We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night stop for a 09:31 Eurostar”
Review of Mentone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mentone Hotel
Ranked #581 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Having done some others we found this area on our way to St Pancras on a previous occasion from Russell Square, so did some research of all in the crescent and went for this one, and it was a good choice we thought as it was a good price for London and a 10-15 walk max to St Pancras which is what we were looking for having tried Kings Cross side for the same price with bad experience.We arrived just after 20:00 and the guy on reception was very charming and very helpful and told us all we needed to know about the workings of the hotel.Our room(22) was on the second floor which was easy to get to. When we got in we were more than happy as we had a double and a single which was not asked for but the extra room was welcome the on-suite was very nice and new and every thing was clean.We both had a good nights sleep as it is in a very quiet area but close to the UG at Euston and St Pancras and Kings Cross.In the morning we went for breakfast at eight o'clock and it was excellent as you had it cooked fresh to order and it tasted good,plus there was cereals etc if needed.When we next need to stay overnight in London for an early start for Eurostar or even a long weekend this Hotel will be top of the list of choices.No complaints at all on this first visit, we were both very impressed and very happy compared to other places we have stayed this one is a little gem for us anyway.

Room Tip: We had 22 as it's easy to get to and if there is only the two you have lots of room,and it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingTrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (591)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 591 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

I stayed 3 nights in this hotel. The rooms are not particularly cheap, but again, it is quite difficult to find cheap rooms in London.
My room was clean, the bed was good. The room was on the very top of the stairs, which get quite narrow towards the end.
Some of the staff at the desk was quite rude, but the people handling breakfast and cleaning were very nice.
Breakfast was ok, although served in a small room that quickly fills with the smoke from the cooking of sausages and bacon.
A big shock though was that I was told to leave my luggage in the reception room (where anyone can walk in and out) until my room was ready, and not in a locked room, as is usually the case.

In the end, i didn't regret choosing this hotel, but I still will probably try another one next time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AliceTravellersName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

The Single was very small and the toilet as well but I for solo travellers but no lift and narrow stairway on top floor...Best for Gud location kingscross station 5 min. Appx and alt of restaurants and coffee shops nearby....

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank drmohdtanveer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Clean and in a good location for central London.
I booked only 24 hours before and ended up with a triple room for just myself, so had no issues over room size. Room was clean and shower was good (seemed newly refurbished).
Was on top floor - pretty tight and I understand what people have said. You'd get the cases up the stairs, but it would not be easy.
Breakfast was included and was remarkably good - I expected it to be very basic....
I'd go back.

Room Tip: I was in room 11. it's top floor so avoid if you're not happy with tight stairways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SKIcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

i booked a twin and a single. have just returned from our one night stay. both our rooms were not ready on arrival at 1pm. so left our bags in one of our rooms in the wardrobe so they could still clean the rooms. not a big problem. check in quick but not very welcoming. pregnant lady on reception, i dont think she is a people person, shame. we had one single on first floor i couldnt believe how small it was. the bed squeezed into a small gap, god knows how the cleaners manage to make the bed. bathroom not good, very old dirty/scum looking tiles on the floor of the shower, really didnt make you feel like using it, so didnt, generally needs ripping out and re-doing. second room twin, right at the top, you need oxygen when you get up there. room had a double bed and a single. this room looked like it had been recently decorated and bathroom looked quite new. breakfast was very good hot full english, lovely bacon, staff very pleasant and accommadating. i think the issue here is which room you are allocated, if we had just booked the twin, i might say we would return, but having seen the single room i would definalty not return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jane630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I stayed in the Mentone for a couple of nights and wasn't very impressed. My single room was right at the top of the building and up some very narrow, steep stairs. The radiator didn't work and despite my asking that someone fix it, it was never done - in mid-November the heating should be working, and you shouldn't freeze in your room. My friend's room was a tiny box and, again, freezing cold. The breakfast is adequate but served luke-warm. The location is central enough but I won't be booking there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PlanetLondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Third time staying in Cartwright Gardens and our second stay at the Mentone. This is an excellent location for anyone visiting London. The hotel is a five minute walk from Euston and St Pancras railway stations and the same to Russell Square tube station. It is in an area called Bloomsbury which is full of wonderful shops,pubs,bars and restaurants. The British museum, Soho and other London landmarks are all within walking distance.Hotel is clean with good facilities and serves a very good full English breakfast. They are very accommodating by allowing you to leave luggage if you have a late train. We will definitely stay here again on our next visit to London.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank janebmott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Euro Hotel
The Euro Hotel
#470 of 1,076 in London
742 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crescent Hotel
Crescent Hotel
#546 of 1,076 in London
265 reviews
Bloomsbury
Avonmore Hotel
Avonmore Hotel
#910 of 1,076 in London
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#308 of 1,076 in London
1,781 reviews
Bloomsbury
Harlingford Hotel
Harlingford Hotel
#568 of 1,076 in London
463 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#550 of 1,076 in London
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mentone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mentone Hotel

Address: 54-56 Cartwright Gardens, London WC1H 9EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #581 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £71 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mentone Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mentone Hotel is a bed and breakfast situated on beautiful Cartwright Gardens in the Bloomsbury area of Central London. The hotel has been owned and managed by the same family since 1972 and has long been a popular choice with tourists and business travelers due to its pleasant surroundings and convenient location. We are just a stone's throw away from The British Museum, University of London, The British Library, Oxford Street, Eurostar, the West End Theatre District, and the neighbouring areas of Soho, Holborn and Covent Garden.The hotel occupies three townhouses on a Georgian crescent and consists of five levels (lower ground floor, ground floor, first floor, second floor and third floor). The townhouses are Grade II listed and the hotel has no lifts (elevators). We are a non-smoking establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mentone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing