We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adorably Excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strand Cafe

Strand Cafe
Ranked #2,276 of 22,202 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Adorably Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

This is local, adorably cute and cosy restaurant with amazing morning breakfast, with wonderful staff and the owner (Hossein) remembering everyone's faces and names - making everyone feel welcome and always wanting to come back for more! The Thai menu during the day is wonderful, with a lovely river side breeze in the warm summer evenings, with suitable seating and lovely new gazebo outside all with fairy lights and tea candles :) Thank god its my local, but worth the commute for anyone else!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MNademi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    21
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Delightful ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Very reasonably priced menu, with lots of choice but I went for the Thai lunch which is any Thai main, dim sum and a drink for £11. Lovely curries and noodles and friendly staff. Worth a try

Helpful?
1 Thank sirmonkeybum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
100 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A Little Gem by Kew Bridge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We were invited here by a friend who swears by the place. He was right!

What fabulous food. Our choice was to go with Thai on the night. But they will make almost anything you want. We had delicious Dim Sum to share at first. Followed by soup's. I had a very creamy Tom Kar Kay. A coconut soup with very lean chicken and a lovely 'bite' at the aftertaste which was served piping hot to us on our outdoor chairs. My wife had a spicier soup that she says was just perfect too.

For our main I had King Prawn Pad Thai. Couldn't fault it. Really lovely. My Wife's Green Curry was apparently quite the nicest she's had in years. Now that's saying something!

Top Tip - It's very small. Book if you can for a weekend night. If you enjoy plane spotting whilst you dine this place is ideal. They're not overbearing, but fly over the Thames in full view. The traffic noise from Kew Bridge isn't intrusive either.

Thank you to the Owner and Staff for looking after us so well on the night.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank liam_kenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Thai food at its best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We had a fabulous Thai meal here on a Saturday evening (17 May) food was superb. Service was efficient and friendly. The atmosphere and welcome in this little gem was so nice we could have stayed all night! Prawn satay starter and thai red curry main highly recommended. Carol

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Thai food in London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

I work nearby and try to eat at this place at least once a week. Great food and even better atmosphere. It's only small and so very intimate, sometimes feeling like you are sitting on the knee of the next diners. But overall I love this place would defnitely recommend a visit

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NataliaInt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Strand Cafe also viewed

Brentford, Greater London
Brentford, Greater London
 

Been to Strand Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing