We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value reasonable quality”

Speedy's Sandwich Bar & Cafe
Ranked #600 of 22,544 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good value reasonable quality”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Visited as part of a Sherlock walk around London. Kids really enjoyed it. Food is basic but represents good value. Mainly eat for the location but was not disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank NigelBowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    93
    19
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Lovely breakfast”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We have just returned from London and would like to tell other people about Speedy's. We went there for our breakfast 2 out of the three mornings. Everything was fresh and well cooked. The prices are very reasonable also. Well worth finding this little cafe. The staff were very attentive and we would definitely return when in london.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank teresa42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant value for money, and a must-see for any BBC "Sherlock" fan!”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

My friend and I visited Speedy's yesterday as we are huge fans of "Sherlock" and wanted to stake out the area that the show is filmed in. There was a short wait, but this was absolutely fine as everyone was very friendly and the staff were extremely welcoming, helpful, and accommodating. Once inside, we were served right away, choosing a traditional English fry-up, and this was brought to us within 5 minutes. This cafe lives up to its name! The food was delicious, more so than I expected it to be, and at around £4, it was a steal. The only thing I would say that it is EXTREMELY small, so if you're not a fan of being very close to the other people around you and being a bit squished, you may want to check it out first before deciding to eat in here. But I have absolutely no complaints - I almost liked being so close to the others around me because most of them appeared to be "Sherlock" fans too. There were even a few cosplayers!

Overall, this is a must-see for any fan of the show. There are cute, little drawings and photos on the walls of the cast & crew of "Sherlock". The staff are absolutely wonderful, the food is delicious and great value for money, and the atmosphere was lively and homely. I really liked it!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jade G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
470 reviews
253 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Great value and great food”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Thought we'd have a quick snack as we were in the area, and glad we did. A lovely fried breakfast....good choice and variation and pretty good value too. Expected the prices to be inflated due to the Sherlock link, but pleasantly surprised they weren't....good on you Speedy's!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Derek E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing breakfast”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Came here because this is one of the most well-known sites for filming BBC's Sherlock. The Speedy's breakfast was, however, unexpectedly delicious. After having traditional English breakfast for a week, I was glad that I had Speedy's breakfast during my visit in London.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chi-Feng P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Speedy's Sandwich Bar & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Speedy's Sandwich Bar & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing