We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carlton Hotel London
Nearby Hotels
US$343
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$329
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$228
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Doubletree
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Tower(London)(Great Value!)
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$277
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$260
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$272
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$227
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$364
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$259
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (384)
Filter reviews
384 results
Traveller rating
24
81
118
66
95
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
81
118
66
95
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquad roomking crosscheap hotelundergroundsoho
Filter
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 384 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The worst Hotel I've ever stayed in! Twin room size was adequate but it was very basic and the noise inside & outside the hotel continued all night. There were 2 cups, 1 saucer and no spoon to make a drink with and the kettle was still full from the previous occupants. The bathroom was tiny with no window and no toilet roll holder, there was also a piece of wood covering what appeared to be a hole in the door!! The inside of the door to the room looked as though it had never been cleaned, hand prints everywhere & goodness knows how many germs. Breakfast was ok, about what you would expect, except they serve watery orange squash not juice and not pleasant. There is a tiny lift for 2 people & 1 bag so if you're a couple one of you will have to abandon your bag or take the tiled steps! I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank cazrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The room was quite clean but smelled strongly of bleach when we first entered. The receptionist was not particularly friendly or pleasant. The corridors were filled with bags of sheets like some kind of dump.

There was no air conditioning and the room was in full sunlight all day. The room was very small and the bed smallish for a couple. It was very uncomfortable during hot summer weather. What made this worse is the bed and sheets and matrass were all cheap and low quality. Sleeping at night was hard due to the heat and constant noise from police and ambulance sirens, car alarms as well as drunken and trashy people screaming outside for hours at a time. Over the road there was ongoing construction work and we saw a rodent on the roof opposite to ours.

The bathroom was also small and cramped and ugly. The towels are not good quality but were reasonably clean. The sink was tiny and hard to use. The fan in the bathroom was noisy and ineffective. Worst of all was that the shower was extremely low pressure and therefore it was hard to was oneself properly. For the price I was very unhappy with the quality of the hotel and advise anyone to use only as a last resort.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel was NOT a three star hotel! Room was basic, beds hard but clean. Bedroom fixturescand fittings were either damaged or dirty. Bathroom was awful: dirty bath surround and a piece of wood stuck on door (to cover a hole?). No attention to detail (one saucer, no spoons, kettle full up with water from previous occupant). Did not sleep due to noise outside from traffic, people talking on the street below and an ongoing pneumatic drill (roadworks!). Breakfast was adequate although a choice of having a pre made cup of instant coffee or a glass of orange squash are not the best of beverages to wake up to!
On a plus side:the location is good as it's near to good transport connections & restaurants within close proximity. I think that either the entire hotel needs to be refurbished to reach the rating...or the rating be reviewed to being a 1* (or 2* at a push!) Will not recommend!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Leigh-jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

One of the worst hotel I've ever been: for a price of £118, a so-called "triple room", as large as a single room, with one small bed and another bed just a litte large than a single one.
Noisy, not telephone, with wake-up call made by knocking on the door.
The toilets are very poor, with no shampoo at all and 2 water taps, of which one for drinkable water (?)

Also, the breakfast is very poor
In conclusion it is better to find other alternatives in London

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jameslan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My Grandmother booked this hotel, so before flying to London I went onto trip advisor and read all the reviews and I got a little scared because most were not good reviews.
Yes the rooms and bathrooms are small, but seriously you're not going overseas to spend the day in the room. Location was great, directly across the road from the train station. So yes there is noise, but you are on a main road close to everything. So if you are looking for something quieter I would suggest booking somewhere outside of London.
I stayed here with my husband and 2 children. Now my son got sick while we were in London and had to take him to hospital and the staff were only to happy in directing us to the best and closest hospital. My husband found them great to talk to when he would go downstairs for a smoke, they even enquired as to how our son was feeling. We also needed some dishwashing liquid to wash our sons bottles and it was no trouble at all for the office person to go to the kitchen and get some for us.
So all in all for a cheap hotel, I would say yes stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bettyc101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews