We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality place.”
Review of Mentone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mentone Hotel
Ranked #581 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Nice place, clean. As an American, the quarters were a little smaller than I was used to, but standard for London. Breakfast was good, though the breakfast room can get cramped at peak times. Very gracious housekeeping and cooking staff (loved them!). Certainly not the Ritz, but a nice place that's perfectly cozy.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 588 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014

This was a very good hotel for the overnight stay in London we needed. 10 mins max walk from euston station, therefore similar from kings x, the room was clean, good size, and overlooking the crescent garden tennis courts. Easy reach of local pubs, shops and general amenities. Good value, goos breakfast, nice staff. Would definitely stay here again. Thanks.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We managed to find this hotel at just 2 days notice after previous plans fell through. We had a quad room on the top floor, which was small but comfortable. The breakfast was decent. A 5 minute walk to Russell Square tube, and close to St. Pancras International. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

For a cheap and cheerful hotel near Euston for for ladies this was perfect. Although it started of a bit shaky because we had been given the wrong room to check it, it was sorted out immediately and everything went upwards from there. Breakfast was lovely with a wide variety of cereals and fruits then your full English and even croissants. Clean, tidy and friendly staff. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1992diner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I have just arrived back from a trip to London with friends and we stayed at this hotel for two nights. I was impressed with the room and bathroom facilities which were both comfortable and clean and the friendliness of the staff was also top notch. We stayed on the top floor and there was no lift! I can't remember how many flights of stairs there were, maybe four or five! The last one was quite thin and a little steeper than the rest, which is fine if you don't have much luggage.

The breakfast was really good and there was a lot of choice from croissants, cereal and fruit to a cooked breakfast if you wanted. I would also say proximity to the underground is good as it is only a short walk.

My only real negatives would be that I thought the banisters and corridor areas could have been cleaner as they were a little dusty and when the room had been cleaned one of the saucers in the little pile had dried food all over it.

Overall I would recommend this hotel and want to give it more than 3 stars because the experience was good but I wouldn't say very good.

Room Tip: If you feel like you cannot climb a lot of stairs ensure you get a room on a lower floor because as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spooble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

good value hotel very convenient for Stations & underground. Large clean family room and bathroom in lower ground floor, fresh clean quality bedding and comfortable beds but room and surroundings a bit drab. Highlight was the excellent breakfast increasing the value of the hotel. Perfect for one/two night stay

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The beds were really comfortable, the staff were friendly and happy to help with anything, breakfast food was delicious (you can eat everything on the menu if you wish) and the hotel is close to the underground - great for people going to the o2.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jade H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Euro Hotel
The Euro Hotel
#442 of 1,077 in London
739 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#549 of 1,077 in London
944 reviews
Bloomsbury
Avonmore Hotel
Avonmore Hotel
#907 of 1,077 in London
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Crescent Hotel
Crescent Hotel
#539 of 1,077 in London
265 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#294 of 1,077 in London
1,778 reviews
Bloomsbury
Harlingford Hotel
Harlingford Hotel
#558 of 1,077 in London
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mentone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mentone Hotel

Address: 54-56 Cartwright Gardens, London WC1H 9EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #581 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £73 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mentone Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mentone Hotel is a bed and breakfast situated on beautiful Cartwright Gardens in the Bloomsbury area of Central London. The hotel has been owned and managed by the same family since 1972 and has long been a popular choice with tourists and business travelers due to its pleasant surroundings and convenient location. We are just a stone's throw away from The British Museum, University of London, The British Library, Oxford Street, Eurostar, the West End Theatre District, and the neighbouring areas of Soho, Holborn and Covent Garden.The hotel occupies three townhouses on a Georgian crescent and consists of five levels (lower ground floor, ground floor, first floor, second floor and third floor). The townhouses are Grade II listed and the hotel has no lifts (elevators). We are a non-smoking establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mentone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing