We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, excellent location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel London City South
Ranked #275 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cleethorpes
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent value, excellent location.”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I have stayed in a few Novotel's which have always been pleasant, and this one in London did not disappoint.
We stayed at the end of November in a family room which was a lovely size and had everything that we needed.
The staff are extremely helpful and friendly, especially the reception staff who are very knowledgeable of the area.
The hotel is easy to find and is in a good location to catch the tube and access some of the best sights in London.
Breakfast was included with our room price and was lovely, no complaints. We also were give a 10% off card to use in the bar for staying in the hotel which came in handy.
Beautiful view of the Shard from the car park round the back of the hotel.
This hotel has everything anybody could need when staying in London and I would return anytime.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria P, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay. I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    642
    1,068
    301
    79
    37
See reviews for
1,120
345
80
345
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This is a fairly typical, not brilliant but adequate Novotel, in a good location about three minutes' walk from the splendid Borough Market.
The restaurant, which we used after having a full day out at Harry Potter World near Watford to avoid having to go back out into the cold, had a reasonable menu, but service was poor and slow and some of our order was wrong and some of the food was cold. It paid to complain. The food we hadn't ordered was taken away and replaced free of charge, and the cold food taken away and replaced with piping hot alternatives, so don't grit your teeth and stay silent.
The hotel's determination to profit from us for services that are normally a matter of courtesy left a bad taste. We called the hotel after booking on Expedia and asked for the number of a local private hire cab firm to arrange our travel to Universal Studios for the Harry Potter tour. They wouldn't give us one. They insisted they would arrange it. Smelling a rat, I demanded a number. They said they would call me back in five minutes. They never did call back, so we arranged it ourselves, finding a number online.
The proof in the pudding came on departure. Stupidly, perhaps, I asked them to call me a car for the short trip (three miles) to King's Cross. A black cab had brought us in for about £13, so I guessed this would be slightly cheaper. I asked the driver how much it would cost and he was vague. It was £17 and he eventually admitted £5 of that was going to the hotel. Won't return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcello M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria P, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for your review following your stay with us. I would like to clarify that the taxi company we use provides the hotel with a fixed price list for all journeys, rather than the cost varying due to traffic conditions. I will report the driver's comments to the management of the taxi company as this is not correct information. I appreciate you bringing this to my attention.

Kind regards,
Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Problems with the reservations (both hotel and Expedia) never corrected. The condition of this unit was below average: problems with maintenance (slow drains, leaky shower, damaged draperies, dirty carpeting, barely functioning frig) and with housekeeping which sometimes never answered the phone when called to make "corrections". Front desk staff varied but curt on average, and occasionally surly. While Novotel may be sensible for families since most UK hotels don't have space for 2 youngsters without additional booking, and the breakfasts seemed at least generous in size, couples or singles pay too much for less than average service (it never helps to have staff enter room without knocking when the "do not disturb" sign is on the door!), poor conditions and attitude, and rooms designed just above the budget level. This would be my last choice in London central in this price range. And so location as a substitute for all the problems? Not for me.

Room Tip: Stay at the Apex or another quality business hotel. If you have to stay here, avoid rooms on the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodmorning123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria P, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for your review, I’m so sorry that you were disappointed by your experience. I'm surprised to read your comments regarding service as you can see from previous reviews, our team has always had positive feedback however I will investigate all comments.

Kind regards,
Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel was cheap when we booked it. We found it to be very clean, with friendly staff. The location was fine - 5 mins walk from London Bridge station, with a wonderful, close-up view of the Shard en route. The breakfast was superb.

I'd be surprised if you could get anywhere else as good as this, at this price, in London. We'd definitely stay here again on another short break.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank garthyb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria P, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Many thanks for the positive comments, I’m happy we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable. I hope we can welcome you back again very soon.

Kind regards,
Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horam, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel several times and have always been very happy.

The location is perfect for borough market, London bridge, tower if London etc all easily walkable. There are so many top quality restaurants in this area.

The hotel is very quiet and comfortable, good solid walls meant no noise from other rooms or people in the corridors, yes if you have the window opens you will get traffic noise, but this is the center of London!

The staff are very friendly and welcoming. Another very good stay, we would certainly recommend this hotel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank woodyx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria P, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for your review following another stay at Novotel London City South. I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit again and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed at this property for a long weekend in London. The hotel is in a great location and is spotless. The fitness center is above average compared to similar hotels. Restaurant on site is a good option, but the 15.95GBP breakfast buffet is a seriously overpriced (if you’re there over the weekend, the Borough market is literally five minutes away with plenty of more interesting, local food options at a better price).

My only issue was with the room itself. The heat was stifling and there’s no air conditioning – just a system that allegedly circulates the air in a feeble attempt to cool the room. Engineering was called to assist, but we ultimately had to move rooms. No cart was offered to move our belongings (this after we had already unpacked) and the room we were moved to was smaller – no rate adjustment given, either. Staff didn't exactly seem too engaged to assist and viewed this as our issue and not theirs. Not a major service failure, but something I’ll keep in mind when booking travel in London again, especially since we travel to the city about six times a year.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BSM001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria P, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Many thanks for your comments. We appreciate all feedback and are glad you overall enjoyed your stay with us. I am really sorry to hear that you had to move rooms and felt the service was not up to your expectations which I’ll look into personally. I hope we can welcome you back to the Novotel London City South in the future

Kind regards,
Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a couple of times and on both occasions have been very disappointed. The bedrooms are very tired, the carpets are worn and the one in the room I stayed in was frayed at the door, the bathroom smelt of drains and the bed was positioned in the room so that it is difficult to get to the bathroom. On a brighter note the staff were very helpful and pleasant. I also enjoyed the breakfast very much and felt that there was plenty of choice.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria P, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thanks for leaving your thoughts here. The team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your posiite feedback in regards to the staff. We’ve taken note of your comments and do our utmost to address them.

Kind regards,
Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#164 of 1,069 in London
2,203 reviews
Southwark
Mercure London Bridge
Mercure London Bridge
#302 of 1,069 in London
1,989 reviews
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#231 of 1,069 in London
2,843 reviews
Novotel London Waterloo
#322 of 1,069 in London
2,904 reviews
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel London City South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel London City South

Property: Novotel London City South
Address: 53-61 Southwark Bridge Road, London SE1 9HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Green Hotel in London
#204 Luxury Hotel in London
#244 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel London City South 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel London City South is an AA 4 star hotel ideal for a weekend or holiday in London. The Shard, Borough Market, London Eye, Tate Modern, Millennium Bridge, Shakespeares Globe Theatre, Vinopolis and St Pauls Cathedral are just minutes away, while a short tube ride will get you to the shopping, nightlife and theatres of the West End. Guests can enjoy our Elements Restaurant, Clinks Bar and rooftop leisure and fitness suite with gym, sauna and steam room. Free WiFi & internet, chargeable parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel London City South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel London City South Hotel London
Accor London City South
London Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing