We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT LOCATION. THATS IT.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
London Carlton Hotel
Ranked #909 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“GREAT LOCATION. THATS IT.”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Its a known fact that hotels in London charge through the roof.

So when Carlton hotel (being situated right opposite King's Cross St. Pancras Station) was available for 75 pounds a day, I checked and compared with other hotels in the same area and none came closer, considering this hotel gave en-suite bathroom at this price.

Another point worth mentioning is that they cleaned up the room everyday without me even for once asking them to do so.

I know its expected, but you will be surprised how hotels can be.... I have had the experience and hence this point.

Breakfast is same everyday - I stayed for 6 days - so be ready for same typical English breakfast.

Wish they gave another 1 sq. mtr to the room... it was too congested in 8 sq. mtr

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank anisenkolkata0310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    72
    107
    59
    83
See reviews for
89
81
49
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Let me start from what is good: location. That's it. A place to stay when you need to be close to the international train station. All the rest sucks, horrible bed and bathroom, a LOT of noise, mainly from other bedrooms, terrible lift and a very dark atmosphere. Never coming back.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Giselle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Plymouth
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Ok, so the location is great, the price was very good. So I cant complain too much. However double beds are on the small side and not the most comfortable in the world. The bathroom could have smelt a lot more fresh ! If your on a budget and not planning on spending a lot of time in your room, then its fine, if you want home comforts, then pay more and go else where. But for someone visiting London then how much time do you actually spend in the hotel ?

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlymouthEden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halle, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

The hotel is located at 200 m from the Pancras Station. So it's always easy to get back to the hotel after visiting the city.
Room are small but everything is present: a clean bed, towels, a clean bathroom, teafacilities, little TV, good heating,...
Our room was located just above a bar => we heared oriental musical till late at night... Isolation for noise isn't super also...
But for this fair price a budget hotel with easy acces from whole Londen.
The breakfast was typical English: scrambled eggs, saucise, bacon, baked eggs, beans, tomatosauce, toasts, cornflakes, jam and butter.
TO drink: Milk, coffee, tea, juice and water.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeroen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

3 nights stay at the Carlton in Kings Cross, Very clean and good breakfast each morning. Wonderful atmosphere, my regular place to visit and sure will continue in staying here.
Excellent ! Many thanks in making my stay enjoyable.
Cheers

Room Tip: If you have issues, speak to the managers...they are friendly and very approachable and very helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djw1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Apart from the central location, this hotel rated very poor. We booked one room for two people and although I expect that this compromises on space, this room was definitely not suitable for two double beds. The room itself was smelly, stuffy and not clean. Beds were extremely uncomfortable. The bathroom was horrid; the shower screen glass was broken, making it quite dangerous. There was a tap especailly for drinking water mounted directly above the other taps, which was inpractical. There were black damp stains and a window that didn't open. Allthough the breakfast was ok, the dining room was too small and staff could not keep up with supplying the food, cleaning the tables and providing clean crockery and cutlery.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Emmy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed for 7 nights in Carlton Hotel. Towels were changed and room was done daily. Breakfast was good. One day on our stay we had to get the Eurostar very early so we didn't had any worries to be there on time coz we had just to cross the road. No frills and all, but the location is perfect. One thing I was unsatisfied was the internet in room. In the mornings it was extremely slow and in the evenings I couldn't connect at all. Internet in the lobby was quite good, but definitely not in the room.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElinorV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#564 of 1,068 in London
910 reviews
Kings Cross Inn Hotel
#851 of 1,068 in London
733 reviews
Bloomsbury
Albion House Hotel
Albion House Hotel
#950 of 1,068 in London
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Wardonia Hotel
Wardonia Hotel
#536 of 1,068 in London
965 reviews
Bloomsbury
Howard Winchester Hotel
Howard Winchester Hotel
#736 of 1,068 in London
543 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#253 of 1,068 in London
1,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Carlton Hotel

Property: London Carlton Hotel
Address: 1A Birkenhead Street, London WC1H 8BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #909 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — London Carlton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your London Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing