We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Underwhelming, over priced food”
Review of The Woolpack

The Woolpack
Reserve with OpenTable
The Woolpack is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5,493 of 22,564 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Southwark
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Underwhelming, over priced food”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Nice enough pub, but the food is high on price and low on quality. £12 will get you a hot-dog bap with pork covered in a chipotle sauce, that I'd expect to find served in a fast food restaurant, four lettuce leaves, and a handful of chips. I'd be polite if I said the food was average; the price was bordering on offensive. Underwhelming.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    76
    29
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food, dog-friendly, lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We were so pleased to find a dog-friendly pub in this area of London, and wondered if we would have to compromise on quality because of it - but the Woolpack was really lovely. Friendly staff, nice atmosphere, good beers available, and the food was impressive. It's rare to find good pub food but this has the balance right. Chips in particular were generally reviewed as exceptional, and all our meals were delicious.

Would highly recommend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level Contributor
177 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“lovely boozer with a nice garden”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

this is a gem of a pub, its old fashioned but with a modern twist and the garden is a great place to spend a sunny evening.. recommended!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JONMCINERN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Bad service. Bad food. Terrible smell.”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I went to the Woolpack with friends a few months ago and was really impressed with the food we had. So, today we thought we would go back again as it seemed like a safe bet.
Unfortunately, it felt like a completely different pub. I ordered drinks and food at the bar from a barmaid who barely made any eye contact, just took my money without a word or smile. Not a great start. Someone suggested that they were maybe just stressed because it was Easter but the place really wasn't that busy at all. How hard is it just to be pleasant? I received a poorly poured pint of Guinness and took it back to my table to wait for the food.
When our food arrived, it was again presented without a word (a different waitress this time). No 'Enjoy your food', or 'do you need anything else?' My burger was overcooked and dry.
And - the place smelt awful! Unfortunately I had already ordered our food before I sat down and noticed it.
I don't know what has happened to this bar but it's a real shame. I won't be rushing back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ellagurutoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Bermondsey Local”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Really good pub that is cosy in winter and fantastic sheltered beer garden in summer. Has good gastro-pub meals, decent ales, cocktails and is dog friendly. Staff are consistently excellent and we have been regulars fo a number of years.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Woolpack also viewed

 
London, England
 
London, England
 

Been to The Woolpack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing