We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisy but nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sapphire Hotel London
Ranked #344 of 556 London B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Noisy but nice”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Nicely kept and decent breakfast. You will possibly be moved to a sister hotel which is about 6/7 doors away but not much of a hassle as they are just as nice. We were staying in a downstairs room on the ground floor.The only issue i have is the noise generated by all the doors slamming shut, its terrible and will either keep you awake or wake you up early in the morning. The staff were very friendly and helpful and all in all well worth the price. Rooms are a bit pokey but the hotel is in a decent location about 5 mins from Goldhawke Rd and Shepherds Bush Market tube stations

Room Tip: Upstairs should be a bit quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mredster01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    68
    66
    48
    47
See reviews for
23
96
36
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Booked this hotel due to the location for one night.

Thank goodness we only had one night, the staff are detached from the guest, interested only in ensuring they've got your money. Having to ensure you've paid in advance in full should have rang a few alarm bells.

The room was small with the bed against the wall, shower rooms are ridiculously small, with paint pealing from the ceiling and hair everywhere.

Unpleasant smell throughout the room, surface deep cleaning and bed linen giving unpleasant odour.

Breakfast is taken in the reception room with bags stacked up, people checking out, computers etc. all in the space of a standard lounge, needless to say we didn't bother.

In summary a thoroughly disappointing experience, one that we will not be repeating!

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter-Janine-W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

I was stunned at how small the rooms at this hotel were! I realise that rooms in big cities generally are smaller in size but the room I had was tiny. There are benefits to having an inroom fridge but in this room it took up too much space. The bathrooms seem to be newly renovated and are nice.

The reception/office is a desk that takes up a corner in a very cramped dining area that you squeezed into for breakfast each morning. The food was ok but nothing too special.

The street noise and sirens are defiantly a disturbance as there is no air conditioning in the rooms and during the summer the room got quite stuffy so I'd have to leave the windows open (it was the worst nights sleep I had ever had in a hotel).

If you can look past the noise, and size of your room then staying here is ok, unfortunately it's not a hotel I would stay in again or recommend to anyone.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Gigglypuff_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

yes this hotel is close to a busy street with many sirens, yes the rooms are small, however if you are staying in this hotel you are on a budget, the room is clean, the staff are pleasant, and helpful, the room is very modern, the en suite, is immaculate, there is even a fridge in your room, I have stayed in four star hotels with less impressive en suites, ok there is more floor space, however lets face it a hotel is somewhere to sleep, get washed, and store your belongings, this does all three very well.
people who complain they want air conditioning, or more space need to go to a more expensive hotel, and clearly have no concept as to the price of property in London.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayne q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Our room was in the basement next to a very, very busy and noisy street, police station nearby and there were sirens all the time, the room had no aircondition, and it was very hot outside. The double bed is so small that my husband had to sleep in the single bed wich was ment for our daughter, and my daugter slept with me. The bathroom is very small and my husband could hardly get in the shower because it is so small(he is not a small person). The stairs down to the room is very narrow and steep, and carrying our heavy suitcases up and down it was very difficult and tricky, no help was offered to us. The room above us is used as a reception and for breakfast, and early in the morning the staff were rearranging the tables and chairs with terrible noise and sqweek. For breakfast you could choose scrambled or fried eggs. Whitabix, cornflakes and croissants thats it. We asked for a fan in our room, the staff said that they would think about it, but it never came. the staff was lazy and very unhelpful!. We can not recommend this "hotel" and we were very very glad when we "got out".

Room Tip: There are no good rooms in a bad hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IV58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Upon arrival we were sent to the Pearl hotel which was AWFUL our hotel room was on the side of a busy road and down the road from both a police station and an ambulance station. Needless to say even though they had double pained windows we could not sleep due to the constant sirens. When I spoke to the hotel they informed me that if I was noise sensitive I should have warned them before my arrival. I did not realize that not being able to sleep due to sirens going all night was my issue versus the location. At the Pearl we also heard every footstep and toilet flush all night. The next night they moved us back to the Sapphire, breakfast was only eggs, beans, cereals and croissants. Most mornings they did not have a table for us as numerous hotels use their breakfast facility. Staff did not listen to what you were saying and did not make you feel welcomed in their space. They do not have AC but if you ask will give you a dirty fan in the room and no matter what hotel you in in leaving the windows open at night is not an option due to the street noise. The rooms were so small, there was no place to any luggage, and the sheets did not even fit the beds properly! When I spoke to the Manager he informed me that they did not need more business and really wasn't concerned if we were happy or wrote a review on their hotel. If you are considering this hotel, I suggest you look else where!

Room Tip: If you insist on staying here ensure you ask for one away from the street noise and ensure you are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SimplifyinCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tartu, Estonia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

As other reviews here, we also chose this hotel by the quite good reviews and nice pictures. When we got there we are "upgraded" into another hotel few doors down, named Pearl hotel ( Pearl hotels ratings were horrible and we would never would have gone there). We also told them that we are not happy to stay in Pearl and they said its not Pearl, it is Emerald hotel. But the key card said Pearl and also did the big sign above the front entrance said Pearl! Only thing that said Emerald in that hotel was wifi name. So probably they will be rebranding Pearl in to Emerald in near future.

It was the tiniest double room that i have ever seen. Also it was the narrowest double bed I have ever tried to sleep in. London went through heat wave at the time when we visited and that tiny room was hot like hell. And trying to sleep windows open it was very noisy. You could also hear every footstep on staircase. Pearl (Emerald) hotel was still in process of renovating and our room had smell of paint still in the room. In a tiny hot room that lingering smell of paint was really frustrating.

We chose not to stay there another night. Cannot comment the breakfast as we were really dissapointed with our stay and decided to skip breakfast. We tried to complain about the smell at night of our stay but the only thing we got back was that no one else has been complaining and every time I tried to make a new point about it is not possible to have good night sleep in that tiny hot room with paint smell, they said that we are the only ones complaining. Very dissapointing that we were not offered any refund for that night and as we booked for four nights we were also charged for next night but did get refund for remaining two nights ( we chose non-refundable fee as we never imagined that problem would be about hotel. The only reason that came to our head why refundable fee would be justified to us, if for some reason we would not show up). They did say that they were to relocate us to the Sapphire hotel next day but that one night was one of the most frustrating nights on our holidays ever so in the morning we decided to leave. We stayed for next three nights in Premier Inn in Putney Bridge instead and it was lovely.

On the plus side the room was clean and renovated. Also it is only about 7 minute walk from Sheperds Bush Tube station.

I definately would not suggest this hotel for couples who look for comfort and getaway. The hotel is suitable if you want cheaper place to put your head down.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henry343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Pearl Hotel London
#832 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Comfotel Prpl
#819 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
Grantly Hotel
Grantly Hotel
#683 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel 65
#745 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
Dorsett Shepherds Bush, London
Royal London Hotel
#272 of 556 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sapphire Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapphire Hotel London

Property: Sapphire Hotel London
Address: 35 Shepherds Bush Road, London W6 7LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Hammersmith / Fulham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #344 of 556 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sapphire Hotel London 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sapphire Hotel is a newly refurbished hotel offering all en suite rooms with Italian marble bathrooms with soft lighting, modern chic furnishing and contemporary decor which provides an ambience for relaxation. All rooms have a flat-screen LED TV with DVD player, sky channels and tea/coffee facilities. The entire hotel is non-smoking and is accessible via an electronic keycard system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Sapphire Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing