We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Fortnums darling!”

The Diamond Jubilee Tea Salon
Ranked #702 of 22,853 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$59 - US$72
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: St. James's
Description: The tradition of taking tea and that little bit of something between lunch and dinner has long since been a feature at Fortnum & Mason. Our tranquil Diamond Jubilee Tea Salon was opened by HM The Queen and has since become a stylish destination for the most traditional of afternoon teas.
Marlow
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“So Fortnums darling!”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Its lovely - dont bother with the savoury first course option as you will be so full after the scones, cakes, more cakes and the hefty cake carriage! Its not my favourite place for tea but its Fortnums and its ever so lovely!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellingEastMarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    713
    277
    170
    78
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Over-rated”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Went there for afternoon tea. Food was so-so. The finger sandwiches and the desserts on the dessert carriage were the only decent things. The scores were dry and rock-hard. The pastries and jam too sweet. Tea was a disappointment as well. Service was poor - we literally had to asked for water and utensils. What was worst was that we actually saw a server picking up a spoon he dropped and put it on another table!!! Will never return.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank turtlestitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“expected more”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

the food was rather bland, the finger sandwiches a bit dry and nothing special. the scones were warm and served with clotted cream and jams, very good actually. the petit fours way too sweet and boring. we did try some battenburg cake from the cake selection, also a bit dry. we did not get the option of a doggie bag to take the food we did not manage to eat.

the staff was unobtrusive. did not see a tearista. our friends, who ordered tea, loved the selection. if you order coffee, you get filter coffee, despite the excellent coffee they sell in the store's ground level. we were a bit surprised by this. maybe a suggestion for the future? serve these fine coffee blends in the salon, please.

the furniture was a bit dated, i expected something more upbeat. would probably not go back to the afternoon tea there, but by all means, visit the food/tea/coffee store.

oh and about the dress code, thankfully there is none, it's no problem to enjoy your afternoon tea in jeans and converse.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank clivia g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A wonderful way to spend an afternoon!”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Came here with my mum and we were very impressed. The service was faultless. The food was yummy and there was a lovely selection of teas. We also pushed the boat out and had champagne! Beautiful surroundings accompanied by a wonderful pianist. The staff were extremely attentive and we were very well looked after. A fantastic way to spend a leisurely afternoon, with a bit of shopping thrown in! Can't wait to go back!

Helpful?
Thank Twinklejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“High tea at its best!”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

You get what you pay for and here is no exception. The quintessential English decor/atmosphere, the professional and courteous service, and the exquisite food delights makes this restaurant quite superior to other establishments offering high tea. Yes it is expensive but it is not every day you are going to eat here and as a treat it is an experience most memorable indeed. My daughter recently celebrated her 9th birthday here with three friends having afternoon tea. Despite their age, they were still treated as respected guests and F & M made her birthday an extremely happy one. Would definitely recommend this restaurant for a celebration or just to spoil yourself in sheer indulgence!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Diamond Jubilee Tea Salon also viewed

 

Been to The Diamond Jubilee Tea Salon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing