We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mentone Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$287
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$243
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$229
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$316
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$306
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$261
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$383
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
The Tower(London)(Great Value!)
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (617)
Filter reviews
617 results
Traveller rating
109
268
137
57
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
268
137
57
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscartwright gardensrussell squarefull english breakfastkings crossbritish museumst pancraseuston stationno elevatorquiet areatwin roomshort walkbeanstea and coffeepubs and restaurantsexcellent breakfastwould stay againcouple of nights
Filter
Updating list...
244 - 249 of 617 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I've stayed a few times at this hotel. For the price it's good value. Rooms are clean, breakfast is very good (cooked to order and choice of the usual Full English components - I always go for Bacon & Eggs), free WiFi - which worked for me everywhere in the hotel - and tea/coffee in the room. Remember it's in London so don't expect huge rooms - you won't get them anywhere in this area in this price bracket.

Room Tip: Rooms 10 to 13 are on the top (4th?) floor and the final staircase to them is narrow and twisting. Avoid if you're not nimble or struggle climbing several flights of stairs.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricky0912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I stay a couple of days here. Is a very nice location. Rooms are clean, large, furniture is new. Location is another reason for recommends this hotel: is very close to King Cross station- Eurostar, British Museum, Oxford Street.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times so have stayed in several different rooms. This time, because I had booked the only remaining room, I had a triple room as a single! I have always found this hotel friendly, clean and efficient with an excellent breakfast. It is most convenient for Euston, Kings Cross and St Pancreas stations and there is a good selection of food outlets in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kendoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

My family and I really liked this place. I was a bit small, but not by London standards. When we walked in, we were greeted by a very nice American man at the front desk who knew lots of good tips for us and recommended a delicious fish & chips place. It was the end of July when we stayed and the hotel is not air conditioned so it got a little sticky. We had our windows open (they only opened about an inch) but the street noise was quite loud.
The breakfasts were good, especially the warm croissants! The front desk was also kind enough to let us print out some tickets for a bus tour, right before they closed which was extremely helpful.
Overall a good stay, fairly priced and is only a 5 minute walk to the tube station (Russell Square).

Room Tip: I would advise against basement or street level rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mag333333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The Mentone Hotel is handy for St Pancras/King's Cross stations and Russell Square, located in a pleasant area opposite gardens containing tennis courts. The hotel is in a handsome terrace and seems to be two terraced houses knocked into one. However, on the inside, the hotel is bland and unimaginative. On arrival, the receptionist was brisk and unsmiling, and one of the first things she said to me was "£80 please!".

My single room was on the top floor. If you have difficulty walking, don't take a top-floor room as the final staircase is quite tricky to navigate. It was a typical small single-room for London, but it was at least fairly bright with modern, basic furniture. The window was at the rear of the hotel and there was no double-glazing, but it was nevertheless quiet. There was a roller blind as well as nice cheerful curtains, which helped cut out the early morning Summer light. However, I think the room must have been near to water pipes for a number of rooms, as I heard water running until the early hours of the morning - perhaps another disadvantage of the top floor. The shower-room looked a bit tired and cheerless, but it was functional and at least a bar of soap was provided.

Breakfast was served in a dining room in the basement. A buffet selection was crammed into a corner, with the obvious potential for congestion. The breakfast room got busy fairly quickly after the 8am start (on a Saturday). There was a limited but adequate choice of cold food in the buffet and hot food could be ordered from a menu. The breakfast staff were pleasant and efficient.

The main strength of this hotel is its location, the interior being quite unremarkable. Pre-Olympics, before London hotel prices went silly, I would have expected to pay £55-£65 per night for a hotel of this standard. Now, this was one of the few hotels that I could find under £100. At £80, it is perhaps a little over-priced but does offer an acceptable base for a short stay in London.

Room Tip: If you have difficult walking, don't accept a room on the top floor.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CRobDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews