We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Italian Food!”
Review of Il Gusto

Il Gusto
Ranked #4,637 of 22,564 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$8 - US$19
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Italian Food!”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We enjoyed eating here a few times. We loved the fresh salads (Caprese) and the fettuccine alfredo. The only negative was the smokers. They sat outside and all of the smoke seemed to come back into the restaurant. It was choking!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    74
    51
    36
    69
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“no me gusto”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The staff tried, but the chef didn't. I felt like everything came out of the freezer. The risotto was cheap rice, not proper risotto. The seafood was lacking flavour, my dates dish was cold until she asked for it to be heated up (microwaved).

I don't plan on going back here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Absolutely awful stay away”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This place is not fit to be called a restaurant and the owners should be ashamed of the quality of food being produced in their kitchen. This place is a tourist trap, serving awful food, with no effort at all made. Location probably means owners are happier serving extremely cheap low quality food at a huge mark-up to unsuspecting tourists rather than actually building up a reputable business.

This morning we decided to have breakfast at a local place. We unfortunately picked this establishment without checking TripAdvisor first. The food was awful, my girlfriend had a completely tasteless pannini (mozzarella and ham), it consisted of a cold slice of cheese and ham, on stale bread.... the owner/chef doesn't even know a pannini should be warm and the cheese melted... is this seriously an Italian restaurant (even more humorous was its description of being freshly baked). I ordered a selection of different types of croissant and cinnamon swirl, imagine my surprise when I got a soggy microwaved single croissant, I'm being serious here - I genuinely think this was simply out of a super-value pack range at a supermarket. I also had a flavorless vegetable omelette. To make matters worse, we were served coke, which was completely flat and unchilled without ice. Again the owners have cut corners and are probably serving some generic brand of coke rather than the real stuff.

When we left we pointed out to the manager/owner that we were not happy at all with the food and wouldn't be returning - he showed no interest whatsoever and simply said "OK, sorry".

Please avoid!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anmhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good italian food”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Great service, good prices. Even if the forgot one of the dishes the first day, the way they made up for it made us come back the next day. Very friendly staff

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Staff where lovely”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Had to eat here as this is where our hotel served our paid upfront for breakfast..Paid for continental/cooked..we didn't get option, when seated it was a full cooked put in front of you.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dot C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Gusto also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to Il Gusto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing