Great location and friendly staff, however, very small rooms, poor breakfast (no fruit, no variety), lift was out of order, hot water finished at 8.30 so had to take cold shower), extra small bathroom.
Expensive for its quality!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katepan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

The hotel was well-organised and clean and the staff were courteous and helpful.
I am not able to say whether the price charged represented value for money because we have not used other London hotels.
Breakfast was as advertised – basic - but the breakfast-room was very small and waiting for a table was inevitable at peak times.
We felt that our room should not have been offered as a twin bedded room because of its small size and narrow shape. It is the first time that we have seen two single beds end-to-end rather than side-by-side. As a result the TV set which was mounted 2 metres up on the wall between the beds. which were more than 1 metre apart, could be viewed by only one person at a time sitting on one bed (no chair).
On the second day of our 4-day stay there was no hot water. This was rectified within 30 minutes of advising reception.

Room Tip: Specify twin-beds to be side-by-side not end to end
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgepasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

I stayed here on business persuaded by the reviews that said it was clean. Put it this way, you wouldn't go to the bathroom in bare feet. The fitting haven't been replaced for 20 years, every part of it is deeply shabby and the roomis so small I can almost touch both walls at the same time. Horrid.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marjorie063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Wardonia Hotel
Wardonia Hotel
#581 of 1,077 in London
1,006 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#294 of 1,077 in London
1,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Albion House Hotel
Albion House Hotel
#946 of 1,077 in London
295 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#546 of 1,077 in London
944 reviews
Bloomsbury
Howard Winchester Hotel
Howard Winchester Hotel
#757 of 1,077 in London
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arriva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arriva Hotel

Address: 55 Swinton Street | Kings Cross, London WC1X 9NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #885 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £47 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Arriva Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This central London hotel just 5-minutes from King’s Cross rail station, offering well-maintained reliable facilities and an attentive, professional service. Compact, practical rooms with standard interior design throughout, complement excellent public transport links with tube, bus, taxi and regional rail links to every essential London destination on your doorstep. A short stroll from the British Museum and fashionable Bloomsbury, this hotel is a convenient, welcoming location for your London trip, be it for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Arriva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arriva Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing