We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise on the South Bank”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel London City South
Ranked #275 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Swindon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise on the South Bank”
Reviewed 9 February 2012

I stayed at the Novotel as I was attending a conference nearby. Though I visit London often, I don't really know the south bank and chose this hotel on the basis of other TA reviews. As most others say the hotel is modern and the reception/bar/restaurant are all open plan. My bedroom was comfortable and well appointed though the bathroom being directly adjacent to the bed (behind sliding doors) is a little strange though with a seperate bath and shower was well appointed. The loo was in a seperate closet by the room door, which is typical Novotel, but intriguingly was where the ironing board is also stored.
The bar area is OK, but a little miniamalist for me, but good service nontheless. As there doesn't appear to be any decent restaurants within walking distance, I ate in the hotel on both nights and both the food and service was very good.
Breakfast was also pretty good with a reasonable buffet selection.
In terms of location, I walked the 20 mins to my conference (near Borough underground) on both days and it was fine. The hotel is very close to the Borough Market, for any foodies, and a short walk to the Tate Modern and Globe Theatre, though I must say I'm not sure if I'd want to walk around the hotel area at night.
In conclusion if you are on business in the area the hotel would be a good choice and the service is excellent. For tourists it may be a little inconvenient, unless of course you only want to visit the Tate Modern or Globe.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soluta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitySouth, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for your comments and feedback. I agree, the South Bank is a great area in London and I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Novotel London City South hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,069 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    617
    1,040
    298
    77
    37
See reviews for
1,087
339
80
332
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I nice modern hotel on the south side of the Thames. Rooms were modern and appropriately sized. Pricing was quite good - less than UKP 150 a night. Breakfast and hotel restaurant were very modern and sleek looking.

Hotel is about 1/2 mile from London Bridge Station and tube station. Quite convenient.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitySouth, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Dear Reviewer,

My team and I very much appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel, and we’re glad to have been a part of your visit.

We hope to see you again in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
130 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

This hotel was a positive surprise. The room was decorated with Scandinavian type of light colours. The breakfast buffet had a lot of options (even fresh strawberries in the middle of winter!) and the staff was friendly. The path along The Thames is also just a few blocks away, if you want to go for a walk of jog in the morning.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alannainen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitySouth, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Dear Reviewer,

I’m so glad that you had an enjoyable time during your stay at Novotel London City South. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Just back from London with my two friends and our daughters, we had such a great time. We stayed at the Novotel London city south hotel and it was lovely we requested a inter-connecting room and we were accommodated it was very handy with 6 of us sharing. The hotel was very impressive and clean I would recommend this hotel and would have no problem returning there.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilly39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitySouth, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at the Novotel London City South hotel.

I was delighted to hear that you overall enjoyed your stay with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2012

The hotel is in an excellent location for long walks beside the Thames and for bus transportation to Regent Street and Oxford Circus. The rooms are in good order and quiet - my choice was one with a huge shower. Yes, everything was clean.
I found the desk staff to be cheerful and very helpful with directions.
Food at the hotel was not "fancy", but well presented - again by cheerful staff.
I will certainly continue to use Novotel/Sofitel hotels when convenient. One thing I would suggest: Please change a few rooms to twin beds so I can bring a friend. We do not find pull-outs comfortable or convenient.

Room Tip: Book early for better choice of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinktoes25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitySouth, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your very positive review about the hotel but more importantly about the team. I was very pleased to read you found the team cheerful and helpful and enjoyed the level of customer service.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,
Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

I spent two nights at the Noveltel South and will do it again. The staff were lovely and helpful and the food was wonderful. I spent many wonderful hours on the Tower Bridge, the London Bridge. Walked around the Burroughs Market and ate soup in the Southwark Cathedral gardens. Late at night we walked to the Riverside and ate at The Greek. It was wonderful food to top off a wonderful day in a wonderful neighborhood. I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: I was on the third floor and it was very quiet and I loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank proudnanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitySouth, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your very positive review about the Novotel London City South but more importantly about the team. I was very pleased to read you found the team very good and enjoyed the high level of customer service and quality of our food.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon

Kind regards,

Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

This is the first time our children had stayed in a Novotel hotel and they loved it (they thought it was very "posh"). Although we arrived shortly after 11.00 on a Saturday morning we were able to check into our room which was so helpful as we had a jammed pack day/evening ahead of us. Rooms were clean and very comfortable, our inclusive breakfast was fantastic with lots of choice. The only downside was the price of parking but we appreciate it is expensive where ever you park in London.
Would definitely stop here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitySouth, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at the Novotel London City South hotel.

I was delighted to hear that you overall enjoyed your stay with us and we were able to accommodate your early arrival request.

Thank you once again for sharing your feedback and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future

Kind regards,

Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Mercure London Bridge
Mercure London Bridge
#308 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,936 reviews
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#177 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,103 reviews
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#247 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,752 reviews
Novotel London Waterloo
#324 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,817 reviews
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel London City South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel London City South

Property: Novotel London City South
Address: 53-61 Southwark Bridge Road, London SE1 9HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Green Hotel in London
#204 Luxury Hotel in London
#244 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel London City South 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel London City South is an AA 4 star hotel ideal for a weekend or holiday in London. The Shard, Borough Market, London Eye, Tate Modern, Millennium Bridge, Shakespeares Globe Theatre, Vinopolis and St Pauls Cathedral are just minutes away, while a short tube ride will get you to the shopping, nightlife and theatres of the West End. Guests can enjoy our Elements Restaurant, Clinks Bar and rooftop leisure and fitness suite with gym, sauna and steam room. Free WiFi & internet, chargeable parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Novotel London City South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel London City South Hotel London
Accor London City South
London Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing