We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further for the best fish 'n chips in London!”

Baileys Fish and Chips
Ranked #58 of 22,674 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$11
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Hammersmith / Fulham
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
312 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Look no further for the best fish 'n chips in London!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Look no further, this really is the best fish 'n chips in London. The Trip Advisor reviews glow for good reason, and, if you really do some digging, you'll find that Bailey's is one of only two or three places in London that makes virtually EVERY "Top 10" list for fish 'n chips. Yes, it's a bit off the beaten track, way out west in Fulham, but that just means there are far fewer tourists and you're likely to be the only out-of-towners if you visit. Just a 10-15 minute walk from the West Brompton Tube Station, or, if you like, you can hop a bus from Hammersmith. Huge servings of flaky crusted fish, all super fresh, the usual cod and also haddock, plaice, skate and more. Perfectly cooked, hot and crispy outside, soft and moist on the inside, with a nice, tart tartar sauce. Mushy peas of course, and the chips alone are almost worth the trip out to Fulham - large in the English style but nicely crispy as they should be, never soggy. No liquor service, but you're free to snag a beer from the package store next door and bring it with you. Small, extremely clean, very friendly, and the food is everything you'd want it to be. Can't go wrong!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Holokauahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,058
    296
    52
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
72 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“amazing hidden gem”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We found this place on trip advisor and I am so glad that we did. This is a tiny restaurant in Chelsea and we ordered the lunch special cod fish and chips for 5.65 euro.. It was so large that we split it and it was DELICIOUS!!! We also ordered mushy peas and kidney pie... Let me say, you must stop by and partake in this traditional meal. Baileys is a must!!! Plus they give you a chocolate mint for dessert!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tiffanypainting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“A Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence - for good reason”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

They have recently been awarded a Certificate of Excellence by this website for 2014. And oh my word they deserve it. The lunch promotion - please check on their website that it's still on before you visit - is exceptional value for a really really good plate of cod & chips - it is £5.65 every day (not just weekdays) between noon and 5pm. There is a big menu but this isnt what makes Baileys special. Yes, the food is very good indeed - fresh & tasty. It's the exceptional care & friendly service which marks this place out and they deserve all the success. As an example I was there very early on Sunday 1210 or so and often when a place is buzzing, the service is slack as the crew arent quite in the swing of things yet but there was none of that towards this solo visitor - twice they came up to ask if everything was OK - they did this sincerely rather than in that mechanical way you find in bigger establishments where it's part of the "training". The combination of delicious food, very fair price and friendly service is a WINNING combination. It's not such a big secret but few establishments achieve it consistently. Congratulations guys ! Now can you open a branch closer to me please...near Camden Town-ish ?

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndrewH-in-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
216 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Good Food & Lovely Staffs!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Greetings from Indonesia!

As others have written, food was good (although a little on the oilier side) & service was even better (our server was super friendly & took some pictures of us). The portions were also good, water was free, the atmosphere was "homey" & the prices reasonable indeed. it was about a 10 minutes walk to the Tube station & easy to find on a quiet, residential street.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank agchen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best fish & chips in town!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

I went to London for a week and found this spectacular place in Fullham. Yes, the food is great but what makes it so special is the people that works at the place, all of them are really kind and they were happy to explain me the whole menu and gave me their personal suggestions. The size of the fish is really big, so get hungry before going. A great place to eat what London is about. Greetings from Mexico!

Helpful?
Thank Alberto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baileys Fish and Chips also viewed

 

Been to Baileys Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing