We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best for a business traveler”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel London City South
Ranked #268 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not the best for a business traveler”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I stayed here for three nights after four nights at the Apex City of London. Not exactly a fair comparison, as Apex is a bit more expensive, but that's what colored my lenses. Let's start with the good and move down...

Five stars: natural lighting. Huge windows to the London city sky (grey as it is). In-room lighting at night was very good as well, compared to the Apex.

Four stars: check-in experience. Very nice agents at the desk.

Three stars: location. It's next to Burough Market and right next to the Thames, which is great for weekend afternoon walks and evening runs along the river. It's a bit of a hike to Paddington Station, however, which is a necessary trek if you've got morning meetings in Reading. The distance to Paddington station, to give a tangible illustration, is far enough that you need to wake up at 5am to be ready to leave by 5:45 to get to the station by 6:45 for a meeting at 8...

Two stars: fitness center equipment and hours. The treadmill is supposedly only supposed to be used between 9am and 9pm. What on earth are you supposed to do if you need to work out before work? What if you need to go for a run when it's no longer safe to run outside after dark? Additionally, there is crap for equipment selection. Typical hotel gym I suppose, but it looked nicer in the pictures (and that was part of the reason I chose this hotel).

Two stars: wireless speed. So slow it's unusable unless you purchase the premium. That's roughly $18/day down the drain.

One star: room service hours and options. Read here:

The breakfast card instructs you to call if you need something before 6. I called to ask for breakfast at 5 (read above) and was told that muesli, yogurt, fruit salad and coffee would likely be available, as none require cooking. This seemed like a reasonable request (the Apex, as many other hotels I've visited, offers some sort of room service 24/7).

5am rolled around and a woman showed up at my door with a paper lunch bag containing three industrial pieces of fruit (i.e. cheap oranges and apples), yogurt, and a bunch of cheap mini-croissants. I guess this is their early "breakfast to-go" option. No muesli, no coffee, just cheap fruit and mini-croissants. Good luck if you don't eat gluten (or simply don't want cheap / unhealthy pastries as a stand-in for actual breakfast).

This would all be fine if there was a single coffee shop that opened by 6 within walking distance, but there isn't, as this is a non-business-oriented area and as such has limited early coffee options on weekdays.

To make a long story short, it'd be okay if you're on a budget, but don't stay here if you're in town for business.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elizabethjanem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria P, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for your review and feedback, we appreciate your comments.
Kind regards,
Victoria Parry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    637
    1,061
    299
    79
    37
See reviews for
1,112
344
80
343
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sale, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I stayed here for one night making use of the fitness room and steam room. The room was clean with modern fittings. There was free Wi-Fi, a nice chaise longue and a comfy bed. There were some attractive features like the espresso coffee machine and electric privacy glass between the bathroom and bedroom. All in all a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DolphinGrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria P, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We love staying near Borough Market and this hotel is a great location. Only a couple blocks from the nearest Tube station, and there's great pubs all around it. London is a very walkable city, and this location is a great base camp.

Room Tip: It helps if you get an upgrade to a "business/executive" room for the free wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria P, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully!
Kind regards,
Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Very clean, modern hotel. Breakfast was very good. Nice location, minutes from the Thames. Will stay here again or another London novotel. We did not eat here but used the bar one night. Staff were friendly. There's a stop outside the hotel for hop on/off bus tour.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Char8181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria P, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Went to the Floatworks on Thrale street around the corner from the hotel - so for me, location was great. I have stayed here before but it was a long time ago.
Got one of the newer rooms this time with the "frosted glass feature" in the bathroom. Very clean, well prepared when we got there. Room didn't have a bath and the toilet isn't separated from the bathroom which might be an issue for some. I think the old style rooms have the toilet in a separate room.
Used the sauna, steam room and gym. Very good facilities despite the small size. Only let down was the shower room in the gym - couldn't lower the temperature of the water. It was either hot or very hot. I should have mentioned this on check-out - but I was so pleased with my stay that I forgot to mention it when asked "was everything to your satisfaction?".
I had the breakfast - nothing out of the ordinary - Very fresh and was displayed well. You have to toast your own bread and slice cheese yourself though.
Staff throughout hotel are really nice and friendly! The guy in the restaurant and lady at reception.....the cleaning lady...they were all really friendly!.

Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria P, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Many thanks for your kind review. I am glad my team made your stay enjoyable and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We were here late last years and really enjoyed our stay so booked again in March - once again the staff were excellent - helpful, courteous and professional but our room was not so nice this time - although we paid the same and booked the same the room was quite a bit smaller and very cramped, The decor was tired and the bathroom needed several things fixing.
Would visit again as the staff are just great but would definitely look at the room before checking in next time as the difference in standards are vast.

Room Tip: Some rooms are mush nicer than others so make sure you get one with a new bathroom and on the quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria P, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. I am glad my team made your stay enjoyable. I'm sorry you were disappointed with the room this time, on your previous stay you were given an upgrade to our more recently refurbished superior premium room. Thank you for your feedback and I hope you visit us again soon.
Kind regards,
Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#174 of 1,069 in London
2,172 reviews
Southwark
Mercure London Bridge
Mercure London Bridge
#302 of 1,069 in London
1,970 reviews
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#235 of 1,069 in London
2,807 reviews
Novotel London Waterloo
#324 of 1,069 in London
2,882 reviews
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel London City South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel London City South

Property: Novotel London City South
Address: 53-61 Southwark Bridge Road, London SE1 9HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Green Hotel in London
#202 Luxury Hotel in London
#244 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel London City South 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel London City South is an AA 4 star hotel ideal for a weekend or holiday in London. The Shard, Borough Market, London Eye, Tate Modern, Millennium Bridge, Shakespeares Globe Theatre, Vinopolis and St Pauls Cathedral are just minutes away, while a short tube ride will get you to the shopping, nightlife and theatres of the West End. Guests can enjoy our Elements Restaurant, Clinks Bar and rooftop leisure and fitness suite with gym, sauna and steam room. Free WiFi & internet, chargeable parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, ACCOR, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel London City South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel London City South Hotel London
Accor London City South
London Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing