We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flavour and quality abounds.”
Review of The Jugged Hare

The Jugged Hare
Ranked #1,975 of 27,206 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: City of London
Reviewed 5 March 2018

We have enjoyed a number of great meals here, mainly Sunday roasts which are absolute 10 out of 10's, however on New Years Eve we enjoyed the favourites as voted for by customers as the best of the years dishes. A great evening of delicious and different food including, a squirrel amuse bouche, trotters stuffed with haggis, rich faggots and Sika deer saddle followed by fantastic cheeses and a sublime desert all accompanied by delicious wines... what a fantastic evening this was in a delightful room with a lovely ambience and with strangers who became friends... thoroughly recommend booking for 2018.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank spwait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemmaETM, Guest Relations Manager at The Jugged Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Hi spwait

So pleased to hear you've had an amazing time with us! Thank you so much and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards
Guest relations team
feedback@etmgroup.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

110 - 114 of 1,257 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2018

In London on business for a week I frequented The Jugged Hare on multiple occasions. I found the staff to be pleasant and responsive, of special note would be the menu recommendations received from Cosmin Zaharia. The gravy's and sauces with main entrees as well as desserts were impeccably prepared. Additionally I found the use of varied herbs and spices delightful.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JLS532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemmaETM, Guest Relations Manager at The Jugged Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Dear JLS532

Thank you for taking the time to review your evening at The Jugged Hare.

I am delighted to hear you had such a lovely time and your feedback has been passed on the team at The Jugged Hare.

We hope to have you back at The Jugged Hare in the near future.

Kind regards
Guest relations team
feedback@etmgroup.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

We stopped at the hotel adjoining this restaurant & as we lovely real ales it was perfect, we arrived late to the hotel & decided to eat here & the food was delicious so pleased we had this wonderful place at our hotel it’s just our type of bar.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemmaETM, Guest Relations Manager at The Jugged Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Dear Debbie P

Thank you very much for your feedback. We really appreciate you taking the time to send such lovely comments and delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time at The Jugged Hare.

We look forward to you returning for another great experience, please do contact me directly if we can do anything more for you.

Kind regards
Guest relations team
feedback@etmgroup.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Amazing food, fantastic wine list and great service; not sure what else you’d want from a central London pub. We love the country style, all of the food is fantastic, the Sunday roasts are especially good. The wine list has a wide variety, including my favourite Sancerre Pinot Noir. Would recommended for a quick after work drink or a Sunday lunch.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank seane342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemmaETM, Guest Relations Manager at The Jugged Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Hi Saffy E

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback. We are delighted that you’ve enjoyed your time with us. We hope to welcome you back to The Jugged Hare soon.

Kind regards
Guest relations team
feedback@etmgroup.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Dropped into this delightful pub and decided to stay for supper!
No reservations, so was asked if sitting at the kitchen pass would work!

What a great find. We decided to share appetiser plates and ordered a great light French wine to cut through our meaty feast.

Pigeon bomb; a must try little pigeon sphere with a flamed rosemary sprigs and the most moorish gravy!

Roast lamb belly; 3 -1/2 inch thick slices cooked to perfection with an onion marmalade, juicy, crispy and tasty!

Oxtail; meaty perfect size with toasted sourdough, perfect gravy with a nice hit of pepper.

Black pudding croquettes; 3 perfect sausage roll size croquettes perfection!

Chips- thick cut must be double fried because they are uber crispy outside perfect white soft fluffy inside, must dip in pigeon bomb gravy!

Scallops- Isle of White- the only dish I didn’t care for ..the smallest scallops I’ve ever seen and unfortunately just not tasty at all.

Sitting at the kitchen pass was a great treat, the chef and line cooks all together in harmony fussing over each plate.

The mains looked fab - but we were stuffed from tying all the appetisers.

By the time we left the front bar was rammed, a popular spot with warm down home hospitality, a great game treats!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank StLuciaRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemmaETM, Guest Relations Manager at The Jugged Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Dear StLuciaRM

Thank you very much for your feedback. We really appreciate you taking the time to send such lovely comments and delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time at The Jugged Hare. We look forward to you returning for another great experience.

Kind regards
Guest relations team
feedback@etmgroup.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Jugged Hare also viewed

 

Been to The Jugged Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing