We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, ideal for a quick trip into London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Paddington Hotel
Ranked #854 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good value, ideal for a quick trip into London”
Reviewed 27 June 2012

No frills but everything we needed. Comfy double bed, tv, tea and coffee facilities, shower etc. Good location, 5mins walk to nearest tube station.

No air con and room was warm, couldn't really open window due to road noise.

A little tricky to find, no big sign just a small nameplate, also check in/out is at another hotel across the way

In general, clean, comfy, good location and good value.

Room Tip: A fair bit of traffic noise so a rear room (if there are any) would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    130
    118
    54
    48
See reviews for
31
200
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Really wanted a nice cheap hotel for me and my partners 2 day getaway to London. I'd never been before and my partner had already booked this hotel as it was close to The Royal Albert Hall for our concert "Carrie Underwood".

It was right in the middle of everywhere we wanted to visit, just a short subway ride away. We planned on a quick 20-25 minute walk through Hyde park but eventually it worked out not so quick. When we found the hotel there was a sign on the door telling us to go to the hotel opposite for reception etc. The receptionists were always very friendly and helpful, money was exchanged (which breakfast was included) and was told our room was on the other side and our key was given. Unfortunately our room was on the 4th floor and no lift was available BUT we are in our early 20's so it wasn't really a problem, as tiring as our traveling day was it didn't matter. I would find the stairs being a problem for elderly people or for people staying longer than a few days but as it was just one night it wasn't a problem at all.

The bedroom was small but very clean, comfortable and quiet. We had a fridge which we did not expect so for that I was happy for my alcohol. The lighting in the room was pretty bad but that was the only downside. the bed was all i wanted after our concert and drinks out. the bed was very clean and was comfortable. We both had a great nights sleep. Reading reviews beforehand the breakfast was a little daunting..but we was hungry so decided to go to the breakfast room that was open from 7.30am-11.30? we got there for about 8.15 and the room was full with only a couple of tables spare. We got a small table right next door to the kitchen hatch. there was alot of different food available, bread, croissants, cerals, fresh fruit and eggs. I guessed you asked a staff member to cook the eggs but we i decided for croissants and my partner went for toast. there was a large toaster and microwave. the food was absoltely fine and tasty.

being next to the hatch you could see the staff were very clean and were very helpful and told us to have a good day in London. (we were the last ones left in the room and we were the only ones who brought our plates back through to the kitchen which seemed appreciated)

we left our bags with the hotel when we gave our key back in. Would defently stay again if we come back to London next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground room floor if you don't wanna climb up a mountain always be polite...because i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catboyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Lovely rooms, but a bit un organised. Good location and easy access to the tube.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreasAndreas77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennesse
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We stayed here back in Sep 2011 for 4 nights and paid avg of 70 GBP a night for a room with an en-suite bathroom so for that price I guess it was not too bad. The location is the best part, it's close to Paddington Station and Lancaster tube, but on a quieter street. The room was a bit beaten-up and bathroom was little shabby (not dirty), but I think it could use an upgrade overall. I would not recommend it for a romantic stay, its a decent budget room for crashing out at night and if you're going to be away from the room most of the time sight seeing etc. It's better I think for singles or couples, we did not see any folks with kids and maybe steps etc would be more challenging if you have kids and luggage. This was our first time in London but I guess in this price range this would be among the best. The front desk and breakfast staff were friendly and breakfast is ok.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david_sTennesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Good for its price, situated near the Paddington railway staion. Rooms are simple furnitured and small but enough to fall to bed after London walks. The location is great: two different underground stations, a park and everything you need. The reception is in the opposite building. Breakfast is very simple. Staff is friendly and cheerful.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dee_hamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2012

If you're the type who's looking for a 4 or 5 star hotel, this is not for you. If you're comfortable staying at a no-frills kind of hotel, this is probably the best value. Yes, the building is a little old and could use some handywork or remodeling (nicks and dents around doors, etc), but everything does function. For a London hotel, it was more spacious than I anticipated (although the bathroom and shower were definitely on the small side). Bed was a little on the stiff side. Free breakfast downstairs was better than most: cereal, hard boiled eggs, toast, croissants, yogurt, coffee, juice, cheese. Excellent location-- close to 2 Tube stations (Paddington and Lancaster Gate) that make it easy to get wherever you want to go. Neighborhood was relatively quiet, but if you're a light sleeper, you may want earplugs just in case. Walking distance to several wonderful restaurants. No alarm clock in the room, but the staff is happy to set a wake-up call. There are, however, a safe, mini fridge, and electric kettle (with coffee & tea) in room.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012 via mobile

Booked the room so it would have 2 beds, got to the room and it had one. No elevator,had to climb up many flights of stairs with heavy bags. Wont let u sign in until 2. Bad place

Helpful?
Thank LONDONLUV1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Mitre House Hotel
#561 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
MStay 27 Paddington Hotel
#538 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Falcon Hotel
#658 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Tudor Court Hotel
#781 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Caring Hotel
#514 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Paddington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Paddington Hotel

Property: The Paddington Hotel
Address: 28 Gloucester Terrace, London W2 3DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #854 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Paddington Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Paddington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing