We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel London City South
Ranked #271 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, great hotel.”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We love staying near Borough Market and this hotel is a great location. Only a couple blocks from the nearest Tube station, and there's great pubs all around it. London is a very walkable city, and this location is a great base camp.

Room Tip: It helps if you get an upgrade to a "business/executive" room for the free wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria P, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully!
Kind regards,
Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    640
    1,068
    301
    79
    37
See reviews for
1,120
345
80
345
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Very clean, modern hotel. Breakfast was very good. Nice location, minutes from the Thames. Will stay here again or another London novotel. We did not eat here but used the bar one night. Staff were friendly. There's a stop outside the hotel for hop on/off bus tour.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Char8181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria P, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Went to the Floatworks on Thrale street around the corner from the hotel - so for me, location was great. I have stayed here before but it was a long time ago.
Got one of the newer rooms this time with the "frosted glass feature" in the bathroom. Very clean, well prepared when we got there. Room didn't have a bath and the toilet isn't separated from the bathroom which might be an issue for some. I think the old style rooms have the toilet in a separate room.
Used the sauna, steam room and gym. Very good facilities despite the small size. Only let down was the shower room in the gym - couldn't lower the temperature of the water. It was either hot or very hot. I should have mentioned this on check-out - but I was so pleased with my stay that I forgot to mention it when asked "was everything to your satisfaction?".
I had the breakfast - nothing out of the ordinary - Very fresh and was displayed well. You have to toast your own bread and slice cheese yourself though.
Staff throughout hotel are really nice and friendly! The guy in the restaurant and lady at reception.....the cleaning lady...they were all really friendly!.

Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria P, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Many thanks for your kind review. I am glad my team made your stay enjoyable and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We were here late last years and really enjoyed our stay so booked again in March - once again the staff were excellent - helpful, courteous and professional but our room was not so nice this time - although we paid the same and booked the same the room was quite a bit smaller and very cramped, The decor was tired and the bathroom needed several things fixing.
Would visit again as the staff are just great but would definitely look at the room before checking in next time as the difference in standards are vast.

Room Tip: Some rooms are mush nicer than others so make sure you get one with a new bathroom and on the quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria P, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. I am glad my team made your stay enjoyable. I'm sorry you were disappointed with the room this time, on your previous stay you were given an upgrade to our more recently refurbished superior premium room. Thank you for your feedback and I hope you visit us again soon.
Kind regards,
Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed here as a result of a technical problem that meant my booking at the Ibis Styles next door was lost. Despite this I was initially quite happy to be staying at a Novotel as I've had nothing but great stays at the Blackfriars one.

The staff were friendly and helpful when I arrived and I can't fault their efforts during my stay (though I was a bit disappointed when I had to repeat myself a few times on a call to reception due to language problems).

The room however was very disappointing. The paintwork in the toilet seemed unfinished, there was mould in the shower, the metal framed bed squeaked every time I moved, the bathroom mirror lights were out, I found long black hairs in the bed (definitely not mine) and the iron was broken and had to be replaced.

While I slept fine the conditions were just not up to the standard I've come to expect from Novotel and would recommend the Blackfriars one nearby instead.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank kiwiboyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria P, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit. I am delighted that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful and we have noted your comments about the bedroom.
Kind regards,
Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ra'anana, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I was staying at the Hotel from the 14th to the 18th of March 2014 for business trip/weekend. Location is the best possible. Just south of the river walking distance to the Tate Modern, Tower of London, Design museum and may others. The neighborhood is great with nice restaurants around & Borough market just 3 minutes walking.
For the Hotel: Very good service however, no Air-condition in the room, TV is lousy no VOD and VERY limited verity of channels. The restroom is filthy the toilet doesn't flush properly, sink doesn't drain well, door paint is falling apart and floor is dirty.
Breakfast is OK.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dagansadeh56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria P, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Many thanks for your comments. We appreciate all feedback and are glad you enjoyed our location and the service we offer. I’ll look into the points you raised, and in the meantime, I hope we can welcome you back to the Novotel London city South very soon.
Kind regards,
Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#165 of 1,069 in London
2,201 reviews
Southwark
Mercure London Bridge
Mercure London Bridge
#301 of 1,069 in London
1,987 reviews
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#230 of 1,069 in London
2,842 reviews
Novotel London Waterloo
#322 of 1,069 in London
2,902 reviews
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel London City South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel London City South

Property: Novotel London City South
Address: 53-61 Southwark Bridge Road, London SE1 9HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Green Hotel in London
#199 Luxury Hotel in London
#244 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel London City South 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel London City South is an AA 4 star hotel ideal for a weekend or holiday in London. The Shard, Borough Market, London Eye, Tate Modern, Millennium Bridge, Shakespeares Globe Theatre, Vinopolis and St Pauls Cathedral are just minutes away, while a short tube ride will get you to the shopping, nightlife and theatres of the West End. Guests can enjoy our Elements Restaurant, Clinks Bar and rooftop leisure and fitness suite with gym, sauna and steam room. Free WiFi & internet, chargeable parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel London City South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel London City South Hotel London
Accor London City South
London Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing