We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third time unlucky !!”
Review of Cottage 76

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cottage 76
Ranked #433 of 557 London B&B and Inns
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Third time unlucky !!”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Overpriced ! We had a bed in the kitchen ! Very noisy all night had very little sleep! Got up early to have shower and hair wash but no electricity to use hair dryer and no coffee ! Can stay down the road for same price in a nice hotel in future !

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Jude F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    3
    6
    12
    19
See reviews for
8
12
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I booked this room for me and my dad very last minute as I needed to be in oxford st first thing in the morning so needed a place to stay. I was on a budget & wanted more money to spend in shops than on a bed for one night. Admittedly I didn't read all the reviews just one that said it's ok for basic needs. On the way down to London I read some more and got worried.

When we arrived the guy met us, let us park our car overnight and for the next morning for free, based on London parking prices we were very grateful. He was very accommodating, carried our bags and made sure we had all we needed. The room was spotless and the bathroom wasn't as bad as made out in other reviews.

It's literally a 5 minute walk from the underground and you've got a massive shopping centre near too. It's £40 for a night for 2 people in London. Cheap as chips. For the purpose it served it was absolutely fine!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eliza P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anahim Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Walking in we felt like we were invading someone's house. We knocked on the door and the guy was on his phone and showed us to our room quickly. The room was clean and the bed was comfy but that's about it. There was no mirror in the room so girls, bring your own. There was a coffee pot but you must bring your own coffee. The worst part was the bathroom, it was filthy!! After a concert I wanted to take a shower since we had a flight really early in the morning. The light was not working but hoping the window light would do, I continued. Well, taking a shower in the dark was not ideal but it helped not seeing the condition of the shower. There was hair EVERYWHERE and it plugged up the shower. I couldn't find the toilet paper either. We didn't dare use the shared kitchen and got out of there quickly.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Adriana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Spent 3 days at Cottage 76.

Basic hotel. All the amenities ( Bath Shower Toilets Etc )
Good and Clean and they are finding their feet hotel wise.

Kettle / TV etc in room. PLENTY of drawer and wardrobe space.

It is based in Stratford and is 10 minutes walk from the rail station
and bus station. Central Line Tube will take you straight there.
25 bus stops withjin a minutes walk after St Johns Church too the Hotel..

You will get traffic noise.
This is after all London and Stratford is a thriving community.

Room Tip: Ignore the '' terrible '' swimming room there = clicked by accident. When you book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tafsheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We arranged to arrive at Cottage 76 with the owner to drop our bags off mid morning and were greeted by the owner and two others who showed us to our rooms. They seemed fairly pleasant however, the rooms did not. Due to our early morning arrival we assumed that the place had not been cleaned so giving it the benefit of the doubt we went to our gig at the Olympic park and arrived back to the place just before midnight to see the state of the rooms and communal areas (kitchen and bathroom) to be hardly any different. In the landing and on the stairs there was dirty towels and laundry with cleaning equipment that looked like it had been abandoned.

The bedrooms were basic and looked fairly clean yet on closer inspection, there was grime and dirt everywhere. Including dirty tissues and unidentified debris under the beds, there was one curtain on the curtain rail that was clearly broken and had not been replaced. The room was generally dusty and very unkempt.

The shared bathroom was the worst part of the house, with filth absolutely EVERYWHERE including: a uncleaned toilet, sink and shower tray, grime and yellow dirt/ stains in the shower with an open plug hole with stagnant brown water inside. There was an overflowing bin with dirty tissues lying around on surfaces, there wasn't even the luxury of toilet roll! The white tiles on the floor were black with dirt which looked like they had not been cleaned in months, the mop bucket had filthy brown water in it which looked like it had been sat in there for god knows how long. The communal kitchen looked filthy and on inspection there were wires hanging out of the extractor cooker hood, and the rest of the kitchen looked so unclean and very dirty.

We were a family group of 5 and were extremely upset on return from our day out, and out of our desperation of wanting to leave we tried to ring other hotels to find any booking we could only to be told everywhere was fully booked. We only stayed in this accommodation purely as a last resort as we had nowhere else to go and we were extremely tired and hot with it being the hottest weekend of the year.

We felt unsafe because there were no staff members in the house and no reception area. We were just given keys and were basically told to get on with it. There were no fire escapes which was worrying and even more worrying there was no fire escape advice in the house that we could see. The boiler which was on the landing looked quite old with wires hanging out of the underneath which seemed very unsafe. There were other people staying in the house as well as we heard movement in other rooms, it felt like we were intruding in on someones house and it just had a uncomfortable feel about the place.

We woke up at 7 am to get out of the house as soon as possible and due to the heat it was so stuffy and unpleasant. We were all forced to shower out of necessity as we had another day in London and the heat was pretty unbearable. We brought our own towels luckily and used the towels provided to stand on in the shower in fear of the dirt on the shower floor.


We were going to pay for the accommodation by credit card but after googling reviews on the internet about the place we saw that there had been a previous issues with people trying to pay by card and after reading other reviews on the place we were shocked, embarrassed and extremely upset that we were staying in a place with such bad hygiene, with some family members so upset that they were in tears.

On departure we rang the owners mobile to pay him in cash and to tell him about the state of the place. We met him outside and gave him £20 for each member of the family and we made him a reciept. We didn't really want to pay him anything, but out of courtesy we decided to give him something. We also let him know about how awful his 'accommodation' was with his acknowledgement of having to clean his act up yet he didn't seem fazed by what we said.

We had a great weekend but the definite low light was this shocking accommodation, we have stayed in budget accommodation before but nothing compares to this one. Do not be fooled by the exterior of the place which appears fairly decent- inside it is another story.

Take a look at the pictures to see for yourself.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank babyj123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We booked this as a very basic place to crash after a gig at the
Olympic park. Dont mind basic but got no towels and one bed has no pillows.

The kitchen is shocking and clearly doesn't get cleaned.

The bathroom. Well truely appauling. Dirt around sink, shower had yellow stains and the toilet! It had been seriously soiled on the evening. It has no flush so mess everyehere. It was stil like this the next morning. Sickening and we left witjout using the shower or toilet.

Also says check in from 1pm but room wasnt ready.

Aviod this place, evrn if you are looking for basic, it is terible, I have stayed in lots of budget 2 star places but this isnt on the scale. It shouldnt be able to trade like this.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen580406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arundel, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

A stay at Cottage 76 is NOT for the faint of heart.

My husband and I needed a last minute place to stay while visiting London for a concert - as we were on a budget, we had jokingly toyed with the idea of kipping in the train station until morning. Immediately upon stepping foot onto the property, I found myself wishing that we'd braved the train station instead.

We weren't expecting much, given that we paid £45, but you would at least expect the establishment to be clean even if it lacked some of the luxuries of a more expensive accomodation. It's easier at this point to name the offenses in list form:

- massive piles of dirty landry spilling out of bags and obscuring the front door
- dirty glasses with mysterious orange residue in our room
- suspect white substance on one of the decorative bed pillows
- excrement in the shared toilet
- urine on the top of the toilet lid
- various pubic hairs scattered throughout the bathroom, accumulating in the showers
- used ear buds on the sink
- no towels in either of the bathrooms

I feel as though the owners of this establishment ought to take a good look at their cleaning routine (or lack thereof).

If you're strapped for cash but need a place near Stratford station, stay at the Ibis just down the road.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London Stratford
Epsilon Hotel
#582 of 1,067 in London
183 reviews
East End / East London
Ibis London Stratford
Ibis London Stratford
#455 of 1,067 in London
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westbridge Hotel
#103 of 1,067 in London
1,359 reviews
Travelodge London Stratford
#368 of 1,067 in London
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage 76? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage 76

Property: Cottage 76
Address: 76 Romford Road, London E15 4EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #433 of 557 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Cottage 76 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Cottage 76 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing