We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirtiest Hotel I've stayed in this Year!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arriva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Arriva Hotel
Ranked #879 of 1,089 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dirtiest Hotel I've stayed in this Year!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Words will fail to describe the smell emanating from the first room I was offered at the Arriva Hotel. Which on inspection was an unhygienic room with mould, scuff marks on the walls, dirty light switches and tatty furniture.

I complained and was subsequently offered a different room which didn't have the smell of the first and looked cleaner. However, although it was a massive upgrade from the first room, on inspection it just was not clean. Lipstick, fingermarks and mould etc

Also, I later discovered that the bed had more lumps, bumps and sink holes than a field to sleep on! It was a terrible experience at any price.

I would not recommend this hotel.

I didn't try breakfast as I couldn't leave soon enough.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Lost_Me_Socks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    134
    232
    127
    136
See reviews for
94
237
50
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We loved this hotel. It is handy for Kings Cross station and the underground. There was a delightful pub nearby though I can't remember it's name! It was cheap and friendly. Breakfast in this busy little place was continental but tasty. We sat with a couple from Italy and spoke to many other tourists there. We were able to leave our luggage both before our booking in and after we had booked out. The road was busy during the day was busy but quietened down at night allowing us to have a really good night's sleep. Shower facilities were good (not excellent but nevertheless good!_ We would recommend this hotel to anyone who just needs a place to rest and sleep. it has no extra facilities but hen we didn't need them!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katealan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forres, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

I paid £215.00 for a two night stay which if, I was given a choice of leaving a donation myself I would not have given more than around £40.00 a night and that would be generous. It is situated down a rundown side street near "Kingscross St Pancrass" and to my disappointment the Hotel was very run down as well. Front desk had office behind it which looked full of cluttered odds and ends. On entering the room our hearts dropped, it was very small, looked very grubby and the bathroom was in a terrible condition. Its floor tiles were ingrained with dirt and the wall tiles grouting was also dirty as were the sink taps and no plug. The Continental b/fast consisted of White/Brown toast, squares of cheese and triangles of a processed ham of sorts and preserve spreads. Cereals were coco pops and bran/corn flakes and a yogurt tea or coffee. I COULD NOT RECCOMEND this hotel to my worst enemy.

Room Tip: Do not book this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Not great at all. Rooms are very small and not amazing but comfortable at least. Staff are okay as well, HOWEVER i think it's horrible i had to pay for wifi and on top of that it didn't work for 2 full days, and of course i wasn't offered my money back.
In the mornings, there is no hot water to take a shower!!! I am writing this from my bed, wrapped up in blankets, freezing.
I understand this is London and that's a two star hotel, but come on. Up your game or lose clients.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moniquexxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

The worst hotel I have ever been in, the bed was clean and that's about all. Carpets filthy and walls, dismal with a poor light. Windows also filthy. We actually went out round other hotels to see if we could get in but there was nothing. Was prepared to lose my £100, definitely wouldn't recommend this dive!

Room Tip: Our room was 46 on first floor, maybe other ones were better. Very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank sandra m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Dirty
Small
Dingy
Unfriendly
More like a hostel
Awful breakfast room more like a dungeon
Showers tiny and hardly work
Expensive
Will never return
Noisy!

I booked this hotel as I was attending a conference in kings cross. The location was great but everything else was awful. It was dirty and small and it should be advertised as a hostel really. I couldn't wait to get out of there and won't be returning.

Room Tip: Don't use this hotel unless you want hostel type accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happyhoneymooner100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

This hotel is about 500 metres from kings cross train station and approx. 30 to 45 minutes walk from Westminster. the staff are friendly. the room was basic but clean the shower worked well. it is ideal for people on a short break who just want somewhere to rest there heads.
my wife, myself and our two children (5yr and 7yr) had no complaints.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheClarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Wardonia Hotel
Wardonia Hotel
#517 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross
Bloomsbury
Albion House Hotel
Albion House Hotel
#953 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#539 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Melville
Hotel Melville
#741 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Bloomsbury
Howard Winchester Hotel
Howard Winchester Hotel
#738 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arriva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arriva Hotel

Property: Arriva Hotel
Address: 55 Swinton Street | Kings Cross, London WC1X 9NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #879 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Arriva Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This central London hotel just 5-minutes from King’s Cross rail station, offering well-maintained reliable facilities and an attentive, professional service. Compact, practical rooms with standard interior design throughout, complement excellent public transport links with tube, bus, taxi and regional rail links to every essential London destination on your doorstep. A short stroll from the British Museum and fashionable Bloomsbury, this hotel is a convenient, welcoming location for your London trip, be it for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Arriva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arriva Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing